Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili and Beer-Braised Catfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili and Beer-Braised Catfish

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2013

      excellent and simple to make. a little spicy for me but maybe because I only used it for 2 filets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Big hit with my family. I used Rotel instead of the tomatoes and tobasco, as other readers suggested. Also I kept the catfish fillets whole instead of cutting them up. It turned out beautifully. I think the leftovers will be even better, as the fish will soak up even more of the flavor of the simmering sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I wasn't a big fan of this. The fish ended up pretty mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This is my first review ever and I'm making it because this dish was fantastic! I used Blue Moon Summer Ale and instead of Tabasco I used Cholula. I served it over some multigrain rice. The beer enhanced the flavor and everything tasted perfect! I highly recommend this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I don't want to rate this because I made a few adjustments with what we had on hand... I used tilapia because the grocery store was out of catfish (imagine that!) and Heineken because my husband forgot to save a Tsingtao, which I had bought specifically for this recipe (he thought differently...). The beer flavor never mellowed or cooked through as I had hoped, probably because I used a stronger beer than Sol (which I LOVE but can't find here in Miami, go figure). The tilapia didn't stand up well to the sharp beer flavor, which was pretty overwhelming. I added celery and would have added green pepper had I had any in the fridge. I will try this again with a few adjustments. The spice was great, but I would suggest sticking with the fish & beer recommended here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      There was definitely something missing from this recipe. It seems like a recipe with plenty of potential, but made as written, isn´t that flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      It was ok. Just did not care for the taste! Maybe it's just me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      I made this last night and really enjoyed it! The broth was yummy:) I added a whole onion and that was my only adjustment. Thanks for a different but easy way to cook catfish:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      This was really great. Lot's of flavor and the fish comes out so tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      This was a very different way to prepare fish for me. I used cod since catfish isn't kosher. I liked the flavour quite a bit, but make sure to heed the warning to use a light beer. I didn't, and the beer flavour was a bit over powering. I like that this is a healthy alternative to fried fish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      This stuff was awesome. I added a little bit of butter to the broth to make it a little more richer. This stuff gets better the next day after all the seasonings have settled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      Very good. I was making this around dinner time for my DH's lunch for the next day. My eldest DS was commenting how good it smelled, he 'thinks' he hates fish. So I decided to give it to them for supper. He was inhaling it, after he was all done my DH could not wait to tell him that it was catfish, he said he thought the chicken tasted funny, but he thought it was the sauce! I added a can of black beans and stirred in leftover brown rice #56242. For the mexican beer I used Dos Equis. Thank You EdsGirlAngie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      Outstanding fish recipe. This was so delicious that there was no leftover. Try the sauce with rice or some white bread - fantastic. I made only one change: I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, because I had them at hand. I used the chili powder Chili Powder for this recipe and it works very well. Just follow the recipe as described here and you will sure have a fish recipe to turn fish hater into fish lover. Thank you for sharing this incredible recipe. I will do it from now on as often as possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      This got great reviews from the whole family! I served it with rice, as several other reviewers suggested. We will be sure to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      Fantastic I really liked this. I actually followed the recipe but increased the chili powder a smidge. The tomato/onion mixture was great, all by its self but would have been good over rice also. Thanks for an tasty, easy to make recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      We fixed this for supper last night and were delighted with the results! Quite honestly, we were skeptical of the beer, but in the end couldn't even tell it was beer we added- it just tasted like a delicious broth! Very healthy, too, because of hardly any fat. We served this over noodles but I think rice would have been better. Thanks for an easy, delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2004

      Fantasticly delicious! I used a Kolsh Ale which is simular to a lager. The hot sauce I used was Tapatio. Other than that I actually followed the recipe. I couldn't think of any improvements I could make.It was truely wonderful! My thanx for posting this recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      VERY good. I used the extra hot rotel instead of the diced tomatoes. Since that was going to make it hot, I didn't use the tabasco. My husband even liked it and he doesn't like catfish at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      Really liked this. As I was cooking it, I wasn't too sure, but one taste and I was hooked. Especially good was the tomato/onion mixture which lent a nice zest with each bite. Served it with tomato herb rice mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      This dish was just awesome! I don't give out many 5-star ratings, but this certainly deserved it. Very easy to make. I served it with some cajun dirty rice and they went well together. Lots of flavor!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili and Beer-Braised Catfish

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.8
     
    Calories from Fat 285
    49%
    Total Fat 31.7 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 106.4 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1388.1 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    45%
    Protein 38.6 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes