Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili's Southwestern Vegetable Soup by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili's Southwestern Vegetable Soup by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2011

      This was good and easy especially since I usually have all these ingredients on hand. The big change for me was preparing the soup in a crock pot. I placed all the ingredients in the crock pot and set to LOW. Skipped the canned chilies but served fresh sliced jalapenos on the side. Now that Chilis has discontinued this soup and their vegetarian quesadilla (with the smoked cheese and artichoke hearts, etc.) there's really no reason to go back. Luckily, we have the recipe right here at our virtual back door. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Best of 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Delicious! I used crushed up taco shells for the corn tortillas and chose to use black beans. Everyone loved this soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      After one taste, this soup became an instant favorite! I can't believe a soup that is this healthy can taste so incredible. The minced corn tortillas really help to thicken up the soup and adds great southwestern flavor. This hit all the right flavor notes. I wouldn't skip the garnishes of cheese and crumbled tortilla chips. They complement the soup beautifully. Thank you for posting! ~Recommeded by Julie F in the best of 2009 recipe tag~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      This is one of my favorite soups of all time. I originally go it from the Top Secret Recipes website about 10 years ago. It is so easy, lowfat and delicous! I was going to save it here, but was thrilled to find it already posted. The minced corn tortillas really thicken it up nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      This is my FAVORITE soup in the world. When i went to Chili's about a month ago I was informed that this soup is discountined and being replaced with a Black Bean Soup. Southwestern Veg is the ONLY thing i will order from Chili's. I was heartbroken and searched for a receipe online. This soup is almost identical. PERFECT! so glad i found this. so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Excellent flavor and it really does taste remarkably similar to Chili's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I substituted crushed Tostitos Light (the fat-free kind, not baked) for the 6 corn tortilla's and it was great, especially since it made the recipe virtually fat-free! I don't know how well the tortillas dissolve, but the Tostitos do ok, and the flavor is great. I also went a a bit heavier on the spices, but just a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      We LOVED this! I didn't have any corn tortillas so I just used white corn tortilla chips which still tasted great but in half the time! Will definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Just like atlfitgirl, I order this soup every single time I go to Chili's. I tried another Copycat recipe years ago and it was pretty untasty. I thought I'd give it a try again with this recipe, and I hit the jackpot! Now instead of having one bowl of this soup, I can have a whole pot! I love this with lots of Mexican 4-blend cheese or Cheddar Jack cheese sprinkled on the top. This is actually almost better than the restaurant version. Sometimes if they let their soup sit out for too long, it becomes too salty and too thick. Thanks for posting my favorite restaurant soup. Don't forget to stir this one every now and then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I love this soup, I always make it. I omit the cup of water and top it with diced green onion and sour cream. I also prefer to serve it with saltines or oyster crackers. It is a great soup and does not require much preparation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      A real winner! First time I made it. I left it on top of the stove after dinner, and a bunch of my family stopped it for our family game nite. It disappeared like you wouldn't believe. I added 1 tsp. of Cumin to it. I also used the low carb tortilla's. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I was looking for something lowfat, easy and similar to Progresso's SW veg soup. This was so awesome! I added 1/4 tsp cumin and 1 tsp salt. I would describe it as savory and rich tasting with such simple ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Delicious soup! My sister gave me this recipe last year and it is the only soup recipe that I make over and over. It is easy to make and gives you lots of leftovers to freeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      When I go to Chili's, I always order the same thing... half a turkey sandwich and a cup of this soup. I made this recipe a few months ago... and really liked it. The taste was very close to Chili's and the soup is very easy to put together. My soup turned out a little thicker than I would have liked, so next time I think I will cut back on the corn tortillas that cook in the soup to 4 instead of 6. Some of my tortillas stuck to the bottom of the pot, so make sure to stir the soup occassionally while it is coming up to a boil. This made a great big potful for us, so I froze some in individual containers and it thaws out beautifully! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili's Southwestern Vegetable Soup by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (557 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.3
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    29%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 19.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 1242.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes