Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili (Real Texas Chili) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili (Real Texas Chili)

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2009

      This chili was AWESOME!!! I couldn't find mexican oregano in my area but I just used a little bit of regular oregano. I was also out of Cayenne pepper and it just wasn't quite hot enough so I used some Franks Cayenne Pepper sauce in my bowl. This is now our staple chili recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I was searching for a "real" chili recipe that my husband would like and I could live with on Weight Watchers. This is it! Great taste and by using 1/2 as much sausage it worked out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This chili is to die for. I am passing around the recipe within my family. I make it a little bit different everytime. It is a first time cooks dream!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This was really good chili. We were looking for something a little different, and we found it! This was so good, me and my husband made it back to back! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This is very good! I think next time I will add a little less chili powder. I am definitely making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This recipe is just way to simple to be this good! Having never had Texas chili, I had nothing to compare it to. The only changes I made was to use 1 1/2 lb. beef and 1/2 lb sausage and I left out the cayenne. It was perfect for us. Fantastic recipe, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I have been searching for years for the perfect chili recipe. I believe my quest has ended right here. This is a great chili! I did skip the cayenne because I knew my spice sensitive wife couldn't handle that much heat. I was surprised at the amount of chili powder but my wife thought it was just fine. I also added a can of pinto beans. I know, I know, there aren't any beans in Texas chili, but I love beans. This recipe is just awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Thank you so much! I have tried so many recipes for Texas style chili and all with poor results. I don't care for beans or an excess of tomato flavor. I used a can of Rotel instead of tomato sauce and I used whole wheat couscus instead of cornmeal because I was out of those ingredients. The chili was still superb! Next time I will prepare it with stew meat and ground beef. I'm sure that it will still be awesome! I would follow the other reviewer's recommendation to rinse the meat after it browns to cut down on the fattiness of the finished chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      EXTREMELY PERFECT! My guy absolutely hates chunks in his chili and is not a fan of beans either, so this was the perfect recipe. Not to mention excellent flavor and the right amount of heat (I added a few more dashes of cayenne however I LOVE spice). I've made this several times, both over the stove and in the crock pot, its terrific everytime! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Turned out very tasty but too spicy for me. I will cut back on the spice next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Absolutely Outstanding!! My family and I are born Texans, and we haven't tasted better chili anywhere!!! Fixed it with the cayenne for my husband and myself, and fixed it without the cayenne for the kids. This is perfect chili for everyone!! I doubled the recipe to fill my crock pot. My husband and I are members of a Christian motorcycling organization, and the organization had a chili feed to minister to bikers. This chili was a favorite!!! Thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This chili when I prepared it was a mild chili, so if you want more punch then you will need to add more heat. I added red pepper flakes to give it the amount of heat I liked. It was not difficult to make at all. I think I had it prepared within an hour and half total time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

    • on November 27, 2007

    • on November 24, 2007

      My husband made this tonight for dinner. It is really really good. We will be serving the other half at the high school basketball concession stand. I am sure everyone there will love it too. We used venison and venison sausage, and doubled the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This chili is absolutely perfect. A girl at work made your recipe and then I made it because I just loved it. We put it over spaghetti and add onion and cheese on top. This is delicious. Guess I know what real Texas chili tastes like now. Yummy. Thank you so much for the recipe. Also, I wanted to add that the girl who first made this does not cook a lot and doesn't rate the recipes that she makes unfortunately so I want to tell you that everyone at worked loved it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This was fantastic! My picky 6 year old asked if we could have it for dinner every night. I think nex time I will try it with a little less chili powder, but I will certainly be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      Great chili and yes it is REALLY TX style! I added an extra pound of hamburger and used extra hot Jimmy Dean. I added one extra can of tomato sauce (I used El Pato Mexican) and one extra can of water and cooked in the crockpot. Perfect balance of heat and flavors, none overpowered any others. I did not need the masa harina, it was perfect as it was. Thanks for submitting my now only chili recipe to every make again.:) We loved it as a frito pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      This chili was really good, best on day 2. My kids used it on their nacho's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      I loved the seasoning mix in this chili...it tasted just the way that chili should taste! I used arrowroot powder instead of masa harina and the chili thickened quite nicely. I also followed the advice of some people on here and made the chili one day, then the next morning I put it in the crockpot on LOW for the whole day and we ate it at dinner. I don't really think that it needed this step, though. I served this with a sprinkling of cilantro, jicama Jicama Texicana, and homemade tortilla chips made with low-carb tortillas. Great meal. Thanks so much for this recipe, it is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili (Real Texas Chili)

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.9
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    64%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 863.6 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites