70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Our best freinds are "Real Texans" , I have made this chili recipe for them twice now . I am preparing it once again to serve for a family gathering .This has become the only chili recipe that I use now. Love it, love it, love it!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
designsbylwallac December 18, 2009

I finally found a chili recipe i actually like. I couldn't find the masa at the store so i just omitted it and used hot jimmy deans sausage roll, otherwise i followed it. Thanks for the recipe Update: DandyDon I still use this recipe and today we smoked a chuck roast with hickory chips and cut into chunk in place of the beef. its was soo good.mmmmmmm

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daggle October 21, 2006

I love this chili! It is the real deal Texas chili... simple ingredients and packs a punch! Don't be afraid of the huge amount of chili powder... that is what makes it chili. Terrific terrific terrific recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber April 18, 2010

This really has great flavor! After reading other reviews of this recipe - I thought it sounded pretty mild - it is not! I did use the 6 tablespoons of chili powder, but ommited the cayenne pepper after tasting the almost finished product and it having so much spice. I also would omit the salt, the sausage makes it salty enough. Next time I will cut the chili powder in half. If you are used to heat, I would only omit the salt, but for kids I would prepare as I suggested. Once again, a recipe worth making and very easy!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichellenMo February 28, 2008

I've been making Real Texas Chili all my life. (No beans or veggies for us!!) I had never put sausage in it and when I ran across this recipe, I happened to have a roll of Jimmy Dean's in my freezer. Gave it a try and man o man it was so good that I had to make another pot the next night at hubby's request. Excellent chili..thanks for the great recipe. Even an old dog can learn a new trick now and then. Try it with smoked paprika...sooo good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Oklahoma December 03, 2006

Thanks Don! If you're looking for a good recipe for the way chili's cooked in Texas this is it. I needed to make a double batch. I used 3 lbs of coarse ground round and 1 lb of Owen's HOT Country Sausage. Followed the rest of the recipe except substituted beef broth for the water. Used a bit less than the 16oz. (32 for double batch) and I added one chopped jalapeno pepper. This is a HOT one, but that's the way we like it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wisslbritches November 20, 2006

great chili, thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanna G. November 02, 2014

I'm sure there must be steps I was supposed to get on my own but did not. At 45 minutes I had well=seasoned shoe leather.Added beer and continued simmering for half hour. Ended up taking DH to dinner. The seasonings were good but there must be some step the author neglected, but it was just not edible. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol in Cabo September 14, 2014

My family likes spicey, but not too hot. Substitute the cayenne with finely chopped ancho chilies; almost the same taste with half the heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenwitch33 September 08, 2014

Good stuff. It's important to keep in mind that Texas Chili is completely different than homestyle chili (just like green chile or white chili). I love it. Like a few others I saw, I substituted sirloin (tri-tip) for the ground beef. I also left out the cayenne to make it more kid-friendly, but it still has a wonderful kick. My favorite way to eat Texas chili is with a side of beans

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BDBax April 08, 2013
Chili (Real Texas Chili)