Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili Powder

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I hate how chili powder here tastes, I have tried several brands and concluded I ought to try to make my own. And this was exactly what I was looking for not over hot and right mix of herbs. I used these in chili and to make tacos, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      we like it lots. won't buy the premade again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      My husband makes this. It's yummy and fresher - we get the ingredients from Penzeys.com He likes the complexity of this one's flavor compared to the standard store bought version. He refuses to buy chili powder ever since he found this recipe! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      wow! So what if it is a copycat, it does the job and does it well.The only thing I did differently was to put all the ingridients in a dry frying pan and heat them to give it a wee bit of a "smokey" flavor.(do not let them burn or it'll give you a nasty sore nose and throat from the cayenne and cumin)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This recipe just saved my BBQ sauce!!!! :) GREAT!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Great recipe- and it's gluten-free too. I've made a double batch. In Australia the chilli powder that we have access to is actually ground small asian style chillis and it is extremely hot. It's no good for using in Tex-Mex recipes. Thanks for a quick and easy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      For a long time now I have been making this Chili Powder recipe. I always make a double batch. Thank you, Miller, for posting the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Thanks for posting - it has stopped me from buying the ready made mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Loved this chili powder. Used it to make a big Tamale pie and it was every bit as good as the storebought mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      Great recipe! I was making a southwestern dish tonight and realized at the last minute (after I'd already gone grocery shopping in the rain!) that I was out of chili powder. I whipped some of this up and dinner was saved. I already made up another batch so I could have plenty on hand. Thank you--this is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      I will never buy chili powder again! I have used this recipe for fajitas and fish tacos with amazing results. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Miller, you have saved me again, wherever you may be. Now that I, too, am on sodium restricted foods, I find your recipes even more useful. Thank you for posting this one, too. jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      Thanks for posting this; I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one with a chili powder emergency....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      Phew! Made chili for the first time, and this is excellent. I did cut back on the cayenne to 1 tsp and it was really great! Thanks again 8o) And I am not buying store chili powder ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Thanks for sharing! It was perfect for Granny's slow cooker vegetarian chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      this is great. DH has high BP so I like to cut down/out the salt. This is our new chili powder recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Excellent! DH was needing chili powder for a bbq rub recipe and we were out. I pulled this one up so we tried it using Mexican oregano. This was wonderful and we decided to just make our own from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      I had just started to prepare some enchiladas last night and lo and behold I discovered I didn't have enough chili powder!! I made this exactly as written and it's great stuff. The ingredients are perfect...it has a nice little kick to it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      I always make my own chili pwd.I agree that it is much better than store bought.Instead of paprika,I use ground ancho chilies,it gives your chili a richer color and taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

      Thanks Mille! You saved me last night when I was putting my crockpot chili together. Ran out of chili powder and thank goodness for your recipe. Smells better than the store bought stuff! I too will never buy the pre-made stuff again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    31%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes