Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2012

      I don't normally use a prepared chili mix but I was making Weight Watchers Crock Pot Chicken Chili and it called for a package of chili mix, so I used this recipe. This made a great pot of chili and I would use this recipe again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      Great chili seasoning mix!! I am making Tamale Pie and it was just right for the type of seasoning I like. Not too hot, and not too mild. Will have this made up and on hand from now on. Thanks, Dancer--Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This is GREAT! I was in the middle of making a big pot of Turkey Chili when I realized I didn't have a seasoning packet. So I figured I would look it up on here and found this recipe. To my great suprise it was SO much better than the store bought packet and I had all the ingredients on hand! I will definately be skipping the store packets and using this one from now on. I doubled the recipe (I was making a lot) and only used half the red pepper flakes it called for as I have little toddlers. The whole family and our guests loved it! Thank you for a great MONEY SAVING recipe! I love when I can make great things without having to go to the store! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Its in the pot right now! Whenever I am making a recipe for the first time I try to follow it exactly. However, I'd already added quite a bit of fresh diced onion to my ground beef, so I left out the dried onion. I also went a little less on the red pepper flakes until I could figure out how hot it would be. I err on the side of mild.
      With my 1.25 lb of ground beef and onions, I put in 2 cans of diced tomatoes, a can of red kidney beans, a can of black beans and a can that says "chili beans in a tasty sauce" (from the smell I think it would be mild.) I just dumped the cans right in with the spice that I had poured over my meat & onions. (In hindsight, I probably should have added 1/2 c. water to the spice and meat and let it simmer a while before added the tomatos and beans.) I also throw in 1c. of thawed frozen corn. Becuase I had new white peppercorns to grind and some oregano from the spice store in town, I added a bit of those but I did a taste test before and they aren't necessary! :)
      Thanks for the recipe...I'll be using it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      Very nice mix. We really enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Seems really good. I didn't have any chili powder, so I am using diced green chilis to taste. And, I didn't add the onion powder (doesn't agree with me). I add fresh shallots to the chili.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      This was very mild and tasty. I made a big pot of chili with over 2 lbs of meat and 2 cans of kidney beans and used the whole recipe for that. I didn't have seasoned salt so I substituted with a sea salt and parsley blend and paprika for that, plus I added about 1T dried oregano, in addition to all the seasoning I put with meat, onions and garlic. I omitted the flour due to gluten intolerance in a family member. I could have substituted cornstarch, but didn't think of it. I will definitely use again since I like the mild taste because you can always add more heat if desired. I did not add the sugar. I made this again and want to put this notation for my own use. Instead of using canned kidney beans, I used this time about 1/2 lb. dried beans, soaked overnight, and added a can of beer with the diced tomatoes and tomato sauce (1 can each for 2 lbs. of ground beef). I also added about 1/2 c red wine and about 2 T of refrigerated minced garlic, and used the entire recipe of seasoning mix for the 1 batch of chili.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Thank you so much for an easy and very good seasoning mix. My dh kept saying this is good chili. My 6 year old ate it up in no time too. No more buying packets of seasoning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Very Good. I always add a can of Rottell to my chili. With this recipe I can leae out the Rotell. It was too hot with it. Awesome! No more store bought for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Making tex-mex fiesta casserole#138871, and needed chili seasoning..Thank U for posting...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      This was a very helpful guide for a chili seasoning. I definitely had to add a bit more cumin and chili seasoning, with a dash of cocoa on top of it. The flavor was very good. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Easy, inexpensive, smelled great. Not enough for my chili recipe, which calls for 1lb ground beef and about 4cups veggies...I had to double the seasoning recipe to achieve the flavor we wanted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      This was good, I'll keep this on hand rather than using the packages.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      This was good. I did have to increase the chili powder, garlic and ground cumin to suit my tastes but I'll certainly never buy the McCormick packaged chili spices again! I used this to make chili in the crockpot. Everyone loved it. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      I LOVE this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

    • on May 05, 2009

      I used this in a casserole recipe calling for chili seasoning mix, and it worked great! It definitely added a lot of flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Simply delicious! I usually use Lawry's Chili seasoning packets for my hamburger baked beans & love the way it tastes but not the high price of the packets. This was just as good for a fraction of the price. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Great seasoning mix. I use it for veggie chili and it works perfect. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This worked perfectly in Ww 4 Points Vegetarian 2 Bean Chili. For purposes of WW core, I might omit the flour and sugar next time but for this time I used it and it all tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 363.1
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    10%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 283.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites