Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chilli Lemon Octopus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chilli Lemon Octopus

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2010

      Nice recipe. We used fresh, finely sliced chili instead of the sauce. I think it needed about 4 hours of marinating as it was a bit tough still.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This is a really great recipe. I too used frozen, cleaned baby octopus, allowing them to thaw in the marinade overnight in my fridge. The key is a really hot grill - you want them to cook very quickly and have a nice char, but pull them off before they get rubbery. Even my 4 year old liked these - hot sauce and all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      These were deliciously lemony and nicely balanced between chewy and tender. Couldn't wait for a plate -- we snatched them off the grill and ate them right then and there! (Especially the crunchy tips.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      I have tried this recipe with mixture of different seafood creatures and it was ok - just ok; definitely bit too much lemon juice and way too much of lemon zest suggested in my opinion - it tastes then like anything else dunked in lemon juice - so doesn't matter if it's an octopus or a beef left on the sun for 2 days by negligence - it is lemon sauce with something - that's how it tastes. Let's do not put so much lemon just because it;s from a sea?....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      I really enjoyed this recipe and it was a great flavor combination. I used frozen baby octopus and at the time I didn't have any hot chili sauce so used some ground dried chili mixed with the oil. I served with some stir-fry vegtables cooked in hoisin sauce and it was very good indeed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      I allowed my Octopus to marinate overnight and just LOVED the taste and the texture. Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      Yum Jewelies - this is a great recipe. I served this as part of a seafood meal and we enjoyed these little fellow a lot. Next time I will take over the bbq as Doug overcooked them a bit - I don't think they should have been crunchy on the edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      Very tasty octopus! I did cook them in a skillet, maybe just a little too long, you know, when it starts to shrink, which I suppose means it is losing some liquid, which again makes it a little dry and tough. Should be very careful not to cook it too long, which I still have to perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      These are fantastic! I had a package of 8, frozen, baby octopus and made this exactly as written, cooking them on my outdoor grill. Very nice flavor from the hot chili sauce, but not too hot, and a subtle smoky flavor from the grill. I cut them up after grilling and we're eating them with chopsticks! Thanks for the recipe Jewelies, I'll be doing this one again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chilli Lemon Octopus

    Serving Size: 1 (564 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.6
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    22%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 240.0 mg
    80%
    Sodium 1337.5 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 74.9 g
    149%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites