292 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was great. It was my first time making Chili and I made a few changes. I used venison instead of beef and I added some bell pepper (2) and some fresh jalapeno's (6) and it was awesome!!!!

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bowhuntr October 09, 2001

This chili is absolutely great! And so easy to make. The only thing I added was some diced green pepper,and some chopped green chilies,just because my husband and I like them. Even my daughter scarfed it down,and she normally turns up her nose when she hears there's chili for supper. It has a wonderful flavor...tell your father-in-law "Bravo!" (Today I'm sending some of the leftovers with my Dad to try...)

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP December 10, 2002

We made this recipe and had nothing but raving reviews. We did add some fresh chopped jalappeanos peppers and ground chili peppers to give it more of a bite. The group we made it for have requested the recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geocasper November 06, 2001

easy to make..and the taste and aroma out of this world....

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann hugo August 31, 2001

I made this for my DH and he loved it. Next time I will only use one can of tomato sauce (too much tomato flavor for us). I also added bell peppers & about 2 cups of water. This is a keeper!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SherryG February 24, 2003

Everyone has thier own idea of how chili should taste and adds what they think it needs. This recipe is a great place to start. I added smoke flavoring. Tasted great!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenkins February 14, 2002

It is so easy my 13 year old daughter made it. When she made it we agreed that it needs more chili power. It also seems kind of sour or tart so she added some brown sugar to give it a little something extra! Over all it is a great recipe!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deanna post January 03, 2002

This was great. I got my chili-hating husband to eat two bowls! I did add more chili powder and a touch of cayenne pepper though. It needed a little more spice to suit me. It was wonderful!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 April 03, 2002

This is my go-to chili recipe. I usually double everything except the meat, adding extra beans instead (personal preference) and add a little chopped green pepper and a little extra chili powder. Thanks so much for the recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy~ February 14, 2010

I think the best Chili I've ever had. Even better than my mothers. The only thing I did differently was to use a quart of kidney beans, and a tablespoon of Worcestershire.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney September 26, 2006
Chili Con Carne With Beans