23 Reviews

EXCELLENT! This recipe delivers big in the "something different" category. Yet is safe enough for finicky eaters and not so overpowering for the faint hearted who shy away from spicy foods. Don't hesitate, add it to your cookbook now. Just prepared this meal for some friends. No leftovers. I used HEB - a grocery store chain in Texas - Preseasoned Thighs for Fajitas (mainly because they were already in the freezer). The Subtle fajita seasonings blended exceptionally well with this recipe. I recommend it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rook January 09, 2003

This was very easy and was well received. I used boneless chicken breasts, cut up into 'thigh-sized' pieces so there was more flavor on each bite! I prepped the night before and put chicken and sauce in a ziplock bag to marinate overnight in the fridge. Based on my timing for dinner (wanting to take a shower whlle chicken was cooking!) I cooked at 350 for 35 minutes... which was almost too long enough for my smaller pieces of breast meat. I served with french fries and Lemon and garlic spinach. Lemon & Garlic Spinach

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee January 21, 2009

The thighs cooked fine but I did not care for the sauce. The chili powder added spiciness but I don't think it fit well with the BBQ. However these cook at just the right temperature and timing to throw some olive oil coated potato cubes for roasting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy November 10, 2013

I am not going to rate this as I must have done something wrong. I mean nearly 20 other people loved this. Like another reviewer, my sauce was charred black. The parts that weren't dry or burnt had a nice flavor. I may try again after buying an oven thermometer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greenlove00 October 23, 2013

I used thighs and legs and really enjoyed it. I don't find chile powder spicy at all so I mixed in about a 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper and found that I still need to increase the amount to suit my tastes. Thank you for a very simple to prepare recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 September 19, 2013

This was so tasty! To add a little zip, I used a 50/50 mixture of regular chili powder and chipotle chili powder. Made it REALLY spicy, which we like. I cut three chicken breast in half and coated each piece heavily with the sauce. One of the best oven chicken recipes I've come across in awhile!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little_Sister April 07, 2013

Really yummy and easy! The sweetness of the BBQ sauce really compliments the heat of the chili powder...which isn't really even that spicy. Loveee itt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abbs <3 August 19, 2010

WE LOVE IT! I use chicken legs and broil for the last 10 minutes to crisp the skin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa823 March 14, 2010

Oh, I was so disappointed. I cut the chicken breasts in half and followed recipe. I baked in 425 oven for 25 minutes. The extra sauce was burned on the aluminum foil and the chicken was dry. Also, the flavor was not so good. After all the great reviews, it just did not do it for us. Perhaps my oven was too hot and I over cooked it. I will not try it again. Sorry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BABYBOP November 16, 2009
Chili Roasted Chicken Breasts or Thighs