33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great salad - we love it!!Living in the desert Southwest, we have many days with 100+ degree weather - consequently, we eat a lot of cold salads! This one is different from the ones I typically make every summer, so that was a big hit with the family. I have stolen an idea from a friend and instead of going through the boil, cool, skin, and bone method when a recipe calls for chicken, I have been buying the rotisserie chickens at the store - I buy several at a time, skin and bone them, then bag and freeze. Then when I need chicken, I pull out a bag and let it thaw!! Makes life so much easier and no one would ever guess! Stay cool!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen G. July 24, 2009

I used this recipe as an insparation really. I used soba noodles and the leftover veggies in my fridge drawer including green beans. It was VERY easy and VERY yummy!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook Tara K. March 10, 2012

This is very good, we loved it. Made as written but didn't have chili oil so I subbed a big healthy tablespoon of chili paste with garlic (sambal oelek) into the dressing. Yum! I will make this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeVaFoodie July 29, 2009

This was really good! As always, I couldn't leave well enough alone and changed things up a bit. I left out the sesame seeds because I didn't have any. Also, my bottled teriyaki sauce was too bitter for me (I used Kikkoman) so added about a tablespoon of honey, a good drizzle of soy sauce and a wee bit of sambal for heat. It's a good recipes for summer when I don't want to heat up the kitchen much. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Haley K June 28, 2010

Wow, what an easy but flavor-packed dish! Because I was in a hurry, I didn't make the dressing. Instead, I used Newman's Own low-fat sesame ginger salad dressing (about 3/4 cup). used the dressing as a marinade for my chicken before grilling it. Also, per another rater's suggestion, I added julienne carrots and next time will try adding some thawed edamame. Thanks for a terrific recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet tooth 23 July 27, 2009

This was an excellent side dish. I recently made it for an unfortunate occassion, a funeral. It came out great. Everyone loved it. I made mostly according to the recipe. I left out the peppers and made my own teryaki sauce with 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 cup soy sauce, 1tsp of ground ginger and 2 cloves of minced garlic. Definitely make the night before and it actually increase in size for the next day. Kids loved it too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ketracey June 05, 2012

DELICIOUS! A perfect dish on a warm day. I made it as written except I didn't add any green onions & chicken as I didn't have any. It still came out wonderful as a vegetarian meal. I also didn't use any salt & pepper as it wasn't necessary. The teriyaki sauce I used had lots of flavour. Thanks for posting a great recipe :0)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Chef May 28, 2012

First of all, I had no time and a potluck luncheon at work. several of my co workers are vegan. this recipie seemed to be a good blend for both make with chicken and I made some without. I cooked my chicken in teriyaki sause (bottled) chopped the vegies, cooked the spag and wa la a dish to take that my husband actually had the chicken cut up and cooked for me and the water boiling for the spag. This really takes about a total of 30 minutes with prep and cooking. I put the dish in the frig for two days and took to work and it got rave reviews. A co worker took the leftovers home (I doubled recipe) didn't need too there was plenty. I have taken the recipie to work and everyone is copying it. good job.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanmariedelara March 27, 2011

Outstanding. I made a few changes. I bought a rotisserie chicken and shredded it. I sauteed the red peppers and green onions slightly (personal preference), 2 TBS toasted sesame seeds, and 1 tsp, fresh Thai chili sauce instead of the hot oil. Excellent, quick recipe. I made the recipe for 12 servimgs. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzettekeya_12999288 March 17, 2011

My husband LOVES this! It's really easy and delicious on a hot summer day. Even better if you make it the day before.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat Cehand May 24, 2010
Chinese Chicken Noodle Salad