Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili dog Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili dog Casserole

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2003

      Tastes just like a chili cheese dog! Easier to eat, too! I'd add more onions next time and cheese. Quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      I love hot dogs and canned chili so this casserole was right up my alley. LOVED IT!!! Simple, easy and satisfied my craving. My husband, who is a little impressed with himself, rolled his eyes but once he dug in and started eating, he was won over. Thanks for the recipe, Yooper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      I've made this caserole many, many times and have never been disappointed. I mostly make it during the winter when cooking out hot dogs is not an option. I also grew up in Flint, Michigan home of the original Angelo's coney island hotdog......this casserole taste just like the one's I used to get as a teenager growing up in Flint.....try it. You won't be disappointed.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Good stuff-- thanks for a great meal on a week night! Works just fine with fat free turkey dogs, turkey chilli and reduced fat cheddar though next time I'll put more of the cheese in the layer between the hot dogs and the chilli, seems to melt better that way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      Yooper, I made it exactly as you stated, only I made my chili sauce. It was a very good casserole and I'm not that fond of hotdogs! It was very easy to prepare and I think it can be reheated in a low oven very easily, and still have the good taste. Thankyou! for making my life easier and tastier!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      Yummy!!! Easy and fast to put together, tastes great! I used cheddar-jack cheese because that's what I had on hand, and it was terrific. I enjoyed mine with a couple of pepperoncini peppers on the side. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Family loved this. It was gone 10 minutes after I sat it down. I used two cans of chili, six buns and 10 hot dogs because that's what I had on hand. Came out perfectly!. Topped with sour cream and sided w/chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      I am amazed by how good this was! My husband is hard to please being a "meat & taters" guy, and he loved this!!! I added a little more cheese & onions, but other than that followed the recipe. Thank you yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      I have made this twice now with two variations: In place of the hot dog buns (mine got really soggy the first time and we did not like the texture) I made a very thin cornbread and then broke it up on the bottom of the pan, added a layer of shredded sharp chedder cheese over the top of the broken cornbread, some chopped onion, two cans chili with beans, then a generous layer of sharp chedder over the top. YUM! Kind of like a corndog casserole. The second time I used polish sausages, made some baking powder biscuits and used that with Monterey Jack cheese, onions, chili, and more Monterey Jack cheese over the top. This was a great change and my family loves both variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      I normally like a good chili dog from time to time but I had huge issues with the texture of this. That being said my boyfriend really liked it quite a lot but I don't think I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      My Husband and I loved this recipe !! I cut it down for the two of us using 2 hot dog buns, 3 hot dogs, a can of chili and about 3/4 cup triple cheddar. And we topped it with chopped onions. Delicious !!! Will be making again and again. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Nasty!! The hotdog buns melted and were jelly like....ruined the entire meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I needed to use up the hot dogs and buns in the my fridge, and this fit the bill. It was pretty good, although I didn't break apart the buns and chop up the wieners. That was a good change, as we were able to eat the chili dogs like a regular hot dog, and the bun was perfectly crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      This is so yummy. We served this with additional chopped onions and mustard. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      very good and easy to make, i used 2 cans of chilli, 6 green onion, and 1 lb.colby cheese turned out great. i will make again thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Hugh success at office party! Used 2 cans of chili. Buns stayed soft and didn't get mushy!! Amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      Easy to make and tastes great! I did use 2 cans of chili for mine (one with beans and one without) and I added small amounts of the cheese in between the ingredient layers instead of adding it all onto the top. It wasn't dry and the hot dog buns came out crispy, not soggy. Made for good leftovers, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Made half the recipe and followed the directions except for mustard (personal preference). I used chili no beans and this made an easy and quick lunch. Thanks for posting yooper. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      My family loves this dish. We often put tater tots at the bottom instead of the hot dog buns. Just cook the tots so they are a bit crispy then follow the directions as stated in the recipe. Very good and super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      My husband told me after cooking a steak dinner for him, he would rather have a coney dog. Needless to say I served coney dogs for a week straight. Since then he has LOVED everything I make for dinner. Coney dogs are his favorite so I knew he would love this recipe. This recipe is sooooooo good and easy that I'm sure I'll be making it often. I did half the recipe because its just the 2 of us. I'm taking it to my sisters' this weekend. She is making stuffed cabbage and a few of us don't like cabbage. I did toast the buns first because I didn't want them to become soagy..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili dog Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 448.8
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    55%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 62.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1217.0 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes