Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili (Real Texas Chili) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili (Real Texas Chili)

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2010

      This chili is AMAZING... very authentic! For those trying to adjust seasonings, a helpful hint: cayenne pepper is the hot one... chili powder is the depth one. If you don't want it HOT, leave the chili powder amount the same, but adjust the cayenne. If you like it zippy without much depth, leave the cayenne pepper the same and adjust the chili powder. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Excellent chili! I did make a couple adjustments though. I made a double batch so that I could freeze the left overs. I did add some cubed venison but did not double the chile powder for my double batch ( I have 2 small children that I knew would not like the heat) I did double the cayene but wish I hadn't because when I tasted it I knew it would still be too spicy for them. In order to tone it down a little I added a can of tomatoe paste. It turned out perfect! I try not to change recipes the first time I make them but I know this recipe would be perfect as written for a true chili lover and will make it that way next time we have an adults only meal. Served with cheese, sour cream, and Fritos!!! Gonna use the left overs as topping on baked potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This was really excellent and I'll admit I had my doubts. I wanted Texas style chili for friends who are Texan transplants so authenticity was key. I was shocked that Texas chili is basically just a lotta meat, a lotta water, and an onion. But it was delicious! A huge hit at our Super Bowl party. Served with fritos, cheese and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I swap out the lean beef for sirloin steak and cook it til the meat falls apart, makes awesome beef & bean burritos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I agree that this is authentic Texas chili. My grandmother's chili NEVER had any tomatoes, beans, spaghetti or any other contaminants. Our version although does not contain pork sausage, instead we used suet or shortening. We also added equal amounts of paprika to chili powder, which really brings out the flavor. Great with a box of saltines. Glad to see this old recipe is still valued!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I have to agree with that it does taste like taco meat, but the taste is excellent. I used all ground turkey instead of beef and sausage (to lower the satty fatty) and added two diced poblanos. Also used beef broth instead of plain old water and used two teaspoons of hot paprika so no need for cayenne. Give it a shot!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Very good chili! I've never had authentic Texas Chili before and was pleasantly surprised! I don't think it will replace the kind with beans and vegetables for me, because I love chili that way too... but this is definitly a keeper! This is the type of chili that would be perfect for Chili 5-way or Chili Dogs etc. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Tasted a whole lot like taco meat. I don't think I would make this as "chili" again. Good burrito filling though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Excellant chili recipe to say the least! i entered this chili in a competition and won 1st place--great flavors, easy to make--thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I made the chili according to the recipe except with 1 tsp of cayenne instead of 1 1/2 tsp. It was great! I ended up having to add beans for my husband. We both loved it; this will definitely be my go-to chili recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Our best freinds are "Real Texans" , I have made this chili recipe for them twice now . I am preparing it once again to serve for a family gathering .This has become the only chili recipe that I use now. Love it, love it, love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      I finally found a chili recipe i actually like. I couldn't find the masa at the store so i just omitted it and used hot jimmy deans sausage roll, otherwise i followed it. Thanks for the recipe Update: DandyDon I still use this recipe and today we smoked a chuck roast with hickory chips and cut into chunk in place of the beef. its was soo good.mmmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I love this chili! It is the real deal Texas chili... simple ingredients and packs a punch! Don't be afraid of the huge amount of chili powder... that is what makes it chili. Terrific terrific terrific recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      This really has great flavor! After reading other reviews of this recipe - I thought it sounded pretty mild - it is not! I did use the 6 tablespoons of chili powder, but ommited the cayenne pepper after tasting the almost finished product and it having so much spice. I also would omit the salt, the sausage makes it salty enough. Next time I will cut the chili powder in half. If you are used to heat, I would only omit the salt, but for kids I would prepare as I suggested. Once again, a recipe worth making and very easy!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      I've been making Real Texas Chili all my life. (No beans or veggies for us!!) I had never put sausage in it and when I ran across this recipe, I happened to have a roll of Jimmy Dean's in my freezer. Gave it a try and man o man it was so good that I had to make another pot the next night at hubby's request. Excellent chili..thanks for the great recipe. Even an old dog can learn a new trick now and then. Try it with smoked paprika...sooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Thanks Don! If you're looking for a good recipe for the way chili's cooked in Texas this is it. I needed to make a double batch. I used 3 lbs of coarse ground round and 1 lb of Owen's HOT Country Sausage. Followed the rest of the recipe except substituted beef broth for the water. Used a bit less than the 16oz. (32 for double batch) and I added one chopped jalapeno pepper. This is a HOT one, but that's the way we like it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      I'm sure there must be steps I was supposed to get on my own but did not. At 45 minutes I had well=seasoned shoe leather.Added beer and continued simmering for half hour. Ended up taking DH to dinner. The seasonings were good but there must be some step the author neglected, but it was just not edible. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      My family likes spicey, but not too hot. Substitute the cayenne with finely chopped ancho chilies; almost the same taste with half the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      Good stuff. It's important to keep in mind that Texas Chili is completely different than homestyle chili (just like green chile or white chili). I love it. Like a few others I saw, I substituted sirloin (tri-tip) for the ground beef. I also left out the cayenne to make it more kid-friendly, but it still has a wonderful kick. My favorite way to eat Texas chili is with a side of beans

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      This is ok chili, nothing spectacular. As a Texan, I can tell you this isn't a true Texas chili. But it's a good one to cook for first timers, with little ingredients you can make your own variation the next go around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili (Real Texas Chili)

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.9
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    64%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 863.6 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites