8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last night and, unforunately, did not care for it. The taste was fine, but the texture and technique were lacking. First, there is too much cornbread for this small amount of chili. The bread overwhelms the chili. Second, the cornbread batter has no shortening or oil in it, so it cooked up much heavier and denser than cornbread usually is. Third, the bottom cornread layer ended up very leaden in comparison to the top layer, which cooked normally. If I were to try this again, I would use my regular cornbread recipe, make a half-batch, and spread it over the top of the chili, skipping the bottom layer altogether.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikey-Mike December 13, 2009

This was absolutely delicious! Amazing taste with not an extraordinary amount of effort. Both my picky 4 year old and 18 month old loved it, as well as my husband (and me!). And in the grand scheme of things it doesn't seem overly unhealthy, given that there's no butter or oil in the corn bread (which was just fine without it). Already looking forward to the leftovers in my lunch tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skulegirl September 10, 2013

This is a good one meal dish to have for dinner. i added a can of petite tomatoes and an extra can of beans. My family has always been fond of chili and this disappeared quickly. Prepared as a participant in the December 2009 Partying the Diabetic Way Event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook December 22, 2009

Loved it!! We are a cornbread chili loving family, this combines the two. There is one small dish left. When both kids go back for thirds you know you have a keeper. I have already phoned my mom with the recipe, will make a great meal to take out to the field during harvest. Thanks Gerry for a great new supper idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn September 16, 2009

This is delicious! We all love chili and cornbread so why not together! This is a keeper, Thanks Gerry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut January 31, 2009

A recipe that deserves to be in everyone's file box. Ingredients are inexpensive and readily available, it's a snap to put together, and the chili cornbread can be served as a one-dish meal. Did I mention tasty? Of course, that goes without saying...those are the only kind of recipes Gerry posts. This one hit the spot on a cold winter evening, and we thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 17, 2009

I really have a hard time not wanting to add additional corn to something like this, & that's just what I did ~ Added a can of corn kernals to the cornbread, along with the creamed corn! Used very lean ground beef, too, & we had ourselves A GREAT MEAL (Well, a neighbor couple & the 2 of us did, since I shared it with them)! A VERY, VERY NICE CASSEROLE, & a definite keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a PRESSIE in the Aus/NZ 12 Days of Christmas Recipe Swap]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 13, 2008

So what could be better than chili or cornbread? Well that would be chili and cornbread in one casserole. This recipe is so deserving of 5 huge stars. We loved this dish and it would be great for a potluck. A dish I look forward to making for guests. Made exactly as posted , no changes needed. Another winner Gerry. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 December 03, 2008
Chili Cornbread Bake