70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is ok chili, nothing spectacular. As a Texan, I can tell you this isn't a true Texas chili. But it's a good one to cook for first timers, with little ingredients you can make your own variation the next go around.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
huffman1894 January 07, 2013

Sooo good! Nuff said.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hildorsett January 05, 2013

Followed the recipe as published. This New England Yankee discovered that authentic Texas chili tastes amazingly similar to good taco filling -- Not that there is anything wrong with that. I ate this rolled in flour tortillas with sharp cheddar and shredded lettuce. It was terrific. I also had it in a bowl atop a bed of corn tortilla chips. That was great too. I couldn't really taste the Jimmy Dean sausage. Next batch will get more cayenne. There *will* be a next batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomhensr May 28, 2012

Another great chili recipe to add to my list of favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BillieJoeUtah April 22, 2011

This chili is the BEST I've ever made. Me and my wife loved it. I made 120 servings of it for a large group and it was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jasonkavanaugh_9762688 March 26, 2011

This is fabulous! I made this last night and used it for frito pie. My kids couldn't get enough of this. I served it with the fritos, cheddar cheese, sour cream, avacado, green onions and sliced jalapenos. Thank you so much for this recipe, it is really good. We loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 14, 2011

This was ok, but maybe too different from the way I like chili. The chili flavor was good and plenty hot for my taste. The texture was too dry. While I don't want soupy chili, this was not loose enough. Also, I missed the tomatoes and beans, alot. Guess real Texas chili just isn't for me. But thanks for a new recipe to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 30, 2010

I'm a real Iowan ... 7th generation, and I adore your authentic Texas chili ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spudd77 October 15, 2010

I'm a 'real' Texan (5th generation) and I've never heard of any Texan putting sausage in her chili! So please don't call this 'authentic' - leave out the sausage and it is authentic. Anyway, if you like sausage or bacon in your chili, fine just don't go tellin some cowboy this is authentic! LOL Nevertheless, I like just about any chili, beans, no beans, white, red, it doesn't matter but I really don't want all the non-Texans bragging they are using a real authentic Texas recipe because it's not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sewartist October 05, 2010

This is a very flavorful chili. I made it as written. I did wait until the end to add the cayenne pepper and added it 1/2 tsp at a time . In my opinion the chili tastes flat with no cayenne. 1/2 tsp added a bit of heat, I stopped at 1 tsp because I'd reached my comfort level. I think that the whole 1 1/2 tsp would take the chili up to the hot level. I do think adding a couple of cans of my favorite beans would make the chili even better. I was raised with chili containing beans and it's hard to give that up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GailBurgess October 23, 2009
Chili (Real Texas Chili)