Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili Con Carne With Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili Con Carne With Beans

    Average Rating:

    291 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 291

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2012

      This was ok. We ate it and liked it well enough but I was looking for a more exciting recipe than the one I currently use and this wasn't it. I made exactly as directed but with two squares of dark chocolate, 2tsp of sugar and a dash of cinnamon. I don't know what it was but it just didn't excite us and, because our usual recipe takes 30mins on the hob rather than 2hrs, it just didn't seem worthwhile time-wise either, sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Loved this! Used 1 lb meat, 1/2 onion and elbow macaroni (all just personal preference). thought it was great. Also put some in the freezer for later.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Great Chili. I do add the extra teaspoon of chili(3 total) and a large jalapeno.We like it spicy. I don't add the beer.....not needed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This is the chili recipe I always use. I've been using this for about 2 years now. One change I make is that I use 3 pounds of hamburger and double all other ingredients for a crowd. I also use one can of chili beans and one can of dark red kidney beans. Everyone in our family loves it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      This is the best chili I have ever made....I will never buy the seasoning packs again to make chili.....I added a little extra water and 2 TBL brn sugar and a little extra chili powder.......I would give it 10 stars if I could......THANK YOU for posting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      I only used a little over 1 lb of drained hamburger (was I supposed to drain it?), half an onion, and NO BEANS!, but kept all the other proportions the same. I can't imagine it being saucy enough with two whole lbs (mine is great with barely enough sauce to soak up some crackers/chips), and I added a cup of beef broth! Regardless, EASY and TASTY (based on my in-action-cooking-bites)! I've let it sit overnight, and I'm confident it'll taste even better tonight after sitting. Thanks! (Freezes/thaws well and is EXCELLENT in Florida Scott's Creamy Cheesy Chili Potato Casserole #29749. I INSIST you try the two together!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      Meaty and delicious. Because I was serving a group and wanted leftovers, I added one jar Chi-Chi's Mild Salsa, two extra cans of beans: one kidney(drained) and one pinto, plus one extra tsp. cumin and one and a half extra chili powder. Everybody had seconds and there was hardly anything leftover. This recipe is a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2014

      This is my go-to recipe for Chili and has been for the past few years. I sometimes substitute ground bison and have made it with or without the tomatoes with chilis depending on what I have on hand. I also typically use a can of fire roasted diced or crushed tomatoes which gives it a great flavor. I also rarely have time to let it simmer for 2 hours and it is still great even after only 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2014

      I've been making chili the same ole way for 50 years and since I decided everyday to try a new recipe, this was my first adventure. It was OUT OF THIS WORLD. Like some of the other reviewers, I don't like chili to end up tasting of too much tomato so cut back on some of the sauce and paste, but added the beer and chilis, couldn't be happier. Husband taking left overs to hunting camp next week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      I love chili with lots of beans. We thought it needed more spice, so doubled the spice and seasoning amounts and it was just right for out taste. Served with shredded cheddar on top. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      We love a few different chili recipes and even one packet that we buy but this one is one of the top 3 chili's I have ever made! Looking forward to fall and another batch although we have made it in the summer and used as a dip. Only thin I have ever changed is dropping the beer and adding a can of rotel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      Wonderful flavor and timings. I did a half batch and it worked out well. I've made this a few times now and usually just alter the spices to whoever I'm serving. This time I added 2 stalks of celery. I think that was the right choice. Hubby says to continue adding celery, too. So if its on hand, it'll now be my extra ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      I made this for a family supper and my 3 teenagers *inhaled* it. I was lucky to get a bowl! I added a cup of frozen corn and 1 fresh chopped green pepper. When I bought my ingredients, I looked at the recipe wrong and bought two 7 oz cans of chopped green chilies and plain diced tomatoes, instead of diced tomatoes with green chilies. It's delicious topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and crumbled tortilla chips. Next time I will have to double the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      This is my go-to chili recipe, with a few additions. I add a couple chopped bell peppers and sometimes carrots and corn if I'm feeling like it, and always at least double the spices. I either use the beer or instead use a shot of bourbon and a teaspoon of cocoa powder... both variations are delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I have made many chili styles. My favorite cost too much due to ingredients and take literally all day. This chili has become a recent favorite due to the combination of the result and time it takes to make. It's a great start for accenting with favorite ingredients. I put in a little additional onion, garlic, and couple of extra spices usually. Easy to bend for different chili guests too. Suggestion: use liebers chili beans. Compliments the rest if ingredients. I used by mistake but came out super awesome. Thanks food.com!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      I made this the night before to let the flavors marry, added some water when reheated. I was great tasting with sour cream, chips, and cheese. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      WONDERFUL! My fiance said the best chili he has ever had! Love it. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Delicious. I'm going to add a touch of liquid smoke next time, as well as strain some of the fluid out of the canned ingredients (it was a bit too thin). No doubt, it will be even better tomorrow!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

    • on November 03, 2013

      This made a great dinner for us on a cool fall night. We added a green pepper because we love green peppers in our chili. Made for Name that Ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili Con Carne With Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.4
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    34%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 102.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1718.4 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 44.2 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes