37 Reviews

This saved my life! I was nearly done with putting my meatloaf together and discovered that I had no chili sauce -- and the local store had just closed. The flavor of this was perfect! It is a little thin, but I'm going to tinker with reducing the tomato sauce and adding some tomato paste and see if that helps. This was a huge success, and I thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts March 08, 2010

This was a great substitute for an ingredient I only use in a few recipes a year. I always have to run out at the last minute to pick up a bottle, so from now on I will make my own instead of keeping a bottle of the kind made with high fructose corn syrup. Not only did this taste better but it was less than half the cost to make from scratch. I did tweek the spices to my taste subbing a commercial chili powder blend for the cinnamon and I simmered it just enough to dissolve the sugar and thicken it slightly, but I'm sure if you are short on time you could skip that step . Thanks princess buttercup !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saltygal June 02, 2014

Very good. I used it in Miss Elizabeth's slow cooker stuffed peppers (Momma's Two-Egg Treasure Cake). I put in a little too much cloves and allspice. Guess my pinches are too generous. I'll know better next time. Consistency was a little thinner than store bought, but didn't affect the outcome of my dish at all. In the future, I'll follow another reviewer's suggestion and simmer it to thicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf January 07, 2010

I have to tell you, Girl, this is some kinda sauce. I used it in Sweet and Sour Skillet Chicken, and it's the best I've ever turned out. Bottled chili sauce pales in comparison. It's easy and fast to mix up with stuff I keep on hand anyway. Thanks for sharing, PB...I'll be using your recipe often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee November 06, 2003

This recipe is horrible. Cinnamon...cloves...allspice?! It's like eating pumpkin pie. I used this as an ingredient for some shrimp dip. Blech!! Where is the onion...garlic...maybe a pinch of cayenne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck C. January 01, 2016

Thank you! No more 45 mile trips to purchase one bottle. Saves time and $$$.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nekkednekmama August 23, 2015

I had one bottle of Heinz Chili Sauce, but needed 2, so I was able to taste these side by side. The substitute was runnier, sweeter, and didn't have the complexity of flavors as the original- but still a good substitute if you are using it in a recipe. I was making party meatballs with the cranberry sauce in it, so I was really happy I didn't need to run out just for the real thing. I noticed the original has onion and garlic powder in it, so I added a dash of each.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodeatin July 31, 2013

It was nice to find a chili sauce substitute using pantry staples! The recipe was easy to make and worked out in the recipe I needed it for. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D February 23, 2013

It has actually been several years since I've had access to regular chili sauce, so maybe I can't remember it very well...but this sauce seemed way too sweet to me. None of the other reviewers seem to mind, though, so it must just be me....Next time I'll try doubling the sauce (using one can of tomato paste to make a little less than 2 cups tomato sauce) but not doubling the sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miriachi May 02, 2012
Chili Sauce Substitute