9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wellllll, this chili was TO DIE FOR!!!! Yep, and the shredded cheese and other toppings I slaved over..wasted. Ha! No one wanted to cover up any of the flavor of the chili itself, which is unheard of in my cheese loving family. I made this on Saturday and actually just put it in the slow cooker for the day. Used a little less onion and green pepper because my brother was going to have some with us and also used a can of white kidney beans in place of one can of the red. Then, put it in the fridge and had it ready to reheat for the superbowl last night. It went over really well and I packed some up for a neighbor friend of mine for work today, dad has some for work on Wed. and I'm going to try to freeze some as well. Thanks so very much for the wonderful new recipe that will be used as often as I can find applicable (with a chili-hating mother).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook February 08, 2010

I loved the overall flavor but in my opinion it needed more body to it. I added a can of tomato paste and that made the consistency more thick and rich. I will definitely make this again with the listed variation. **Reviewed as part of PAC Spring 2009**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit_Kat April 10, 2009

I thought this was good but I didn't think it was spicy enough. Next time I make this, I will add the chili powder and cumin after the tomatoes are added. It didn't seem spicey enough with it being added at the beginning. This had a good taste to it though. I followed the recipe as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 19, 2007

I only gave the recipe four stars because I changed some things to it. Instead of 2 Lbs of beef I used one ground turkey and one italian sausage. Everything else I left the same and o-my-god it was great. My husband has handed me the torch on chili makin. Thanks for this awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SamanthaBlei June 29, 2007

We have made this a few times now, and I love it! I have adjusted a few things, like instead of kidney beans I use one can each of black and navy beans (well rinsed). Plus I've doubled the recipe and froze some for later, which was a perfect quick meal when we needed something fast. This chili is delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juniper December 01, 2006

This chili is awesome!!! My nine-year-old daughter just loves it and so do I. Very easy to make yet it tastes like you slaved for hours!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracyleek September 12, 2006

Awesome chili!! I used fresh tomatoes from the garden and added a can of tomato sauce, other than that followed the recipe. The whole family loved it! Makes a big pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 July 31, 2006

Awesome Chili Recipe!!! I added a can of beer as well as a cup of mushrooms (chopped) and celery (chopped) and it was great... Definately one of the best chili's i have had in a long time!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoiSilv3r June 13, 2006

This is a recipe that is very easy to make and tastes wonderful! It is definitely a man's chili - heavy on the meat. My husband loved it. Not for people who prefer more bean-y chili!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kennedyfish May 19, 2006
Chili, Family-Style