39 Reviews

Great recipe. I worked at Chili's for a couple of years and absolutely love this dish. The only thing is in order to make it truly authentic you need to cook the chicken on a gas grill, not over the stove, and it's best to melt the cheese under a broiler. That's how they do it at the restaurant. Other than that it's perfect :-)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misaistheboofy January 02, 2011

this was good. i cooked the chicken in the bacon drippings instead of pam for extra flavor.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamwa June 21, 2010

I actually created an account so I could review this! This was one of the best dinners I've made in a while! Everyone loved it! Even my 2 youngest that wanted their chicken left plain kept asking for a bite of mine! I grilled the chicken then topped it with left over bacon from breakfast, Sweet Baby Ray's honey bbq sauce, cheese and chives then popped it in the toaster oven on broil for a short time. Quick and easy, especially when using already cooked bacon! Thanks for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djohnson1221 September 21, 2010

Everyone at the table adored this. Very delicious chicken. I dusted it with some of Emeril's Essence along with salt and pepper before sauteing. And I didn't use a lot of barbeque sauce on each piece, just a thin spreading. Topped with chopped cold tomatoes, green onion and parsley before serving. Great, great, great!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr February 10, 2010

Pretty tasty and quick. Prepared this with my homemade bbq sauce, thick cut bacon left over from breakfast, and locally made Bothwell cheddar cheese. I cooked the chicken breasts in a Foreman grill, then topped and finished them off under the broiler in the toaster oven. Nothing too special or particularly healthy about this recipe, but it was indeed tasty. I'm sure my husband will enjoy it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stylin'Dog March 16, 2011

this is a great recipe that comes together quick, and is pretty darn close to the 1 at chili's. one thing i did change was using boneless skinless tenderloins instead of the big chicken breast. also we like a little heat, so i added about a tablespoon of the tabasco chipotle sauce while i cooked the chicken. this recipe came out fantastic! thanks for a great recipe, this is going to be made at our house plenty of times!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nome179er December 12, 2009

ANYthing with bacon on it is breathtaking. Especially if it's DOUBLE baconed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 24, 2013

I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a definate 'restaurant quality' sandwhich. It was really good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 12, 2003

I make this as a sandwich on bakery rolls made into garlic bread. So delicious. I have made this many times, just forgot to review it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oribell June 11, 2013

Wonderful flavor and so quick to make.I will definitely be making this over again as it is so quick and good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms October 25, 2010
Chili's Monterey Chicken