6 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

1/14/08: I've made this recipe a few times now. It's a good chili on it's own...add the mac and it's a meal in a bowl. I added some canned jalepeno peppers this time instead of the bell pepper. It added some nice heat. I also cook only 1 cup of dry noodles for this recipe. Seems to be plenty. Why would anyone make Hamburger Helper when this recipe is so easy and so good! 7/28/05: A really good (and easy) recipe for basic chili mac. It had the perfect amount of heat. I would recommend to others that you buy a good national brand of chili beans for this - I used a store brand and thought my beans tasted bla, but didn't count the recipe down for my mistake. I think next time, with the right beans, it will be perfect. I'm also happy to post Chelgim's first recipe photo (I think). :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am January 15, 2008

5 stars for a quick, inexpensive tasty meal on a weekday night. I made it a bit healthier with ground chicken breast rather than beef and also used whole wheat macaroni. We like spicy, but this was a bit too much heat. Next time, I'll cut back some on the chili powder and cumin. It sure helped to get my water allowance in!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick January 04, 2010

My family loved this recipe! I don't know if the recipe was changed after previous comments, but we made it as written with 1 Tbl chili powder & 1/8 tsp cayenne & it wasn't too spicy for my family's tastes. Thanks for sharing, chelgilm! We'll be using this recipe again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 22, 2009

I gave this recipe 4 stars. My family really liked this recipe. My picky 4 yr & 6 yr old newphews really liked it. My 4 yr old newphew even had seconds. My only complaint was the cayenne pepper it made it a bit to spicy for my likings. I to only cooked 1 cup of elbows and that was plenty. Overall this was so good and we will have this again for sure. Thanks for posting a really good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut February 04, 2009

We really enjoyed this for dinner this evening! A nice change from regular chili mac with the addition of chili beans. Next time I will cut the chili powder in half for the likes of my family. Thanks chelgilm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrimQuilter January 16, 2008

I work for a school district and they make chil mac all the time. My son loves it. I have this a try and it was a hit! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis April 30, 2004
Chili Macaroni