Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili Con Carne With Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili Con Carne With Beans

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2002

      Good, but fairly spicy for me!!! Has lots of good chili flavor though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Excellent chili recipe, although the 5 minute prep is more like 35. Also, this makes a LOT of chili. I could barely fit all of this in my pot. My variations include the following:

      1) Use extra lean ground beef and do NOT drain the fat
      2) Get rid of the yucky canned beans liquid
      3) Use a 29 oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce
      4) Use 2 cups of Trader Joes beef bouillon instead of water
      5) Skip the salt altogether
      6) Use 1 Jalapeno instead of 2 green chilis
      7) Add 2 green peppers chopped, 4 cloves of garlic, and 1 pound sliced sweet sausage (browned first to facilitate cutting)
      8) After browning the meats and cooking the vegetables, I transferred everything into a slow cooker for 3 hours of more uniform cooking on high.

      It was delicious -- definitely not too spicy for my wife's delicate palette. For me, I added hot sauce in my separate bowl. Enjoy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      By far one of the best child's that I have eaten. I added a can of drained corn at the end and drained the bean juice. My kids and husband loved it. Made cornbread along with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      I love this recipe!! I have made it at least 20 times and shared it with many people. I have yet to have anyone not love it. My only change, is that I use canned tomatoes with the liquid instead of tomato sauce and fresh tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Really good but a little spicy for me! I halved all the spices. Another time I halved the chili powder and subbed curry powder for cumin. It was a nice, sweeter spice. I added mushrooms and left out the peppers and celery. Yum! Best thing is, it's impossible to screw up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Easy to make and tastes great. Use less water and it'll be done even faster. (though the slow cook is good for the beans)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      superb recipe. So easy and tastes brilliant :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Delicious, easy, economical, and makes a whole lot. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I like to have leftovers to use on busy nights. I work full time and go to school, so this recipe is a hit for me and my crazy schedule. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      it was great chili i also added i clove garlic 1 med bell pepper and some celery and every one loved it ty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      With all that turkey leftovers we used the turkey instead of ground beef. We didn't add the 2 cups of water and I only used 1/2 the liquid from the kidney beans and pinto beans. I made cornbread using this Corn Muffin recipe http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Best-Ever-Corn-Muffins/Detail.aspx and my three men loved the meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      My family and I thought this was a good basic chili. I've never used fresh tomatoes in chili (usually use canned) and that lended a freshness to the flavor. I drained the bean liquid because I don't really care for it. I also didn't add water because we like chili to be very thick and chunky. This was seasoned well but fairly mild with regard to heat. I would probably add a couple of chopped jalapenos next time. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      I made this chili and took it to a local chili cook off in middle Georgia today..I won 2nd place out of 15 entrees..I did add extra chili powder and cumin and used ground chuck..It was wonderful..I only had a small bowlful left out of a large crock pot full. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      I LOVE this recipe! I lost it once and I didn't stop looking for it until I found it! I took one of the suggestions from one of the comments in using Beef Broth instead of water. I make it at home and the family love it! I made it for a pot luck at work and they loved it aswell! Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      I doubled this recipe and simmered it all day. Everyone really liked it and it wasn't too spicy for the kids. My husband and I might have prefered a bit more spice, but that could be easily adjusted. I will definitley be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      This is our favorite chili recipe. I found it about a year ago, but sadly I'm way behind on my recipe reviews. This is an incredible amount of chili so we always freeze some. I've also made this for a new mom to keep in her freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      Really good chili. This will be my recipe from now on. Thank you 1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      I loved this chili as did my husband who had been houding me for weeks to make chili. I served it with extra diced onion, cheese & non fat sour cream as garnishes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Made this for dinner last night and my DH loved it! Instead of ground beef I had some venicin that I had to use up and had to find something to cover up the gamey taste and this did it! I loved it! Great chili flavor but not too spicy so my kids could and did eat it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      this was the best chili i have ever eaten!! hands down. thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2005

      Very good! I didn't put the green peppers in but used bell pepper instead. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper for a slight kick. We really enjoyed this and I will be making again. The only problem is that I wound up with a huge pot of chili for two people but we don't mind eating this for left overs tommorow. Thanks for the great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili Con Carne With Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.8
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    32%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 61.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1251.0 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 14.7 g
    58%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes