Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Buffet Crab Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Buffet Crab Casserole

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2009

      I don't recall ever eating something like this at a Chinese buffet, so I can't compare it to that.....but, I did think this was rich and delicious! I did add some finely chopped onion and I think that gave it the flavor it needed. (Scallions would be great, too). The sugar balances out the lemon juice and worcestershire sauce. This makes a great dip for fried or baked wonton skins. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      This is delicious! I made it tonight for dinner, with one tiny change....instead of baking it in a casserole dish, I divided it among 8 large portobello mushroom caps and baked it. Crab stuffed portobellos! It was wonderful. My husband and kids loved it, too. Thanks for an easy, tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      This is really close to what they make at the Chinese Buffet near me but this one is MUCH better. This one is quality. Someone said they didn't like the worcestershire sauce but I couldn't even taste it. I'm sure it added some greatness to it so maybe try not putting as much in there if you don't care for it to begin with. I did add some garlic powder, and added extra of it too instead of garlic salt, used a little sea salt and added about 1/4 of a small red onion. We love onion in this house and put it in almost everything. This is a much richer recipe than the buffet but I think it's because they don't tend to add as much or quality ingredients. I also used low fat everything and it was still awesome. It might be a lot richer if you used whole fat ingredients.

      Thanks for the recipe! It'll be a keeper in this house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2014

      All I could taste was the cream cheese. Next time I will make the sauce first with 1/2 of the cream cheese. I substituted low fat ingredients and will do so the next time I make it. DH loves the crab at the Chinese buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2014

      This recipe does not taste like the buffet style. There is too much cream cheese in it. I also think it needs melted butter. Its so creamy you only taste the cream cheese and sour cream and not the crab. So, if you want to try this, I would recommend not putting in as much cream cheese and omit the cheddar on top. Use salt and peper also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2014

      Adding shrimp and chopped onion/green bell pepper (soften) made this taste great....try adding pasta to it also

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      Loved this!!!!! It tasted even better than my favorite restaurant!!! I sautéed 3/4 cup onions, 3 cups sliced celery & 2 cups mushrooms and stirred into mixture. I used 1 1/2 lbs Louis kemp chunk style crab delights. I used reduced fat dairy products and it was delicious! Less than 200 calories for 1/8 recipe with my changes. Yum. Can't wait to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I tried this recipe yesterday and it turned out good. My husband loves casserole that they serve at our local Chinese better. I wouldn't say that this is exactly the same dish but it's not so greasy and more dense, and probably better, as for me. Also instead of cheddar cheese I used so called Mexican mix of cheeses. I believe that the taste of cheddar cheese can be a little bit overwhelming. Also the Worcestershire sauce was not unnecessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      We didn't like this at all! I used a bit more of the cheddar, and added celery, but I took out the sugar.. Just the thought of sugar in food is offputting, but some of the reviews were so great I wanted to try it.. The leftovers are sitting in the fridge and we'll try it again tomorrow to see if it's at least edible, but I'm thinking I'll have to ***GULP*** throw it away..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      When I make this I cut a whole big onion up into thin slices and cook in butter and cook in a stalk of celery chopped up as well as this gives a lot of depth and flavor and is found in the actual casseroles at the restaurants so please add onion and celery if you have it. And everything else I keep as well. it's so much better than a restaurants because theirs tends to be too greasy because they add more mayo or oil and leave out things like cream cheese and sour cream. Theirs is a cheaper version. Just buy some sweet and sour chicken in the freezer section along with egg rolls, make some homemade crab Rangoon, buy some bags of teriyaki noodles and teriyaki rice and you have your own Chinese for cheaper and tons of leftovers! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      I love the cheesy crab at the Chinese buffets. This however, does not come close. I didn't use the worcesteshire because putting it in seafood makes no sense to me.. lol. All in all, it was not very good. II took it to a party and to be honest, I was embarrased. Would not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      I made this casserole for the first time and took it to a party. (04/22?12) I didn't really like it, and only a few people made any remarks about it at all. I followed the recipe and even added the red onions like someone suggested. I would not make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Wasn't a big fan of this recipe, although it was good. Incredibly rich! Not at all like the Chinese buffet, though. The cheddar inside the casserole was too overwhelming, and the worcestershire gave it an "off" flavor. It wasn't bad over all, but not anything like what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I'm sorry, but this was nowhere near like the casserole I've had at several chinese restaurants. This was inedible, the worceshire sauce and cream cheese were so over powering, it was just gross. What a waste of ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I used real crab and probably should have used large chunks of imitation crab as my casserole was initially very soupy. After it sat for a bit, it did thicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Tried this because I thought it might be similar to the imitation crabmeat casserole served in my local Chinese restaurant. It wasn't---but was still delicious! Will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Buffet Crab Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 546.1
     
    Calories from Fat 359
    65%
    Total Fat 39.9 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 139.6 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1448.5 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes