Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Chicken Stir-Fry

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2003

      OMG this turned out better than I could have imagined! I only had a full can (20oz?) of pineapple so I ended up using half of it and half the juice. Also substituted sliced carrots for the red peppers, added some large chunks of onions. I marinated for 25 minutes while I cut up the veggies and boiled my lo-mein noodles. I added some spicy sesame oil to the wok prior to cooking the chicken, it added a nice kick....the completed dish looked great but tasted even better, I planned to take a pic but we gobbled it up too fast lol I always feel sick when I get chinese carryout, this is so much better! Thanks again Inez :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      My husband and I really liked this recipe. It had a nice combination of flavors and there was just enough for the two of us! (My husband got a huge plate! lol!) I feel like this is an extremely healthy dish, considering you get both veggies AND friut! I added half a diced onion, 1 sliced greeen onion, and ommited the red pepper. This is something I will probably make again. It is definitely for someone who likes pineapple though, since my husband thought the pineapple taste was very prominant in the recipe. Thanks Inez for this healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      This is just OK. I followed the recipe to the letter and I expected that the marinade would have had more zing since it contains a can of pineapple and the juice which is quite acidic. I marinated the chicken for 6 hours. I expected and hoped that my mouth would have a party, however, I was disappointed and we found this dish to be fairly bland taste wise although it was visually appealing. If you don't care for spicy or tangy dishes and like them more on the VERY quiet side, then this is the dish for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2002

      Hey, this is yummy stuff! I loved the combination of flavours in this stirfry. I forgot to add the cornstarch to the marinade but it didn't matter as I just sprinkled it on later to thicken it to just the right point. I stirred hokkien noodles through the whole dish before serving instead of serving over rice and the sauce flavoured the noodes perfectly. I don't know if there would be enough chicken for four in the recipe but as there were only two of us eating I just used one chicken breast and kept the amount of sauce the same as the recipe which produced the right amount of sauce for the two of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      Very nice, but I did feel like it needed a bit more of a kick...something to spice it up a little. However the chicken was beautifully tender and I did enjoy. If I think of anything to add I'll let y'all know! :-P

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      Great recipe! It's a terrific, "sweet" version of chicken stir fry. The pineapples and hoison sauce seemed to really make this dish. The sauce had a nice, "hearty" consistency and was so sweet & yummy. The bonus is that it was so quick & easy. mmmmmm...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      This was pretty good. I read some of the reviews beforehand, and decided to add 1/2tsp of red pepper flakes before frying the chicken, and also replaced the fresh peppers with sliced carrots. My partner still felt the dish need some kick. I will make this again, as it was so easy to make and the chicken came out really tendet and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      We didn't find this too great. The flavor was bland. I actually doubled the sauce, and added some chili flake and green onion, but we weren't big fans. I wouldn't make it again and the leftovers are sadly going to waste. My mistake with doubling the sauce was then it had so much cornstarch, and we both felt it hurt our stomachs...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Just finished eating this for dinner, and wanted to say that it was pretty good! I did spice up the flavor after reading the reviews. The changes that I made was I doubled the sauce, added jarred ginger, red pepper flakes and a splash of rice wine vinegar. It had really good flavor and a little spice, which was nice with the pineapple. I used broccoli, carrots and cauliflower, per our taste. Served over brown rice. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Very inexpensive and easy. I made this with my boyfriend and we enjoyed eating it, but I also agree with ealer reviews which comment on the lack of a "kick." I think that the taste, while very good, was very...plain. I may make this again, but I plan to add more spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Thanks for a great meal! This is a recipe you can whip up in no time at all. As for our vegi's I chose to use brocoli & carrots. Thanks again for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      This was SO yummy! I've made SEVERAL stir-fry recipes but none quite like this and I will make it regularly! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Awesome! Very good recipe :) I didn't have hoisin sauce...and I ended up putting in a touch of red curry paste from thai kitchen. I will definetely make this again--I might use less corn starch and a tad bit more pineapple juice to make more of a sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      Wow, this was really really good. I just bought I WOK skillet and have been experimenting with stir fry meals, this one rates up there at the top. Only thing I did different was to double the sauce and chicken since hubby likes lots of meat and sauce. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      Absolutely superb! This was actually my first stir-fry attempt, and it was perfect. The recipe is easy and quick. I found the recipe this afternoon and just finished dinner. I made 2 cups (uncooked) of jasmine rice and a double recipe (as I had 26 oz of untrimmed chicken). The double recipe is enough for 4. Total meal cost was less than $10. Ya just can\'t beat a main dish for 4 for less than $10. WOW! Thank you so much. Oh yeah. I used one large red and one large green bell pepper for the dish. I didn\'t double nor measure those. I think it was a perfect amount of pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Chicken Stir-Fry

    Serving Size: 1 (274 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.4
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    39%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 53.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 482.2 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 15.3 g
    61%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites