17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great chili! I was a little more generous with the spices, especially the chili powder. We like things hot! And my husband will like the lack of beans which I usually add to my chili. I like them, but he doesn't. Thanks for posting this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Kasper November 06, 2003

Absolutely ouststanding! I'm Australian so of course I added beans (we couldn't imagine a chilli con carne without them!) and used Lennie's Essence recipe as you can't get this spice mix over here. I cooked this for around 1 1/2 hours to get the consistancy we like and have already made it twice. I left out the salt as it didn't need it for our tastes. Thanks so much for this excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny July 12, 2010

Hard to know if this is the correct rating because I made it with veggie granules, tofu, and kidney beans and didn't have Emeril's Essence. Tasted great :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vinita January 30, 2012

Fabulous! I usually search & try recipes until I find the best version, and my search was over the minute I tasted this one. Even my friends who claim not to like chili like this recipe. I add one can of drained, rinsed kidney beans to the mix and think it is perfect. Also, it is just the right blend of spices and heat. I didn't change a thing on the recipe requirements. Love it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffjs December 06, 2010

I have been using this recipe for years now i just love Emril. The only things i do differently is I add kidney beans, and I use stew steak. I also put everything in the crock pot for 6-8 hours on low and it is pefect everytime. i love to serve it in a bread bowl with a little cheddar cheese on top. It also freezes well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. July 16, 2009

I did this as directed and just added 12 oz. of chili beans. Transferred to crockpot and put on low all day. Topped with shredded taco cheese. Was delicious and will definitely be a regular. My other favorite chili recipe has beer in it and I wanted one that didn't call for that. thanks!!!! update: my kids favorite. can heat up with tabasco/hot sauce as desired. LOVE IT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellyko December 29, 2008

I was a bit hesitant to use Essence of Emeril in a chili dish, but it imparted a very nice flavor (because of the high salt content in Emeril's seasoning, I omitted the 1/2 tsp salt). This makes a great chili base, and lends itself well to personal tweaking. Thanks so much, Elmolvsu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers October 18, 2007

Yummy! Made this for dinner tonight and was a big hit with everyone! Only thing I would change would be to use a little less water next time as we prefer our sauce a little thicker but that is just a personal preference. Served with spanish rice, yum! Will definitely be making this again soon, thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dagac4 August 14, 2007

I got this recipe from FoodTV.com and made it with Emeril's Chile Con Queso ( Emeril ) (didn't care for that)... this chili is a total keeper which went right into my "Encore" cookbook! Like LizP, I used coarsely ground chili beef. Also used red bell pepper (had it on hand) and topped with Chili con Queso served with Easy Homemade Tortilla Chips. The chili has the perfect level of heat (for us) from the tablespoon of Emeril's Essence; not too much. And like cfletcher, my husband also had three bowls! ~lol~ Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) December 31, 2006

Three words for this chili.....FAB U LOUS ! Run to your grocery store and buy all the ingredients......and make this as fast as you can! It was so easy to put together....definitely outshines my old chili recipe! I didn't have Emeril's essence but that didn't seem to matter as I added a tsp. of Texmex powder instead. I like a thicker chili so I did add a cup of red wine instead of the 2 cups of water. WOW ! Hubby had 3 bowls! Have to make this again soon....but I'm making the Emeril essence first to add to this winner ! Thanks so much.....loved it !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher May 12, 2006
Chili con Carne