29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family and I thought this was a good basic chili. I've never used fresh tomatoes in chili (usually use canned) and that lended a freshness to the flavor. I drained the bean liquid because I don't really care for it. I also didn't add water because we like chili to be very thick and chunky. This was seasoned well but fairly mild with regard to heat. I would probably add a couple of chopped jalapenos next time. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 29, 2007

I made this chili and took it to a local chili cook off in middle Georgia today..I won 2nd place out of 15 entrees..I did add extra chili powder and cumin and used ground chuck..It was wonderful..I only had a small bowlful left out of a large crock pot full. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CCKelly February 10, 2007

I LOVE this recipe! I lost it once and I didn't stop looking for it until I found it! I took one of the suggestions from one of the comments in using Beef Broth instead of water. I make it at home and the family love it! I made it for a pot luck at work and they loved it aswell! Great Recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MNMom21 November 01, 2006

I doubled this recipe and simmered it all day. Everyone really liked it and it wasn't too spicy for the kids. My husband and I might have prefered a bit more spice, but that could be easily adjusted. I will definitley be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamabear October 21, 2006

This is our favorite chili recipe. I found it about a year ago, but sadly I'm way behind on my recipe reviews. This is an incredible amount of chili so we always freeze some. I've also made this for a new mom to keep in her freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J Wa June 04, 2006

Really good chili. This will be my recipe from now on. Thank you 1

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Florida March 03, 2006

I loved this chili as did my husband who had been houding me for weeks to make chili. I served it with extra diced onion, cheese & non fat sour cream as garnishes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annroberts54 February 06, 2006

Made this for dinner last night and my DH loved it! Instead of ground beef I had some venicin that I had to use up and had to find something to cover up the gamey taste and this did it! I loved it! Great chili flavor but not too spicy so my kids could and did eat it! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChantelleWilliams January 30, 2006

this was the best chili i have ever eaten!! hands down. thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icetea December 26, 2005

Very good! I didn't put the green peppers in but used bell pepper instead. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper for a slight kick. We really enjoyed this and I will be making again. The only problem is that I wound up with a huge pot of chili for two people but we don't mind eating this for left overs tommorow. Thanks for the great and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepper Monkey November 19, 2005
Chili Con Carne With Beans