16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought these were great nuts! I used Chili Seasoning Mix for the seasoning. 1/16 of the recipe made the perfect amount for this recipe. I used walnuts, almonds and peanuts, and I think the walnuts were my favorite. I am going to make another batch of just walnuts. These are very flavorful without being overpowering, you can still taste the good flavor of the nuts! They are easy too. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD February 03, 2008

These were very good and easy to make. Definitely 5 stars. I also did a batch with curry powder and lemon juice. They came out great too. Thanks for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 December 26, 2008

Great spiced nut mix! I used peanuts and cashews for my niut mix. The lime juice toned down the spices I think just enough so the chili mix was noticeable, but not over powering.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme March 01, 2008

I am fond of making spiced nuts as gifts, a nice change of pace from cookies or other baked goods, not to mention they are so easy to prepare. I made these using whole natural almonds and they were a true pleaser. The amount of butter and spicy initially did not seem to be enough for the nuts but on baking, the results were just perfect. Did not have garlic salt, so I used 1/2 garlic powder and 1/2 kosher salt. Topped them after cooking with additional salt. Yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni January 31, 2008

I thought these were wonderful and a great way to use leftover nuts. I had pecans, cashews, macadamias and walnuts, some toasted and some raw. They all seemed to combine nicely although I think the pecans toasted faster than the rest. I liked the butter flavour, the slight tang from the lime and the heat from the chilli seasoning. I stored the nuts in the freezer and can't wait to serve them with some ice-cold beers the next time some friends drop by.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook January 12, 2008

Wonderful flavor and they went so FAST! I, mistakenly, scaled this back, to make 1 cup. I think my friends may enjoy these for the holidays! Yum! They were easy and ready so quickly! I used peanuts and almonds, but you can switch it up to use what you have on hand, as the flavor shines through! Thanks so much for sharing, Boomette!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl December 13, 2010

Oh my! Now you've gone and done it! We could be in trouble with these. These were wonderful and spicy, which we like. I used peanuts, cashews and almonds. I love the taste of the lime in them. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty September 11, 2009

The DH accidently bought salted macadamia nuts so I used those and instead of using garlic salt I used garlic powder, wasn't to sure about chilli seasoning so used chilli powder and wow these a great, think they will be even better after maturing for a day (if they last that long). Thank you Boomette, made for Every Day a Holiday. UPDATE 10 days later WOW we all thought these had so much flavour and definately had the WOW factor definately worthy of more than 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 12, 2009

I was so excited to make this recipe (soooo many left-over holiday nuts) that I tagged it, rushed to the kitchen, and prepared it. It is really good - I only had a mild chili seasoning mix - I wish I had used a spicy one. Very easy to throw together and my husband and I are munching on the nuts as I type this out while they are still warm. Thanks for this recipe! Made for Photo Tag 1/7/09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady January 07, 2009

I used chipotle chili seasoning that went well with the tartness from the nuts. I used a combination of walnuts and pecans and next time I'll use peanuts. These would be perfect for a gift basket! (That is if you can stand to give any away).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog February 06, 2008
Chili Mixed Nuts