Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili con Carne Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili con Carne

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2003

      Great chili! I was a little more generous with the spices, especially the chili powder. We like things hot! And my husband will like the lack of beans which I usually add to my chili. I like them, but he doesn't. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Absolutely ouststanding! I'm Australian so of course I added beans (we couldn't imagine a chilli con carne without them!) and used Lennie's Essence recipe as you can't get this spice mix over here. I cooked this for around 1 1/2 hours to get the consistancy we like and have already made it twice. I left out the salt as it didn't need it for our tastes. Thanks so much for this excellent recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Hard to know if this is the correct rating because I made it with veggie granules, tofu, and kidney beans and didn't have Emeril's Essence. Tasted great :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Fabulous! I usually search & try recipes until I find the best version, and my search was over the minute I tasted this one. Even my friends who claim not to like chili like this recipe. I add one can of drained, rinsed kidney beans to the mix and think it is perfect. Also, it is just the right blend of spices and heat. I didn't change a thing on the recipe requirements. Love it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I have been using this recipe for years now i just love Emril. The only things i do differently is I add kidney beans, and I use stew steak. I also put everything in the crock pot for 6-8 hours on low and it is pefect everytime. i love to serve it in a bread bowl with a little cheddar cheese on top. It also freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I did this as directed and just added 12 oz. of chili beans. Transferred to crockpot and put on low all day. Topped with shredded taco cheese. Was delicious and will definitely be a regular. My other favorite chili recipe has beer in it and I wanted one that didn't call for that. thanks!!!! update: my kids favorite. can heat up with tabasco/hot sauce as desired. LOVE IT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      I was a bit hesitant to use Essence of Emeril in a chili dish, but it imparted a very nice flavor (because of the high salt content in Emeril's seasoning, I omitted the 1/2 tsp salt). This makes a great chili base, and lends itself well to personal tweaking. Thanks so much, Elmolvsu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Yummy! Made this for dinner tonight and was a big hit with everyone! Only thing I would change would be to use a little less water next time as we prefer our sauce a little thicker but that is just a personal preference. Served with spanish rice, yum! Will definitely be making this again soon, thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I got this recipe from FoodTV.com and made it with Emeril's Chile Con Queso ( Emeril ) (didn't care for that)... this chili is a total keeper which went right into my "Encore" cookbook! Like LizP, I used coarsely ground chili beef. Also used red bell pepper (had it on hand) and topped with Chili con Queso served with Easy Homemade Tortilla Chips. The chili has the perfect level of heat (for us) from the tablespoon of Emeril's Essence; not too much. And like cfletcher, my husband also had three bowls! ~lol~ Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      Three words for this chili.....FAB U LOUS ! Run to your grocery store and buy all the ingredients......and make this as fast as you can! It was so easy to put together....definitely outshines my old chili recipe! I didn't have Emeril's essence but that didn't seem to matter as I added a tsp. of Texmex powder instead. I like a thicker chili so I did add a cup of red wine instead of the 2 cups of water. WOW ! Hubby had 3 bowls! Have to make this again soon....but I'm making the Emeril essence first to add to this winner ! Thanks so much.....loved it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      Excellent, cheap, easy meal with ingredients that I had on hand. I also added a tin of beans at the end of cooking but only to make it go further. Ended up cooking longer, in fact I let it simmer covered on the stove all afternoon taking the lid off for the last 1/2 hour. Smells amazing. Used Lennie's recipe 14372 for the Essence of Emeril. Served with cheese, corn chips and sour cream. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      I made this last night for dinner. I have to admit I added beans too and did not have green pepper on hand. It was very good and I have no leftovers which is always a good sign :)I served it with tortilla chips, sour cream and cheese. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      This was the perfect no bean chili! Turned out a bit too runny for my taste (just another excuse to use more tortilla chips), so those who prefer a chunky and thick chili may want to fill up the pot with the meat and veggies (including tomatoes) all the way to the top before adding water to adjust the consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      Super stuff!! thank you p.s. we added beans

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      So easy and SO GOOD! I used YELLOW as well as green peppers and it made the whole dish look much nicer, very colourful! I just used the good old canned chopped tomatos and I found I didn't need to add any water, it was already quite liquid. I added beans, and I didn't add any sugar, don't like eating too much sugar and it was fine and very tastey without it! I served it over rice and it was a great success with my husband as well. Alhamdoulillah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      This was very good! I have to admit I added beans....we prefer chili that way. We also used Chili Meat in placeof ground beef. Chili meat is a coarser grind of beef. I had never heard of it until we moved to Texas. If you can get it or have your butcher grind it for you, do it! It makes MUCH better chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2004

      This was a definate 5 star meal before I added the beans (I'm Australian, so I don't know better)! I can't imagine it without beans (a good source of fibre and almost a vegie in our house) but I did taste it beforehand. We ate this with salsa, sour cream, guacomale and grated cheese as extras. And I made my own Essence of Emeril from a recipe of Lennie's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Cheese Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili con Carne

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.5
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    57%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 89.1 mg
    29%
    Sodium 666.6 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Emeril's Original Essence

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes