202 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very smooth and fairly mild taste- next time I think I will take some others' advice and add some garlic and cilantro for a little more flavor. UPDATE: I have added about 1 T lime juice, 1/3 garlic clove, and 1 tsp dried cilantro & it makes a HUGE difference in flavor! I truly love this salsa now- so easy to make with what you have & GREAT taste!!!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridinthewind December 13, 2009

This was so easy and good. I did add half a lime juiced and a handful of cilantro. After a few hours in the fridg it was very delicious.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenzyGirl April 03, 2011

This is extremely close to Chili's salsa. This is a "no cooking" salsa but is fresh salsa so that might explain some of the low ratings. The first time I made it I followed the recipe and used canned tomatoes and thought it was good. I also added some black pepper and it gave it some extra flavor. Make sure you chill it well before serving.
2nd time I made it, I used fresh tomatoes (blanched and peeled the skin) from the garden instead of the can of whole tomatoes. Used fresh jalapenos and cilantro. Much better the 2nd time with the fresh homegrown tomatoes (this is key to a better flavor for those who didn't like.). Tomatoes from your garden or vine ripened tomatoes are key to a better flavor for those who didn't like it. Canned tomatoes (in my opinion) are better for cooking.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
King Creole September 01, 2010

It didn't taste exactly like Chili's salsa to me;........but really really good none the less!!!! I have made it a few times already.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze's Mom April 27, 2011

Loved this recipe. I've made it quite a few times now. This last time I used 1 fresh jalapeno (without seeds) and truvea instead of sugar. Yum

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ml_consulting September 05, 2011

AWESOME!!! We all love this salsa! I have made it many times as is, and thought that I would add that I have recently made it using home grown tomatoes and peppers. I just peeled the tomatoes first, and cooked it on the stove top for 10 minutes before blending. It tasted just the same as using canned, and helped with the overflow of fresh tomatoes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 21, 2010

I will NEVER buy salsa from the supermarket again! This is almost a dead ringer for the restaurant's. I added a teaspoon of cilantro. My kids are VERY PICKY about their salsa, and this one is amazing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jclayton710 March 08, 2013

I LOVE this salsa! While I can't comment on its similarity to Chili's since I haven't been there in awhile, I will say this recipe is quick, easy, and cheap. I followed the recipe exactly, but added dried cilantro at the end. YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krey1202 November 11, 2012

Best Salsa recipe ever! Especially good for those who don't like chunks of stuff, like my hubby and kids. I put all of it in the processor and keep it on hand all the time. I haven't bought salsa in years because nothing tastes as good as this. We think it's good as is but will occasionally add cilantro and a clove of garlic. Super Yummy, either way!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen LadyBee April 19, 2012

Love this! Have always hated jar salsa and Chilli's salsa has always been a favorite so I thought I'd try it. While not exactly like Chilli's it is great all by itself. Even more so when you consider that the items are all canned. Because of the canned items, I believe that you can safely omit the salt but otherwise the only changes I made was to add a little lime juice and some fresh cilantro. Can't wait to try it this summer with fresh tomatoes from the garden!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolynB February 18, 2012
Chili's Salsa