12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty...I switched it up bit and used 2 cups flour, 1 cup butter instead of shortneing, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, I omit the coconut, and added 1 cup ground almonds. Hubby said they may be one of the best cookies I've made!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovemysailor42 September 16, 2009

These are amazing. Can't stop eating them once you start.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 23, 2012

Oh my, these are good. I made them for my "chinese style" meal. these are easy to make and they are delicious. thankyou for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 15, 2010

This was just ok. They seemed a little sweet to me. One person mentioned substituting butter for some of the shortening and I think that would make them taste a little better. I would also use coconut extract to substitute the real thing and some more almond extract. I used 1.5 teaspoons, but I think 2 tsp would have been better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvs2kook July 14, 2008

One reviewer mentioned that these cookies burn really quickly. The truth is that they're ready long before they look baked, so trust the timing! I ended up using 1 cup white and .5 cup brown sugar, since I ran out, and also forgot to add the coconut to the first half of the batch. Hint to anyone who, like me, bakes these biscuity cookies to brick-hardness: put them in a zip-lock with a slice of apple, and they'll soften up a bit! Overall a good, easy to make cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighty October 30, 2007

I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. I reduced the flour by 1/4 cup and eliminated the coconut, but added in about a cup of ground almonds. I rolled the dough into a 'log' and froze it, then I cut it in slices and topped each with a whole almond. The cookies got really big, but they were beautiful and tasty. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB August 28, 2007

These were great and very easy to make. It's not heavy on the almond flavor (so just add a bit more almond extract to make it more intense). This was a nice ending for a Chinese-inspired meal. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood July 24, 2007

Delicious... I followed the directions exactly. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 15, 2007

I halved the recpie, and mine flattend and wasn't as nice looking as Kim D's picture. Maybe i should've added more flour for the cookie to have a better shape. I use only 1/2 t almond extract for half the recipe and it wasn't as "amond flavory" as i expected.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawn512 February 11, 2006

These are so good! My DH came home from work and ate about 6 of them all at one time. He normally doesn't like cookies. I had to hide the rest so we would have some tomorrow because we have company coming over. Anyways, I followed the directions exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing such a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. July 31, 2004
Chinese Almond Cookies