15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good. I didn't use elbow macaroni I used rotelle instead and more than 1 cup. I also only used a 14.5oz can of tomatoes, used chili beans and no tomato paste or chilies. I think it needed a little more salt and a lot more cheese. But, I also love salt and cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY May 07, 2010

Multi-generational winner! Yes, it could be spicier, but this tasted great as written, and can be enjoyed by kids and elderly on medicines as well. This differed from my treasured Chili Mac in a can, but it was BETTER! Please refer to my full-pan photo to see how much room is left of a 9x13 pan. ( If you need more, I recommend doubling the recipe and using a disposable pan (14x11 1/2x2) for a buffet and cook for 30-35 minutes before adding cheese and cooking 10 minutes more.) This has the minimum amount of macaroni for this recipe, so it can be stretched further by using more pasta if desired. One to repeat, and share. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL July 15, 2009

This was a excellent receipe, followed the receipe word for word, came out great!! Will make this receipe again, Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandon P. July 24, 2014

Made this for Zaar Alphabet Soup tag game and DH and I really like this. I did cut it down for the two of us, used more pasta per some reviews, used a can of rotel tomatoes (which I liked the spice of) and used some adzuki beans which I had leftover from cooking them up the other day. Otherwise I followed the recipe. Next time I will add some corn but we really enjoyed this for dinner with a green salad and some french bread. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf February 25, 2013

I doubled this recipe and used two 9 x 13 pans . I skipped the chilis and the tomato paste by seasoning to taste. From kids to adults it was greatly loved and will be made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeautifulHouseLife February 05, 2012

This one was just OK to me, but my husband and daughter really loved it. I added more pasta, beans and chili powder than the recipe called for to add more spice. Next time I will try leaving out the tomato paste for a less tomatoey taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meekocu2 April 18, 2010

added some chili flakes and ground hot pepper to give it some more flavor. and i used 2 cups of pasta. we ate half for dinner last night and i froze the other half. great recipe, very simple and tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlöxölA February 19, 2010

This was a delicious meal. I used 2 cans of rotel tomatos with chils and followed the rest of the recipe. It turned out great. Everyone had seconds and even thirds. Will definiately make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie8373 February 12, 2010

This was really good and really easy. I did not have any tomato paste, so I used tomato sauce instead and I also stirred in a tiny bit of Velveeta that I was trying to use up- the result was a nice & creamy slightly cheesy tasting dish. I did cut the recipe in half, but kept the spices the same and added some red pepper flakes- we really like heat in our food. I will definately make this again, thanks for posting it. We really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly August 19, 2009

Wonderful tasty and filling casserole! I left out the onions as I don't care for them. I had a can of Rotel tomatoes with chilis so used that instead of the can of green chilis, and increased the macaroni by 1/2 cup to compensate for the extra liquid. This casserole was delicious and made a LOT - looking forward to leftovers for lunch - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 07, 2009
Chili Mac Casserole