18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My mother made chili dogs once a week while I was growing up as it was an inexpensive and easy meal to feed a family of eight. This is total comfort food for me. I toasted the bun and used red onion and, of course, served with Fritos. Made for Pammy's cookathon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug November 14, 2013

Chili-cheese dogs have always been a pers fave for me. Growing up, it was a family tradition to have them every Sat for lunch & no one missed this meal. Now I live in a country where the most popular restaurant is a hot-dog stand! ... But the C-C dog is not the fave of the genre for Icelanders, so I always bring canned hot dog chili (no beans) back from our US trips to satisfy my appetite. I made 1 chg & 1 addition to your recipe. I added sweet pickle relish & subbed crisp fried onions for the chopped raw onion (an Icelandic idea I favor). Thx for the trip down memory lane & the streets of Iceland. I miss you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis November 13, 2013

You can't go wrong with a good chili dog. I made a quick batch of our favorite chili recipe, Wendy's Chili Clone, and dinner was ready in 30 minutes. Served with a side salad, this was a cheap and easy meal after a long day at work and school. We'll remember you each time we have this good ole' comfort food, Pammy. Made and enjoyed in her honor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** November 12, 2013

Love me an occasional chili cheese dog! Sometimes I make a pan full at a time, in the oven! Hot, toasty, delicious! Gotta have some yellow mustard on it too! The hot dogs and chili still need to be warmed first though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSippigirl April 29, 2014

Love my chili dogs made this way. I did toast the buns and added mustard and a little relish. I also fried the split hot dogs. I used my own Chili Dave's Chili that I had in the freezer. Made in memory of Pammy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 23, 2013

5 stars for an easy and tasty treat. I used the Hormel without beans, too. Yummy, easy and inexpensive dinner. Made in the memory of Pammyowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 20, 2013

Yep, this is the way I have made chili-cheese dogs for years! Makes a quick and inexpensive go to meal. The only thing I do different is add in some mustard. Made in memory of pammyowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 16, 2013

So yummy! I used gluten free chili beans and a gluten free bun, and a kind of sheep's cheese which is similar to cheddar. Soo good. Makes me remember our talk about street and fair food :)<br/>Thanks for the fond memories, dear friend.<br/>Made for the Cookathon in memory of pammyowl November 2013

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany November 16, 2013

I halved the recipe and added the chili powder to taste rather than measuring. By the end of 2 hours +/- this was very good. Almost tasted like sloppy joes, in fact I may use it as such in the future. Thanks for posting. Next time I'll follow the directions better and I'll update my review when I do.UPDATE 11/16/13 I use halfsmok to day and it was great.<br/>Thank You!.. Pam..... Grpa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA November 16, 2013

Wow! Does this bring back memories....but not of college but of high school. Things were a bit "relaxed" at my school and my girlfriends and I went out every day for lunch. Chili-Cheese dogs were a favorite back then. Just wish I could still eat 3 at one sitting and still be skinny...LOL. Delicious indulgence. Made in memory of Pammyowl. We will miss you here at food.com.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 13, 2013
Chili Dogs, College Style!