19 Reviews

I was so glad to see this posted here! I believe this recipe was originally published in Cooking Light in an article on healthier school cafeteria food, which grabbed ny attention since if it's kid-friendly, it's probably DH friendly. Quick and easy, and a favorite with us. Add some cornbread and a green salad and dinner is done! The original recipe called for no-salt added tomatoes, corn, tomato paste, tomato sauce, as well as ground round and reduced-fat sharp cheddar. With those changes, this dish is even healthier than shown on the nutrition facts to the left: 7.2 g fat and 420 mg sodium. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 24, 2007

Very good dish! Be sure the macaroni is cooked al dente, or they will come out too soft in the end. I used some of the pasta water for the water called for, doubled the chili powder, and used Rotel for the canned tomatoes. This is one I'll be making again. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. October 06, 2013

This was absolutely delicious! I used cannellini beans, and stirred the grated cheese into the whole mixture right before serving. Easy to make, ingredients on hand; add a salad, and dinner is ready in a jiffy. Thanks, pattikay!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie June 19, 2013

Easy, fast, and tasty. I added a bit of hot sauce and doubled the cheese. Mixed most of the cheese right in and then baked into a casserole with more cheese on top... mmm, cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jess21 November 27, 2011

My 16 year old son cooked this for dinner last night, and we both really enjoyed it. It was easy for him to put together and the flavors blended really well together. He did leave out the green pepper as neither one of us care for green peppers, and reduced the amount of chili powder as the only kind we have on hand is a medium hot variety. We are looking forward to the leftovers for lunch today

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellie in SLO July 16, 2011

This was great! We had this for dinner this evening and we doubled it because my wife didn't think it would make very much. Was she ever wrong! We had a very large stock pot full! Just the right amount of spices. Based on other reviews I cooked the pasta very al dente and it came out perfect. Had with cheesy garlic bread, Will definitely be having this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenDaddy April 17, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe! He had seconds and even took some for lunch at work today. I had some for lunch too and think like many things it's totally better the next day! I did add..oh, two or three more tablespoons of chili powder than the recipe called for, just because I really like the chili taste. Thanks for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina Sue August 05, 2009

This recipe was a hit with my family. I used whole wheat pasta and cooked it for a couple of minutes less than the package indicated. Also, I added 1 tsp Creole Seasoning and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper...as we live in New Orleans and like a bit more spice. Many thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nolacarrolls July 07, 2009

After reading the others experience w/ the noodles being too soft, I decided to try cooking the mac noodles and then adding them in at the very end (after simmering the sauce for 20 mins)...That seemed to do the trick b/c the noodles were perfect. I gave this 4 stars because it was a little bland and I think it needed more spices. Maybe next time I will add an envelope of dry taco seasoning or chili seasoning. All in all this was a good dish and it made 2 nights of dinners for the family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulabelle30 April 15, 2009
Chili Mac (Cooking Light)