10 Reviews

Wasn't sure if I would like the combination, but knew I liked chili, cheese and sourdough bread so had to give it a try!! Loved it!! I buttered the sourdough bread and then grilled it on both sides and then followed as directed. I didn't have red onion, so subbed yellow onion and then topped with green onion. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Definitely will make this again. Made for "For Your Consideration" tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 March 09, 2015

Loved this easy and very tasty version of sloppy joes. I added a bit of cumin and paprika, added petite diced tomatoes, and a can of mild chili beans. Adore sourdough bread so this was a winner with me and DH loved everything! Made and reviewed for the 2014 Culinary Quest - Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 26, 2014

We loved this quick and easy version of a chili-size. I doubled the recipe and added some cumin and extra cilantro. I served this over toasted sourdough garlic bread with lots of onions and cheese...yum! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. **Made for Culinary Quest - Suitcase Gourmets**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill September 08, 2014

My hubby couldn't stop eating this. I did make some changes to suit our tastes and ingredients that I had on hand, though. I used a full pound of ground beef, and increased the seasoning and used a full can of tomatoes. Actually, my tomatoes were fire roasted, and as we don't care for "chunks" were blended into puree (and not drained) prior to adding to the browned meat mixture. I did increase the amount of chili powder, add more garlic, and a good shake of our favorite steak seasoning just for a little kick. I skipped the fresh cilantro, and served with the cheese on toasted hamburger buns (just because that is what we had on hand...I do think the sour dough would make it that much better). The flavor of this dish is excellent and would be great over pasta, as another reviewer suggested. We will make this quick and easy meal again. This time, we served it with oven roasted zucchini, but a simple tossed salad would have been good, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. May 27, 2008

This was a great weeknight meal!! Changed a few things - served it on pasta instead of bread - added about 20 ounces of diced tomatoes and used some fresh Parmesan instead of cheddar cheese. Thanks MarraMamba! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie April 02, 2008

Quick and easy! I used 1lb of meat, left the beans as is, and used all of a 15oz can of drained, diced tomatoes and cut back on the onions a bit. It was very tasty on crusty sourdough bread. Nice for a busy night when you don't want to think too hard about dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW December 28, 2007

I really liked this but the rest of the family didn't care for it much. Hubby didn't think they had enough flavor. The kids thought it was weird that there wasn't two pieces of bread :) I did follow the recipe as written except I used regular onions as I didn't have red onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 16, 2007

I loved this. This was great on a cold wet early lunch. I 2x the ground beef and cut 1/2 onions, my daughter can tolerate a few onions but would hate this many. I was worried about cilantro being too strong but blended in great. Thanks for a great recipe. Made for Newest tag 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn November 28, 2007

These were really good and really easy! I made just as directed and we really enjoyed this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof November 27, 2007

I made this for my guys tonight and they loved it. Each gave it 5 stars with no hesitation. It's certainly easy to make and quick to boot. I had a can on mixed kidney and pinto beans and I used that and crushed tomatoes in puree because I was out of diced. Thanks Marra for something that I can toss together easily and that will please them. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 17, 2007
Chili-Cheese Sloppy Joes