Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili (Real Texas Chili) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili (Real Texas Chili)

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-70 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2007

      Oh, is this yummy! I'm not a sausage fan, so I doubled the amount of lean beef and threw in a few strips of bacon for a little "smoke"; otherwise, I followed the directions as provided. It's so perfect right now that it's going to be hard to wait until dinner time to plow into it. Thank you for posting this! Finally, a chili recipe both my sweetie and I can agree on!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This is now my husband's favorite chili recipe. I use to make my chili with lots of veggies and beans, since my mom had always made it that way, but I realize now that I really prefer Texas style. I've made this recipe with and without the breakfast sausage; I didn't think it tasted that different, so in order to cut down on the fat, I now use only 2 lbs. of extra lean beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Outstanding chili. I am a Texan and hate bad chili. This is the best that I have tasted. I am making a double pot for the Super Bowl. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Texan girl here and this is a rich, hot, delicious chili. One of my friends made it and he and his family loved it too! I added fresh, chopped medium poblano pepper, 1 1/2 fresh jalapeno peppers, and 1 1/2 tomatillos...didn't use the cayenne. Super recipe and thanks so much Don!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

    • on December 02, 2006

      Don is right, this is authentic chili. I've altered it when I was missing ingredients and got great results. Try adding poblano pepper instead of some of the onion or using a jalepeño or two instead of cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      A fantastic recipe,did leave out cumin(dont care for it)and did use round steak for the beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Great chili. I was a bit surprised by the amount of chili powder, but it was perfect. I used some spicy V8 instead of the tomato sauce/water for a little extra kick. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I have made this recipe several times. We absolutely love it! And NO, I did not alter the chili powder amount. The amount the recipe calls for is right on the mark. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      I used bacon instead of sausages, but otherwise followed it to a tee - inlcuding the insane-sounding amount of chili. It turned out really well, and not too hot at all, just a good kick. Guests loved it too the next day, I served it with wild rice, cornbread, guacamole and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili (Real Texas Chili)

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.9
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    64%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 863.6 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes