Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "Chinese" Candy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "Chinese" Candy

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2002

      My daughter and I make these in the spring - we mold them into little bird's nests (using our hands) and fill them with malted milk chocolate eggs and/or jelly beans. Thought this idea might be useful! I keep them in the refrig. too and serve at room temperature. They're also good to use as 'bowls' for an ice cream sundae. We chop the peanuts before adding them...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2002

      A bit different, maybe...but these are delicious little candies. Great to add to cookie trays, as they always seem to draw attention and strike up guests' curiosity. Everyone that has tried them has loved them. I store in refrigerator, but let come to room temp. to serve. Simple to make and SO much fun to eat!...my kinda recipe:) ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      When I was growing up we called these "Butterscotch Haystacks". This such a quick and easy recipe and yet so yummy! If you have someone in your family with peanut allergies, just leave out the nuts and add extra chow mein noodles. You can also use different flavors of baking chips if you don't like butterscotch or what a different flavor. Peanut butter flavor is really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Very good and quick. Made half a recipe and still made lots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I have to admit it...I loooove this candy! SUPER easy to make and I've yet to meet anyone who doesn't like it (but they were ALL butterscotch lovers!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Thanks for this terrific recipe, I have searched everywhere for this, and finally found yours. It is delicious and just like the one my Mom used to make. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      You bring back fond memories from the early 1980's!!!! I use to make this a lifetime ago with great family members. Quick, fun, and definatley a classic! Thanks for the smile! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Great use of the noodles. Kid friendly recipe that taste yummy too. We broke the noodles in half and made smaller candies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      I always include these in my christmas candy boxes. At first glance the ingredients may sound strange, but don't let it fool you. These are great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      My daughter and I made these for a project for school. Strange combination your right but the kids in her 4th. grade class all wanted the recipe ;-) Very good candy, I know we'll make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      Does sound strange, but put all together it really does work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      I had been looking for this lost recipe for years!! I also sometimes used to make them with semi-sweet chocolate morsels instead of butterscotch! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "Chinese" Candy

    Serving Size: 1 (1024 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.6
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    54%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 118.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 19.3 g
    77%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites