21 Reviews

I LOVE me some 5 spice oatmeal cookies! These are really good! Good old oatmeal cookie texture but with a little added kick. I followed the recipe exactly, no need to change a thing. I baked my half for 13 minutes (I like soft cookies) and my husbands half 16 minutes (he likes 'em crisp). Thank you for sharing.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta November 17, 2002

This is one recipe I followed! Great! Yummy! They`re on my Christmas list of cookies.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ December 03, 2002

I saw a discussion about this recipe on one of the boards and then saw 5-Spice in the grocery store shortly after and just knew that I HAD to try these. Am I ever glad I did!!! My DDs had used up all of my almonds so I decided since the nuts were to be ground and seemed to be part of the 'dry' ingredients to provide the right consistency that I shouldn't reduce the black walnuts I had elected to substitute (I normally reduce black walnut subs to half of what is called for in recipes because of the intensity of their flavor). Heather had said these were peppery so I was expecting 'hot', but they weren't at all. They were just very strong and delightfully seasoned. The flavor of the 5-Spice was so intense that the black walnuts only gave a hint of their existence in the cookies. My DDs have always claimed they absolutely DO NOT like black walnuts, but they sure do now and they don't even know it yet. I had made several different kinds of cookies and these the favorites of almost everyone in the house. Thanks for sharing such a delicious recipe Heather!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn January 24, 2003

LOVED these cookies!! I used old-fashioned rolled oats and whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose flour. I also used about a half cup less sugar and they were perfectly sweet! I just threw my almonds in my coffee grinder, as it was quicker and simpler than pulling out the food processor. I think I prefer the tiny pieces of nuts distributed throughout the cookie instead of bigger chunks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggy momma March 01, 2009

These are sooo good. I have made them twice now. The second time I was out of almonds and used walnuts instead...still just as good! Thank you for sharing a really great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eliza S July 13, 2008

great cookies! I can't even explain how wonderful the flavor is. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used Old Fashioned Oats instead of quick cooking. Turned out fabulous.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bungalowten January 26, 2004

Very happy so many of you have enjoyed these cookies - they are a personal favorite of mine. Reviewer Cindy Lynn is correct - while the amount of nuts is indeed critical to the recipe (they can't be reduced or omitted without affecting the outcome), you may certainly substitute any type of coarsely ground tree nut(hazelnut,walnut,etc) that you have available or that you prefer if the almonds are not available.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather January 25, 2003

I'm obsessed with these cookies! They are wonderful! I made them for my Christmas cookie tray. They were the first to go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comfortandjoy January 10, 2012

I used whole wheat flour and ground the almonds in a coffee grinder. Added 1 C raisins and baked for 13 minutes. Folks were arm wrestling for the last 2 cookies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdxrose May 29, 2010

Just had to add another 5 star review to this. Made as directed (except I skip the part in cookie recipes where you mix the dry ingredients separate), and the flavor was fabulous. The almonds are what set these apart from other oatmeal cookies for me and the 5 spice powder adds some depth to the traditional cinnamon. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sadieveggirl June 04, 2008
Chinese 5-Spice Oatmeal Cookies