Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili (Real Texas Chili) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili (Real Texas Chili)

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2011

      Another great chili recipe to add to my list of favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      This chili is the BEST I've ever made. Me and my wife loved it. I made 120 servings of it for a large group and it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This is fabulous! I made this last night and used it for frito pie. My kids couldn't get enough of this. I served it with the fritos, cheddar cheese, sour cream, avacado, green onions and sliced jalapenos. Thank you so much for this recipe, it is really good. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      This was ok, but maybe too different from the way I like chili. The chili flavor was good and plenty hot for my taste. The texture was too dry. While I don't want soupy chili, this was not loose enough. Also, I missed the tomatoes and beans, alot. Guess real Texas chili just isn't for me. But thanks for a new recipe to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      I'm a real Iowan ... 7th generation, and I adore your authentic Texas chili ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      I'm a 'real' Texan (5th generation) and I've never heard of any Texan putting sausage in her chili! So please don't call this 'authentic' - leave out the sausage and it is authentic. Anyway, if you like sausage or bacon in your chili, fine just don't go tellin some cowboy this is authentic! LOL Nevertheless, I like just about any chili, beans, no beans, white, red, it doesn't matter but I really don't want all the non-Texans bragging they are using a real authentic Texas recipe because it's not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This is a very flavorful chili. I made it as written. I did wait until the end to add the cayenne pepper and added it 1/2 tsp at a time . In my opinion the chili tastes flat with no cayenne. 1/2 tsp added a bit of heat, I stopped at 1 tsp because I'd reached my comfort level. I think that the whole 1 1/2 tsp would take the chili up to the hot level. I do think adding a couple of cans of my favorite beans would make the chili even better. I was raised with chili containing beans and it's hard to give that up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Way too hot for us and although I doubled the recipe I did not double the chili powder so either my spice is a very hot variety or the 3 tsp cayenne put it out of our comfort zone. I think I will make it again and tone down the hot spices so the whole family can enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Although we are not chiliheads, we do like a good bowl of red, and this is an excellent recipe. We used three pounds of chili grind beef (coarse grind in 1/2 inch pieces) to one pound of sausage and doubled everything else but the cayenne. Since a big football game was on, we browned, chopped, and stirred, and simmered through the first stage and then continued the process in a low oven during the game. Serving beans on the side (along with other add ins) allows everyone to stir up their favorite flavors. Makes a great buffet. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      LOVED IT!!! i love beans in mine but hubby does't. even without the beans this was perfect! i followed recipe except added 2 lbs of ground beef instead of half sausage and it was simply perfect :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Thank you for posting this great easy recipe! took a lot of searching and after two months i came across yours and i'm so happy that i did because it was just what i was looking for...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Great recipe! I used turkey sausage and threw in some green pepper for color but otherwise stuck to the recipe...all that chili powder really makes it great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Very delicious! I also added beans to mine, but otherwise followed the directions, and it was the best chili I have ever had. The sausage makes a big difference- will definately make again and again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I like my chili without beans; this hit the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I've never used sausage in chili before- I'd been missing out! It added such great flavor. I also love my chili thick, and this delivered. I have to confess, I added kidney beans (I'm a yankee!) This chili was delicious... but a little on the spicy side. I will use a little less cayenne next time, otherwise, will faithfully follow this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I added a cup of kidney beans, one red chili and simmered on the stove for an additional three hours and it was great! The chili the right amount of spicyness too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Awesome Chili! I served it at a SuperBowl party and everyone loved it. Most people had 3-4 bowls. I increased the serving size to 18-22 and it still worked great, except for the salt amount. I had to slowly add more because the quantity the increased recipe called for did not give it enough flavor, and I'm a conservative salt user.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This chili was AWESOME!!! I couldn't find mexican oregano in my area but I just used a little bit of regular oregano. I was also out of Cayenne pepper and it just wasn't quite hot enough so I used some Franks Cayenne Pepper sauce in my bowl. This is now our staple chili recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I was searching for a "real" chili recipe that my husband would like and I could live with on Weight Watchers. This is it! Great taste and by using 1/2 as much sausage it worked out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This chili is to die for. I am passing around the recipe within my family. I make it a little bit different everytime. It is a first time cooks dream!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili (Real Texas Chili)

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.9
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    64%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 863.6 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites