Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili to Take the Chill off (Vegetarian or Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili to Take the Chill off (Vegetarian or Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2010

      Ah yes, this was good. Spicy, yet not too hot. It makes a lot and it freezes well. I do like that it uses ingredients I always have on hand. Simmered the chili for about 3 hours and it filled the house with a homely smell. We opted for cheese, olives and sour cream as topping.
      Well done creating! Good luck in the contest.
      Made and reviewed for Dining on a $ Contest, Fall 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      I don't make too many recipes over and over, but this is now my "go to" Chili recipe. I agree with other reviews that it is spicy yet not too hot. I use fresh tomatoes if they are in season, otherwise I use a can of diced tomatoes. I like the extra juiciness of the canned tomatoes so I sometimes use both. Thanks Nif for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      A nice and spicy chili. I did not miss the meat at all and neither will you. I would make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Made as directed with one tiny exception and it was so wonderful in flavor that even DH liked it a lot. I thought I had smoked paprika in my pantry but didn't; instead, I used a teaspoon of smoked chipotle pepper and a teaspoon of paprika. He thinks that with the addition of chopped Anaheim chile and shrimp, this could be a Creole-style dish. I was prepared to serve with sour cream, cheese, and avocado toppings but ended up foregoing the toppings and still enjoyed it immensely. Made for Dining on a Dollar cooking contest.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      This one got a huge WOW!! from my family. We all kept eating and smiling while totally enjoying this chili. It was very spicy with great flavor that really stood out. I simmered it for 3 1/2 hours and it was perfect. My meat-loving roomies made chili burgers and topped them with cheese and onions. I opted for just a bowl with cheese, onions, and avocado. This is definitely the winner for us! Made for Dining On A Dollar 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      This was outstanding. It had wonderful flavor and some spice. I used a can of black beans and the equivalent of a can of homemade pinto beans. I opted for a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes in lieu of the fresh tomatoes. I only had a 4 oz can of mushrooms and we liked this amount. I used 2 jalapenos. I did not use any broth, but did add the liquid from both the tomatoes and mushrooms. Thanks so much for this creation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      I cooked this for some vegan friends that were visiting from out of town. It was definitely a hit! We topped with avocado, Daiya (feux cheese) and Tofuti (vegan sour cream). Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      This really does go a lot quicker than one might expect. Truthfully I didn't even bother dicing I just used the thin slicer disk of the food pro and that worked great. I did add in a small pkg of veggie crumbles because they needed to be used. Lots of flavor and great textures here and it makes a lot. I put what was left in single servings and popped then into the freezer for fall/winter. I just had mine with crackers. Made for ZWT 8 :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      this is a pantry friendly dish that you can make with things you already have a home i used a can of tomatoes instead of sauce and tomatoes .its tasty and fast to put together an easy dish for those of you that are tired ,i can see why it won 1st place i made it with Paraguayan Corn Bread they worked together great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili to Take the Chill off (Vegetarian or Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.2
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    11%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 633.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 14.3 g
    57%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes