Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili Mac (Cooking Light) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili Mac (Cooking Light)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2007

      I was so glad to see this posted here! I believe this recipe was originally published in Cooking Light in an article on healthier school cafeteria food, which grabbed ny attention since if it's kid-friendly, it's probably DH friendly. Quick and easy, and a favorite with us. Add some cornbread and a green salad and dinner is done! The original recipe called for no-salt added tomatoes, corn, tomato paste, tomato sauce, as well as ground round and reduced-fat sharp cheddar. With those changes, this dish is even healthier than shown on the nutrition facts to the left: 7.2 g fat and 420 mg sodium. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Very good dish! Be sure the macaroni is cooked al dente, or they will come out too soft in the end. I used some of the pasta water for the water called for, doubled the chili powder, and used Rotel for the canned tomatoes. This is one I'll be making again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      This was absolutely delicious! I used cannellini beans, and stirred the grated cheese into the whole mixture right before serving. Easy to make, ingredients on hand; add a salad, and dinner is ready in a jiffy. Thanks, pattikay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Easy, fast, and tasty. I added a bit of hot sauce and doubled the cheese. Mixed most of the cheese right in and then baked into a casserole with more cheese on top... mmm, cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      My 16 year old son cooked this for dinner last night, and we both really enjoyed it. It was easy for him to put together and the flavors blended really well together. He did leave out the green pepper as neither one of us care for green peppers, and reduced the amount of chili powder as the only kind we have on hand is a medium hot variety. We are looking forward to the leftovers for lunch today

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      This was great! We had this for dinner this evening and we doubled it because my wife didn't think it would make very much. Was she ever wrong! We had a very large stock pot full! Just the right amount of spices. Based on other reviews I cooked the pasta very al dente and it came out perfect. Had with cheesy garlic bread, Will definitely be having this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

    • on August 05, 2009

      My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe! He had seconds and even took some for lunch at work today. I had some for lunch too and think like many things it's totally better the next day! I did add..oh, two or three more tablespoons of chili powder than the recipe called for, just because I really like the chili taste. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This recipe was a hit with my family. I used whole wheat pasta and cooked it for a couple of minutes less than the package indicated. Also, I added 1 tsp Creole Seasoning and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper...as we live in New Orleans and like a bit more spice. Many thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      After reading the others experience w/ the noodles being too soft, I decided to try cooking the mac noodles and then adding them in at the very end (after simmering the sauce for 20 mins)...That seemed to do the trick b/c the noodles were perfect. I gave this 4 stars because it was a little bland and I think it needed more spices. Maybe next time I will add an envelope of dry taco seasoning or chili seasoning. All in all this was a good dish and it made 2 nights of dinners for the family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      We enjoyed this recipe. Made as is, made a Big batch - plenty of leftovers. I agree with the other poster, the noodles were pretty soft, next time I will add uncooked with a bit more liquid and see how it goes. Will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      DH loves chili mac and had no idea he was eating a lighter version. I used ground round so I didnt have to wipe out the pan. Didnt have an onion so I used dried minced onion. The macaroni was softer than I should have made it and next time I might try adding it uncooked. Used petite diced tomatoes and low fat cheddar cheese to top. Very good pattikay...thank you for postinig!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This is delicious. My DH loves chili mac and this is a great version of it. I love that it is a lighter version but you would never know it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      This was a great filling light dish! Did add more diced tomatoes and used low-fat mozzarella cheese. Thanks pattikay! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      A tasty, easy to make chili variation. Had most of the ingredients already on hand. Followed directions as stated. Served with cornbread. I boiled my macaroni noodles the minimum time stated on the box (6 mins) and after following the rest of the directions, I did find that the noodles were a tad overcooked. Next time, I would initially cook the macaroni even less. Easy and good, would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      This dish is really outstanding! I have the exact same recipe in one of my old 2000 weight watchers cookbooks called "Just like home". There is only 6 points for 1 cup beef mixture and 2 tablespoons cheese. This is quick to prepare and really family friendly. (they won't know that it's low in everything). Throw in a salad and a whole wheat roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Chili lovers should definitely try this recipe. I have to admit that I'm not a huge chili lover, and made this for a cocktail party. But, I ended up having to cancel the party after I started the dish, so I did everything through step 5 and then refrigerated overnight. I simmered enough for one bowl in a pot the next day with a tiny bit of water and then topped it with cheese. It was fine the next day. The rest went into the freezer. I did leave out the green pepper and used cumin seed (all I had) and frozen corn. Next time I would probably try adding a little italian seasoning or oregano, but that's just my personal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This was really good!! The whole family enjoyed it. The only thing I did different was instead of just chopped tomatoes I used rotels tomatoes and green chilies. Exellent!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      This was good but I think I'd like it better without the noodles...but that may be my fault because I tried to make a one-pot-meal out of this by adding 2 cups(too much!) of water with dry noodles into the chili...then I cooked it covered for 20 minutes and had to cook it another 15 to evaporate the liquid...then the noodles were mushy which is what I was trying to avoid because I thought they would be adding them already cooked. I also added a 4oz can of diced mild green chilis, 1 tsp oregano and a dash of cayenne. It's good with sour cream or cottage cheese. I'll try it again some day the right way and re-review. Made for Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili Mac (Cooking Light)

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 332.3
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    32%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 51.6 mg
    17%
    Sodium 770.8 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 22.9 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes