Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese "brown Sauce" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese "brown Sauce" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2010

      I thought this was very good. I doubled the sauce but doubling the corn starch wasn't enough to thicken the sauce so next time, I'll increase that too. I think some fresh ginger would make it taste more like the restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Very tasty. I slightly browned the chicken in a pan first (not cooked all the way through), cut it up into strips and put it in the crock pot with the sauce. (I did double the amount of sauce as it just didn't seem like enough). The chicken was very moist and the hour in the crock pot allowed the sauce to really "soak in". Served with white rice and broccoli. I'd like to try the sauce with beef sometime as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was good and easy to make, although I had to add more cornstarch to thicken a bit more. My daughter (4 years) ate her plate up fairly quickly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This was just too sweet for us. I think 1 Tablespoon of sugar might even be pushing the limits, as we found 3 Tablespoons WAY over the top for sweetness. Tried to add a splash of vinegar, then ginger, and even red pepper flakes to try and counterbalance the sweetness. This was sweet like sesame chicken, and most times when I have had brown sauce at chinese restaurants it is more savory. I will try again with ALOT less sugar to see if it is more to our taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      I've made this so many times, I can't believe I've never rated it. The kids love it, and dh and I like it too. I usually use just one cup of chicken broth and then mix extra cornstarch with just a bit of water to thicken it. As the recipe is written, it doesn't thicken enough for our taste. Often I don't bother with the veggies and just serve veggies on the side. A great quick meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2014

      Tasty sauce that we should have doubled. It curbed my craving for chinese food. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      LOVE THIS!! I didn't have any brown sugar on hand and after doing some quick research found most brown recipes said you could use either white or brown sugar, so I used white (actually I used Truvia). I also used only 2/3 the required sugar, not the full amount, and served it over brown rice to make it a little healthier. Truly delicious!! Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      This is amazing and quick. My whole family loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      This was delish thank you for sharing I made a few adustments and I am just including them for my reference. I used 1 cup of chicken broth and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 tbsp...added some ginger and red chili flakes. This recipe is very versatile and I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      This was good and very easy ~ added some frozen chopped broccoli and water chestnuts. Made for a quick weeknight meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This was good but it was missing something. I followed the recipe other then I doubled the recipe but only used two tablespoons of brown sugar as I used Splenda brown sugar blend. I used two bags of fresh cut stir fry veggies but I microwaved them first for two minutes before adding them into the mixture. I put the mixture on top of brown rice. Everyone ate it but agreed it needed more flavor and was missing something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      I'm reminded of Emeril, in that you could put this sauce on a car bumper and it would taste good. So easy. I generally add some red pepper flakes, or hot sauce, or both, but that's personal preference. This is a great starter sauce for anyone trying to recreate the taste of Chinese take out at home, on a budget, with generally on hand items, wish I'd found it earlier. Ty for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      Very easy and great flavors in this dish. I did add ginger and lots of veggies but with one chicken breast. I would add a little more cornstarch next time to thicken the sauce more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      A good start. I still feel like this sauce is missing something... I would add more corn starch, but just a little. The sugar amount was too much for me so I will lessen that. And... I notice that the brown sauce in Chinese restaurants are slippery, but this wasn't? Hmm... Also, the taste needed something extra. I see people putting ginger or red pepper flakes. I think I'll try that next time. Goood!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I couldn't believe how easy this was and tasted really close to what I get at my local Chinese Restaurant. I had some thin sliced boneless skinless chicken breasts and a package of frozen stir fry vegetable blend. I also cooked a bag of the minute rice and added everything and it was darn close to the real thing. The only problem I had was the sauce seemed thick while I was cooking it but as soon as it hit the rest of the items on the plate and started to cool, it got super watery. I think I may just have to add extra cornstarch as a few others mentioned. My Parents stopped over and tried some and were also amazed. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      This was very delicious and everyone devoured it! It was very easy to make and it will definitely be made often around here. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      I tried this the other night however was quite disappointed. I have been trying to find a recipe like this for years and thought i had finally found "the one" haha but it seems to be missing something..not sure what it is though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I was a huge hit with my boyfriend when his favorite Chinese restaurant closed down. His favorite dish included “brown sauce� He no longer misses his favorite restaurant!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I thought this was really good but something was missing with the chicken. I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and then followed the directions exactly. I served this over white rice and the sauce soaked into the rice was absolutely delicious but the chicken didn't quite absorb the sauce as much as I wanted it to. Maybe I need to let it simmer more, either way I will definetly be trying this recipe again, maybe I'll read the other reviews to see if anyone tweeked it. Thanks! UPDATE: I just made this again last night and it was sooooooo good. I did make sure to let the chicken simmer in the sauce enough to let it thicken a little. Definetly a keeper, can't wait to make it again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      This was good. I followed some of the suggestions and added some ground ginger (about 1/2 teaspoon) and red pepper flakes (just a pinch). I also added a tablespoon of rice vinegar. Also as suggested, I added extra cornstarch, but I think next time I will follow the recipe amount of 1 tablespoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese "brown Sauce" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.1
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    38%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1380.2 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 34.1 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes