Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese 5-Spice Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese 5-Spice Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2002

      I LOVE me some 5 spice oatmeal cookies! These are really good! Good old oatmeal cookie texture but with a little added kick. I followed the recipe exactly, no need to change a thing. I baked my half for 13 minutes (I like soft cookies) and my husbands half 16 minutes (he likes 'em crisp). Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      This is one recipe I followed! Great! Yummy! They`re on my Christmas list of cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      I saw a discussion about this recipe on one of the boards and then saw 5-Spice in the grocery store shortly after and just knew that I HAD to try these. Am I ever glad I did!!! My DDs had used up all of my almonds so I decided since the nuts were to be ground and seemed to be part of the 'dry' ingredients to provide the right consistency that I shouldn't reduce the black walnuts I had elected to substitute (I normally reduce black walnut subs to half of what is called for in recipes because of the intensity of their flavor). Heather had said these were peppery so I was expecting 'hot', but they weren't at all. They were just very strong and delightfully seasoned. The flavor of the 5-Spice was so intense that the black walnuts only gave a hint of their existence in the cookies. My DDs have always claimed they absolutely DO NOT like black walnuts, but they sure do now and they don't even know it yet. I had made several different kinds of cookies and these the favorites of almost everyone in the house. Thanks for sharing such a delicious recipe Heather!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      LOVED these cookies!! I used old-fashioned rolled oats and whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose flour. I also used about a half cup less sugar and they were perfectly sweet! I just threw my almonds in my coffee grinder, as it was quicker and simpler than pulling out the food processor. I think I prefer the tiny pieces of nuts distributed throughout the cookie instead of bigger chunks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      These are sooo good. I have made them twice now. The second time I was out of almonds and used walnuts instead...still just as good! Thank you for sharing a really great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      great cookies! I can't even explain how wonderful the flavor is. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used Old Fashioned Oats instead of quick cooking. Turned out fabulous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      Very happy so many of you have enjoyed these cookies - they are a personal favorite of mine. Reviewer Cindy Lynn is correct - while the amount of nuts is indeed critical to the recipe (they can't be reduced or omitted without affecting the outcome), you may certainly substitute any type of coarsely ground tree nut(hazelnut,walnut,etc) that you have available or that you prefer if the almonds are not available.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      I'm obsessed with these cookies! They are wonderful! I made them for my Christmas cookie tray. They were the first to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I used whole wheat flour and ground the almonds in a coffee grinder. Added 1 C raisins and baked for 13 minutes. Folks were arm wrestling for the last 2 cookies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Just had to add another 5 star review to this. Made as directed (except I skip the part in cookie recipes where you mix the dry ingredients separate), and the flavor was fabulous. The almonds are what set these apart from other oatmeal cookies for me and the 5 spice powder adds some depth to the traditional cinnamon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Oh my do I have a new favorite cookie! Had this 5 Spice hanging around for a while and didn't know what to make with it. Pretty sure that I will be using it often for these cookies. I used parchment paper and let them cool for a minute before taking them off of the cookie sheet so they didn't crumble. I would recommend baking for the least possible time so they are tender the next day. Thank you for a great recipe for my 5 Spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This is a very yummy cookie! I wanted to make a spice cookie for the holidays and went with this one, since I too have a bottle of Chinese Five Spice powder that I bought but have yet to use. I used old-fashioned rolled oats instead of quick-cooking and they turned out fantastic. I also wound up having to substitute molasses+granulated sugar for the brown sugar, because I didn't realize I was out before starting. These still came out fabulous though! I also added about a cup and a half of raisins, since I wanted to go for an oatmeal raisin cookie with serious spice kick. My house wound up smelling delicious... mmmm. Sent them in to work with my husband for his co-workers, so I will update with the results of their taste-test. For what it's worth, I will never make any oatmeal cookie recipe but this one again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      This will be one of my tried and true recipes.I have had it flagged for trying for quite some time now. I always have Chinese Five Spice in my spice cupboard, but how often does it get used in Chinese food???? The flavor is awesome, and I would never have thought to use Chinese Five Spice in cookies. I followed the recipe to a T, and after seeing the results, and the( TASTE TEST), I will be trying chocolate chips in some, and maybe raisins as well, in the future. I love the oatmeal as an ingredient, as it is a factor in cholestral lowering. Cinnamon also, has cholestral lowering benefits. Many thanks for posting such an awesome recipe!! Cat^..^atude.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      I used parchment paper so did not have a problem with the cookies sticking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      I've had these on my "to try" list forever, and I wish I had made them sooner. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. They are soft and chewy (just how I like them) with a little kick. I used Dynasty's 5 Spice powder - they almost have a bit of heat. Very yummy - thanks so much! EDIT: I forgot to mention that I lined my baking sheets with parchment paper (ungreased) and the cookies slid right off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      These were delicious, the taste was similar to Dad's cookies (if you have ever tried them) but much chewier. I used the PC chinese 5 spice grinder and the flavour combo was wonderful. The first batch I made stuck to my pan quite a bit, so for the second batch I made sure to grease the pan a little heavier, and they came out just great. Thanks for a great addition to my Christmas tray!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      The flavor of these cookies had DH oohing and aahing. However, I got so frustrated trying to get these off the pan in one piece. No matter what I tried they were too crisp or crumbly. I really do like the flavor of the almonds and five spice, they compliment each other nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      These are greattt!!! They smell so good and the texture is really nice...This is my second batch :^) Thank you for sharing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      These are very easy to make and so delicious! It was my first time using the Chinese 5 spice powder my mother gave me, and will not be the last! I liked these so much better than the regular oatmeal cookies and have added them to the permanent cookie list in my cookbook. Thanks for a yummy cookie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      Finally got these made correctly... turns out you do have use regular butter :-) They are great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese 5-Spice Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.8
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    45%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 62.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 11.7 g
    47%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese five spice powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes