Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili, Family-Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili, Family-Style

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2010

      Wellllll, this chili was TO DIE FOR!!!! Yep, and the shredded cheese and other toppings I slaved over..wasted. Ha! No one wanted to cover up any of the flavor of the chili itself, which is unheard of in my cheese loving family. I made this on Saturday and actually just put it in the slow cooker for the day. Used a little less onion and green pepper because my brother was going to have some with us and also used a can of white kidney beans in place of one can of the red. Then, put it in the fridge and had it ready to reheat for the superbowl last night. It went over really well and I packed some up for a neighbor friend of mine for work today, dad has some for work on Wed. and I'm going to try to freeze some as well. Thanks so very much for the wonderful new recipe that will be used as often as I can find applicable (with a chili-hating mother).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      I loved the overall flavor but in my opinion it needed more body to it. I added a can of tomato paste and that made the consistency more thick and rich. I will definitely make this again with the listed variation. **Reviewed as part of PAC Spring 2009**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      I thought this was good but I didn't think it was spicy enough. Next time I make this, I will add the chili powder and cumin after the tomatoes are added. It didn't seem spicey enough with it being added at the beginning. This had a good taste to it though. I followed the recipe as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      I only gave the recipe four stars because I changed some things to it. Instead of 2 Lbs of beef I used one ground turkey and one italian sausage. Everything else I left the same and o-my-god it was great. My husband has handed me the torch on chili makin. Thanks for this awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      We have made this a few times now, and I love it! I have adjusted a few things, like instead of kidney beans I use one can each of black and navy beans (well rinsed). Plus I've doubled the recipe and froze some for later, which was a perfect quick meal when we needed something fast. This chili is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      This chili is awesome!!! My nine-year-old daughter just loves it and so do I. Very easy to make yet it tastes like you slaved for hours!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Awesome chili!! I used fresh tomatoes from the garden and added a can of tomato sauce, other than that followed the recipe. The whole family loved it! Makes a big pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Awesome Chili Recipe!!! I added a can of beer as well as a cup of mushrooms (chopped) and celery (chopped) and it was great... Definately one of the best chili's i have had in a long time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      This is a recipe that is very easy to make and tastes wonderful! It is definitely a man's chili - heavy on the meat. My husband loved it. Not for people who prefer more bean-y chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili, Family-Style

    Serving Size: 1 (513 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.1
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    34%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 73.8 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1235.3 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 31.2 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes