21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

excellent and simple to make. a little spicy for me but maybe because I only used it for 2 filets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rwhiteman March 03, 2013

Big hit with my family. I used Rotel instead of the tomatoes and tobasco, as other readers suggested. Also I kept the catfish fillets whole instead of cutting them up. It turned out beautifully. I think the leftovers will be even better, as the fish will soak up even more of the flavor of the simmering sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crisci June 14, 2010

I wasn't a big fan of this. The fish ended up pretty mushy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC May 10, 2010

This is my first review ever and I'm making it because this dish was fantastic! I used Blue Moon Summer Ale and instead of Tabasco I used Cholula. I served it over some multigrain rice. The beer enhanced the flavor and everything tasted perfect! I highly recommend this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helix52 April 30, 2009

I don't want to rate this because I made a few adjustments with what we had on hand... I used tilapia because the grocery store was out of catfish (imagine that!) and Heineken because my husband forgot to save a Tsingtao, which I had bought specifically for this recipe (he thought differently...). The beer flavor never mellowed or cooked through as I had hoped, probably because I used a stronger beer than Sol (which I LOVE but can't find here in Miami, go figure). The tilapia didn't stand up well to the sharp beer flavor, which was pretty overwhelming. I added celery and would have added green pepper had I had any in the fridge. I will try this again with a few adjustments. The spice was great, but I would suggest sticking with the fish & beer recommended here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
groovyrooby February 07, 2008

There was definitely something missing from this recipe. It seems like a recipe with plenty of potential, but made as written, isn´t that flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlyn2 March 12, 2007

It was ok. Just did not care for the taste! Maybe it's just me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mudpie October 15, 2006

I made this last night and really enjoyed it! The broth was yummy:) I added a whole onion and that was my only adjustment. Thanks for a different but easy way to cook catfish:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 April 13, 2006

This was really great. Lot's of flavor and the fish comes out so tender!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef 493847 April 06, 2006

This was a very different way to prepare fish for me. I used cod since catfish isn't kosher. I liked the flavour quite a bit, but make sure to heed the warning to use a light beer. I didn't, and the beer flavour was a bit over powering. I like that this is a healthy alternative to fried fish. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl October 28, 2005
Chili and Beer-Braised Catfish