22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This tasted so good to me. I have had something real similar to this at a lodge we go to in southern Missouri. I did as you suggested and served this hot over tortilla chips. I only used 1 finely chopped jalapeno and it was spicy but did not hurt us. I used about 1 1/2 cups of cheese because we like it so much. Thanks for a great hearty recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop October 02, 2002

I made this for dinner last night. My family loved it. The seasonings were wonderful. I only used small amount of chopped jalapeno pepper and it was just right. Thanks for the great recipe. We will have this often.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust May 07, 2002

Very good - SO immediately asked for this to be put on the recipes-to-make-again list. :-) I only used 1/2 of the chicken broth though, as I wanted a drier stew-type thingy this time, and was out of jalapenos (shocking, they're a staple in this house) so threw in some red pepper flakes instead. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee June 19, 2013

I made this in my crockpot, at first it was a little thin so I thickened with cornstarch and water. It was SO good! Garnished with a little fresh squeeze of lime, cilantro, pepper jack cheese, advocado and sour cream. It was an absolute HIT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cottoniy74 February 17, 2014

This was awesome. I made it in a crock pot and used pepper jack cheese instead of monterey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabrinajosh March 13, 2013

I've been using this recipe for at least a year now. It is one of our go-to meals. REALLY good. I follow the instructions pretty exactly and add a little extra red pepper for some heat. It's fun to eat it with tortilla chips too :) Thank you for this recipe! I will be making it for the rest of my life :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chemekristen February 12, 2013

I made this for a Christmas potluck at work and it couldnt have gone over any better! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe - wish I could have claimed it as mine! I did make a couple of modifications - since I made this for 20 the recipe conversion wanted 10 tsp of cumin - ahh a bit much I opted for about 6 and that was right on. I also chose to not include the green chilis and jalepenos but instead did poblano peppers (roasted, skinned, deseeded and chopped). This is a definate repeat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SophiesMomChristine December 20, 2011

I can't believe there aren't more wonderful reviews of this recipe! I love it, it's a staple and often asked for dinner on our list! I use homemade broth most of the time, and never seem to have left over chicken for it, so I make chicken just for the chili. We cut down the heat, but still leave a nice kick! Goes great with a slice of rustic bread on the side. We take it up deer hunting, it is a nice way to warm up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trennarene August 18, 2011

This was a big hit at our house and a nice change to regular chili. Definitely will make again. I made it just as stated and wouldn't change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 January 06, 2010
Chili Blanco