9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Be very careful about the cinnamon. Depending on the freshness or quality 1 teaspoon may be way too much. I made the mistake and cracked open a fresh bottle and put the full teaspoon when I shouldn't started with a 1/4 and added as needed. I should have known because after about a minute of adding the cinnamon the smell was overpowering. Other then that its a good recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miguelrey2013 February 21, 2013

Perfect ... similar to the recipe I grew up with and lost mine. I did reduce the cinnamon, too sweet for me. But that is just my taste.

This is definitely it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook August 22, 2011

This is exactly the recipe I've been searching for! A while ago I saw a segment of Man vs Food where the owner of a restaurant was talking about the hot dog chili he makes. The technique he described was this recipe to a T (combining the liquid with the meat and squishing it between your fingers till there are no lumps). However the TV version said he allowed the mixture to simmer all day, just continuing to add more liquid. Honestly though, I do not know how a hot dog chili sauce good be any tastier than this recipe!! I reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp and used real onion in stead of the dried, being the only changes I made to this recipe. We loved this!!! Why purchased canned when you can make better at home?? I served with a little mustard and sweet relish, shredded Mexican blend cheese and chopped onion. As another reviewer stated, This IS "Chili-Dog HEAVEN"!!! Thank you, so much!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev August 22, 2011

This was a great recipe for chili dogs. I made it the night before to let the flavors meld. I did need to thicken it by using cornstarch. It turned out well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keschef August 25, 2009

Chili-dog HEAVEN!! Excellent sauce. I followed the recipe to the letter except I had no dried onions so I finely chopped about 1/3 of a big purple onion. I will remember this great stuff the next time a powerful yen for chili dogs comes calling. This is fabulous and everyone loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr August 16, 2009

Not bad. I left out the cinnamon and added a tblsp cumin, 1/4 tsp red pepper flake and an envelope of beefy onion soup mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fishsmoker July 21, 2014

I love this recipe! This is my first time cooking chili sauce for hotdogs and fries and I definitely recommend this recipe. I definitely substitute the stock to Knorr cubes because its gonna be way too much time to spend. I'm out of time and I also added a 1 cup of water to substitute the liquid. About the cinnamon I only put 1/4 teaspoon and it went good. I uploaded a pic. Love love love this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nesert May 29, 2013

I scaled it down,but I'll never buy store bought chili again.LOVED it..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melrenee72 May 29, 2012

This is the best chili sauce we have ever had. I made it exactly as written with the exception of the parsley, simply because I didn't have any, but I will use it next time. Also, I use ground round and there is hardly any fat to skim off. Thank you Miss Brandist for this recipe. It is in my family favorites cookbook (Otherwise known as 'The Vault'.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bama jr. August 03, 2008
Chili Sauce for Hot Dogs, Fries and Hamburgers