9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am living in Australia for the next few years and there's no Heinz Chili Sauce here-- not even close. So I used this recipe and it was great. I did change it by using Heinz Ketchup instead of tomato puree and then omitted the vinegar and used brown sugar instead of plain. I also added a little more of the dried onion flakes. Just be careful to cook on low and keep stirring, I scorched mine by walking away-- but it was still fine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flgirlinsydney June 05, 2008

This recipe is VERY close to Heinz. It has a little more salt than the original and it's missing Allspice. I will be making this again very soon. In my next batch, I will reduce the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons and add maybe 1/16th to 1/8 teaspoon of Allspice. It doesn't need much but when you compare the two sauces side by side (like I just did), you will get a distinct hit right away of the Allspice with Heinz. It's still a nice sauce and very easy to make and a lot less money than the original ($3.50 for the Heinz). I've never used Tomato Puree before and someone told me to blend 6oz of Tomato Paste with 15oz Tomato Sauce. It worked great! If I double that (2 cans of each), I'll have enough "Puree" for a triple batch of this chili sauce! I used 12oz of the chili sauce and 10oz of grape jelly plus 2 Tablespoons of lemon juice as a sauce to cook my browned pork chops in a crockpot. The sauce works great with meatballs so I'm keeping my fingers crossed. Thank you mandabears for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpixley March 08, 2011

I so needed some Heinz Chili sauce for a recipe... came upon this one... OMG! Its better than the original! Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith Leigh December 01, 2007

This is delicious, and better than the bottled version. I followed other reviewer's suggestions, and used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, half tomato paste and half ketchup for the tomato puree (it's what I had on hand), brown sugar for the white sugar, and a dash each of allspice and paprika. The color, texture and flavor are perfect. My brisket is marinating in it, so we will see how it goes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjingel April 03, 2015

I made this recipe but altered it just a bit. I didn't have any tomato puree on hand, so i used tomato sauce, omitted the onion flakes, and used 1 can of jellied and 1 can whole berry jellied cranberry sauce. My cocktail meatballs were the life of the party. Everyone loved the sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonniejo71 August 03, 2014

It's great. I used Maple syrup in place of corn syrup. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bojen February 19, 2013

I didn't have puree so used tomato sauce so it didn't thicken up like it should have but the flavors were definitely there. Will make again with puree to see if it thickens. Used in a sauce recipe for Blooming Onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 24, 2011

I made this excatly as the recipe stated... and it turned out tasting so good! I was amazed, in the past I have made "secret" recipes of famous brand sauces, and they haven't turned out great at all.
This Chili Sauce = Fantastic. It may replace ketchup for all my kitchen needs, it's so good. :) Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy C 2004 November 09, 2010

This chili sauce is outstanding. i am forced to make a lot of my own sauces since I am gluten-free and so much processed food has hidden ingredients.The only thing I changed was that I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup - I would probably not have use for the corn syrup for anything else. Otherwise, I followed it as is - DELISH! I use chile sauce in my meatloaf and this has a nice fresh flavor. I'm now trying for homemade asian Black Bean sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Love that Todd Wilbur.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanne101 March 13, 2010
Chili Sauce