Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Almond Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Almond Cookies

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2010

      This is basically the same recipe that I use except mine has an additional 1/4 cup of flour and I sometimes use butter flavored shortening (1 cup) instead of real butter. The shortening gives the cookies a similar taste and texture to the ones I have at my favorite Asian eatery. The butter takes this cookie to another level in flavor, richness. Either way, butter or shortening this is a good Chinese Almond Cookie recipe, it saved me from posting my own very slightly different version. If you want to remove the skins from your almonds just place them in a small pot with water, and boil for a couple of minutes. Remove almonds from water and the skin should slip off very easily. You can dry and slightly toast them if you like before using, I use them as they are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      These are wonderful cookies. I love the fact that it calls for butter and not shortening. Way better than store bought ones. Perfect compliment to Chinese tea served after a Chinese meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      This recipe looked like it did not call for enough liquid and sure enough there wasn't. I added an extra beaten egg and then some water to pull the dough together. <br/>Don't forget to chill these flattened cookies before baking as they will spread.<br/>Yummy texture & flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      First, let me say... this is A LOT of butter. Don't let it scare you. I made these before Chinese New Year because I needed a quick cookie I could pre-make and just cut and bake while my guests ate. I experimented a bit with this batch... putting an almond in each, almond on top, red dye fingerprint shaped like an almond, and various tests to see how I could roll and possibly freeze them. When done with the experiment batch I arrived at the answer they are good in all ways. Even when rolled, froze, sliced still frozen, and baked before defrosting! Exactly 12 minutes was perfect for my oven. And, for Chinese New Year I did end up making them... with the red dye because it was just more attractive with my color theme. Oh, and PS... someone asked me for the recipe and later I caught 2 guests in my kitchen eating them straight off the tray... so clearly they were a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Great flavor with this cookie. I tried to cut it in half as I didn't want that many cookies. I had a little trouble and ended up using the entire egg, extra water and two t. almond extract to make it come together. I will try again because the flavor is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I was wanting a dessert to go with my Asian themed dinner that I was making on 3/23/09. So I did a search and came across this recipe. And decided to try it, and WOW !!!!!! I'm so glad I did :) . This cookie is just so AMAZING !!! The only almonds I had were chopped, so I added those to the batter,and for me it worked just great. This cookie has a perfect balance of sweetness and saltiness.Thanks for posting such a wonderful cookie recipe that will be made again. "Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I was looking for something to bake to take to work on Monday and, since Monday is the beginning of the Chinese New Year, these caught my eye. A wonderful cookie with a delicious balance of almond and butter flavors.This is not an overly sweet cookie, but has a great sweet/salty thing going on. They do not brown up a lot, so be careful not to overcook. When I made them, I had to leave off the almonds as I didn't have any in the cupboard. Still a great cookie and one I will make again. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Almond Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (874 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 60.6
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    47%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 11.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 52.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites