32 Reviews

I made this with sugar free syrup, made with splenda, in the crock pot and everyone loved it! I did add a dash of hot pepper flakes. If you wanted to add vegetables to it, carrots, sweet potatoes, or winter squash or pumpkin would be good with the maple syrup. Put veggies on top, and increase the sauce recipe by half.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quainthomesteader March 01, 2010

So delicious and simple! I pulled the chicken out and marinated a couple times during the cooking process and it was amazingly juicy and flavorful. I'll be making this again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindy2112 June 14, 2009

I love finding recipes that can be made with ingredients usually on hand. The family liked this, but we felt it could use a little more zip to the flavor. It is getting added to the rotation, but next time I'll increase the amount of chili powder and maybe add some red pepper flakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gpotts5626 February 24, 2010

I thought this recipe was ok. I marinated it for 24+ hours in the fridge and put it in the crock pot for 8 hours. I will try making it again with more chili powder and adding red pepper flakes. The chicken was tender and juicy, just not very flavorful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleigh12 December 13, 2009

Very easy to make! Although, I did modify the recipe :D I added red pepper flakes and omitted the chili powder for sriracha hot chili sauce mixed in the maple syrup. Very good and has great heat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunnygirl1975 November 14, 2013

I bought a large supply of chicken breasts on sale and used this and two other "dump" recipes to put them in the freezer. Makes for an easy and tasty meat serving at dinner. It cooks quicker when I remember to take the chicken from the freezer in time for it to thaw, but that rarely happens. So, I usually end up baking from frozen and it works just fine. Add mashed potatoes, or rice, and a vegetable and you have a complete meal without too much work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratwoman December 08, 2012

This was one of the better dump chicken OAMC chicken recipes I have done. The meat was tender, juicy and flavorful. Now I can't remember if I added some red pepper flakes (want to say that I did). We really enjoyed this and will make it again! It really made for a quick easy meal tonight and I love that!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 November 30, 2012

This is my second "dump" chicken recipe to try. I love the easy prep and use of just a few pantry ingredients. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Made for the freezer, thawed the night before and baked in the oven. Wasn't sure I would like this flavor combination, but was pleasantly surprised. I sprinkled the breasts with coarse pepper and that gave it an extra little pop. Thanks for posting; would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 16, 2012

This recepie was super easy and surprisingly good. I followed other reviewers advice and added some red pepper flakes. Picky eating family all said it was very good. Everyone liked the sweet and spicy taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefjamieV May 31, 2012

The chili powder my family uses is really spicy so I was a little nervous about putting it in, but I wish I had put more in. The flavours came out really, really mild. I didn't get a really strong hit of chili or of maple. I think next time I will do as other reviewers have mentioned and add more chili powder red pepper flakes. I had this with some cornbread and I think if the flavours had been stronger it could have been excellent - but instead it was very so-so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheltiechick October 29, 2010
Chili Maple Glazed Dump Chicken OAMC