14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good and easy especially since I usually have all these ingredients on hand. The big change for me was preparing the soup in a crock pot. I placed all the ingredients in the crock pot and set to LOW. Skipped the canned chilies but served fresh sliced jalapenos on the side. Now that Chilis has discontinued this soup and their vegetarian quesadilla (with the smoked cheese and artichoke hearts, etc.) there's really no reason to go back. Luckily, we have the recipe right here at our virtual back door. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Best of 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 21, 2011

Delicious! I used crushed up taco shells for the corn tortillas and chose to use black beans. Everyone loved this soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA December 06, 2010

After one taste, this soup became an instant favorite! I can't believe a soup that is this healthy can taste so incredible. The minced corn tortillas really help to thicken up the soup and adds great southwestern flavor. This hit all the right flavor notes. I wouldn't skip the garnishes of cheese and crumbled tortilla chips. They complement the soup beautifully. Thank you for posting! ~Recommeded by Julie F in the best of 2009 recipe tag~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 21, 2010

This is one of my favorite soups of all time. I originally go it from the Top Secret Recipes website about 10 years ago. It is so easy, lowfat and delicous! I was going to save it here, but was thrilled to find it already posted. The minced corn tortillas really thicken it up nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F December 23, 2009

This is my FAVORITE soup in the world. When i went to Chili's about a month ago I was informed that this soup is discountined and being replaced with a Black Bean Soup. Southwestern Veg is the ONLY thing i will order from Chili's. I was heartbroken and searched for a receipe online. This soup is almost identical. PERFECT! so glad i found this. so easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swaymire December 05, 2009

Excellent flavor and it really does taste remarkably similar to Chili's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana October 09, 2009

I substituted crushed Tostitos Light (the fat-free kind, not baked) for the 6 corn tortilla's and it was great, especially since it made the recipe virtually fat-free! I don't know how well the tortillas dissolve, but the Tostitos do ok, and the flavor is great. I also went a a bit heavier on the spices, but just a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knightleync January 25, 2009

We LOVED this! I didn't have any corn tortillas so I just used white corn tortilla chips which still tasted great but in half the time! Will definitely be making this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen November 15, 2008

Just like atlfitgirl, I order this soup every single time I go to Chili's. I tried another Copycat recipe years ago and it was pretty untasty. I thought I'd give it a try again with this recipe, and I hit the jackpot! Now instead of having one bowl of this soup, I can have a whole pot! I love this with lots of Mexican 4-blend cheese or Cheddar Jack cheese sprinkled on the top. This is actually almost better than the restaurant version. Sometimes if they let their soup sit out for too long, it becomes too salty and too thick. Thanks for posting my favorite restaurant soup. Don't forget to stir this one every now and then.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. August 24, 2008

I love this soup, I always make it. I omit the cup of water and top it with diced green onion and sour cream. I also prefer to serve it with saltines or oyster crackers. It is a great soup and does not require much preparation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddveggielover April 05, 2008
Chili's Southwestern Vegetable Soup by Todd Wilbur