Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili Powder

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2003

      I ran out of Chili Powder, so I tried this! I reduced the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. (kiddos)and added 1/4 tsp. white pepper. This Chili powder has great balanced flavor. No need to buy the stores Chili Powder again. Thank you Miller!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      Thanks for this one. I'll never buy a pre-mix again. Ed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I used this recipe in a pinch and had to size the recipe down a Lot as I had only about half a teaspoon of paprika. As a result, I ended up having to estimate quantities a bit but it seems like this recipe is foolproof! It turned out great!! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      I've only used this twice so far but both times the dishes came out fantastic! I used it on BBQ Potatoes and then using the same marinade, used it on grilled chicken. Delicious! Even without any salt whatsoever! The only change I made was to reduce the cayenne pepper to 1/2 tsp. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Thank you! I used 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper and 3/4 tsp ground chipotle pepper for a rich, aromatic blend. It smells devine. Can't wait for my ribs tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      I'm allergic to garlic, and it is impossible to find a chili powder commercially made that does NOT have garlic in it. This recipe opened up my options again! It tastes amazing. Perfect balance of flavor. My husband can't tell the difference between this and regular chili powder so I've stopped buying the store stuff and this is my "go to" when it comes to chili powder! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      My husband decided he wanted some chili and when I went to gather the ingredients, I realized that I was out of chili powder. I'm not a big fan of bought powder anyway because I always have to add something to get the right taste. I found this recipe using google and tried it just as shown. Lo and behold, it was exactly to my taste. Other than some fresh ground black pepper which I would have added anyway, it was perfect. No point in buying it anymore when I already have the ingredients on hand and like this better. Thanks Mille.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Out of Chili powder tonight and this saved me! Good flavour. I actually increased the cayenne, and it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      Thank you! We use this all the time. Makes a great rub! We put it on chicken, pork & beef. Love LOVE the low sodium content.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      Super! And easy! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      I have a chili powder that I love from Penzey's, however, I have a friend who is allergic to garlic which required me to find a homemade chili powder recipe. I used smoked paprika and roasted cumin and, of course, omitted the garlic powder. My chili got rave reviews from my family and our friends :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      I guess you could put this on potatoes or chicken to season, but this is definitely NOT for making chili. Does not taste like chili powder. Don't use this thinking it will make chili. Paprika is not a good substitute for chili powder. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      This is a great substitute of chili powder when we don't have any. Easy to do at the last minute. I like that this is low sodium. Thanks Mille :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

    • on September 22, 2012

      Love making my own spice mixes. We use chili powder all the time at our house. Made for I recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      This was a life saver in a pinch! Thank you for sharing! Update (7-15-12) - it's been some time but this is my absolute GO TO recipe for chili powder. I have found that we are not overly fond of oregano -- and reducing the amount in the recipe made this a perfect match for us! Awesome adaptability!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Like everyone else, I discovered I was out of chili powder and this came to the rescue. I will increase the cayenne a bit next time, because I like it hot! Thanks for saving my night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I have made this several times and it is perfect, it has made all of my recipes that call for chili powder taste even better. Put everything in a little mason jar and give it a shake! Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      Halfway through making a pot of chili I realized I had very little chili powder, so I made your recipe, and voila!--it made great chili. I like the fact that I always have these ingredients on hand, and I will use this from now on. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Can't get chili powder where I live and this works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    31%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites