Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili, Lime & Cumin Cod Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili, Lime & Cumin Cod

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2014

      I used scallops that I had on hand for this recipe, because I was too lazy to go to the store and get cod. I simply seared them in a heated skillet with olive oil after sprinkling the spices on them. Right before serving, I squeezed the juice from a lime over them. Fantastic! I will keep this recipe around and use on other fish as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

      I really liked the taste of the chili powder with the cod. I didn't have my oven available to make this dish so I used a skillet instead and sprinkled the first round of spices on one side and the lime, cumin and "butter" when I turned the filet over. I used a coconut-based butter alternative and only 1 tbsp (or half). The piece of cod was 1.38 lb. so I cut the spices in half, but then found I used almost the full amount specified in the recipe and the full lime to cover the length of the fish. So for a pound and half you need the same portions as 2 lb. (but the butter can still be 1 tbsp.) I used a little cooking spray to coat the pan before cooking.<br/><br/>These flavors worked really great with the cod. I thought it was delicious. Normally without a recipe, fish can come out terrible, but this was just enough for me to wing it with a slightly different preparation and have a fantastic dinner. I will definitely make this again. Very easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      very good. I BBQ the cod. ty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This was excellent! I skipped the butter to cut back on calories and it's awesome! I hate cooking fish because I never know what to do with it, but I'll definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

    • on August 09, 2011

      This was so delicious! My family loves fried fish and rare is it that I can feed them fish without that thick greasy crust and have them like it. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      I didn't rate this because I used tilapia instead of cod, because that's what I had on hand. It was awesomeness! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Very flavorful - I like the combination of spices - next time might add a touch of cayenne to give it a bit more kick. I baked for 7 minutes and didn't think it was done, so I fried it in some of the cumin-lime juice - I think I overcooked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This was fantastic! Quick & simple to make with great flavour. This will definitely become a regular on my dinner table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      The fish was moist and flavourful, even without the sauce, but the sauce complimented it nicely. In fact, I think I'd double the sauce next time. I was a bit heavy handed with the spices, but that's just a personal preference. Yum! Thanks for posting. Made for PAC Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Delicious and it left the fish very moist. Next time, I'll probably add a little more chili powder and lime juice, but I like a lot of flavor. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      I wasnt to sure about how old the chili powder was in the Kitchen so in its place i used a newly opened tin of smoked paprika. What a true delight it was. I won't take anythingaway from the original recipe but i think i may have accidentally found myself a new favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Yum, yum, yum! I loved the flavor of this! I did alter the recipe a bit. I found I had two small cod fillets in my freezer. I sprinkled the chili powder and cumin on them before baking (I just eyeballed the amount). I wanted to cut the calories of the butter, so after this was done cooking, I used a couple of spritzes of spray butter and drizzled the cod with lime juice. I just loved how all the flavors combined. I tried putting fresh cilantro on it, but didn't like it and ended up taking that off. Lovely southwestern flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      The flavors worked together very nicely here. I used frozen cod loins, as Missouri is not exactly known for its wealth of fresh seafood. :) I also eyeballed the chili powder, parsley and salt, and glancing back over the recipe, it occurred to me I was pretty heavy-handed (but typically so :) ). It all came together well, though, and we really enjoyed the simple preparation. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili, Lime & Cumin Cod

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.6
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    27%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 226.0 mg
    75%
    Sodium 951.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 81.4 g
    162%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites