Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chilean Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chilean Salsa

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2010

      Wonderful, absolutely wonderful. I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil and the juice from one lime for the red wine vinegar. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe, it will definitely made again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      This is excellent, fresh-tasting salsa. I did halve the amount of salt because I was using quite fine grained sea salt. I also substituted green chilies that are more easily available for me. Still delicious. Will definitely make again and again. Thank you very much for sharing another wonderful recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Delicious! My daughter's Girl Scout troop made this for their Service Unit's International Festival (their troop picked Chile as their country to represent) and served it with tortilla chips. The kids at the Festival loved it and some were eating it with spoons -- no chips! Several adults wanted the recipe because they gave it a THUMBS UP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Simply Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This salsa is absolutely fantastic! We made it to take to a family BBQ and were looking for a recipe that would use up some of the tomatoes from our garden. I doubled the ingredients of the recipe, while keeping the oil to 1/4 cup. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. This recipe had a wonderful fresh flavor and was enjoyed by all. I received many compliments. Thanks for a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      This is by far the best salsa I have ever made. I used yellow tomatoes from the garden and served it over beef, veggies, and rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      This is a wonderful salsa It is also very good with lemon in place of the vinager and a dash of cumin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      This is THE best salsa recipe ever! The flavor of the cilantro is what puts this over the top. Easy to make and tastes even better after it's rested a bit. I will never let store bought salsa pass these lips again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Lovely flavor -easy to prepare and I like you can keep it overnight. I made this to go with an omelete that I am preparing for brunch tomorrow. Thanks NurseDi for yet another excellent recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      very good, nice. I'm from chile and this recipe was very accurate and well proportioned. ps-> ehre we call it "pebre".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      What a flavor bomb! Watch out, if you don't like garlic! I used cider vinegar and left out the oil alltogether and it didn't really matter too much. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I was gonna post this as this is the only salsa we eat! this is outstanding and a staple at my house..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      My dad recently made this recipe for a party and I loved it so much I had to have it. Anyways, I've made it for parties and it is quick, easy and a huge hit. I added more jalapenos, cilantro and red wine vinegar and it was still fabulous. Beginners: this is a easy, awesome tasting recipe. You've gotta try this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      I had one of my 6th grade Spanish students make this for extra credit and it was a hit! This salsa was very delicious and my student said she had a lot of fun making it. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      It takes a lot to make me do something so "complicated" as peeling and seeding tomatoes LOL. However, I did it for this recipe. In fact, the only change I made was to "chicken out" by using 1 tsp. dried cilantro instead of the fresh. I wasn't sure how much oil to use (oil in salsa was a new concept for me) so I used 1/4 c., and it was fine. This was *WONDERFUL*. Worth every bit of effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Our family really didn't care for this at all. Didn't want to affect the recipe's rating because we've never had this style salsa before and it was probably just us. I made it for a 4th of July party and ended up not serving it. It was odd scooping up salsa and tasting the oil and vinegar base. It was really oily, too. It reminded me more of a recipe I use to make bruschetta than any salsa I've ever tried. I love Nurse Di's recipes, though, and others have loved it, so it probably is just our personal tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      I took this recipe to my recipe club. It was a huge hit. Very tasty. Loved it. Thanks Chrissie, Illinois

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      I used only 3 tomatoes, partly because I'm not a big fan of tomatoes and partly because I got tired of chopping them. I also used around 8 serrano chilies instead of 2 and some 1.5 million SHU capsaicin extract... mmmmmm capsaicin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      Yum...very close in taste to those high-end fresh salsas!For some reason my salsa came out really light in color like a pinkish orange, strange. Note: I cut down on the oil because it was way to much and the purple onion seemed to give it a bitter taste...good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      EXCELLENT! This is one of the BEST SALSA FRESCA's I've ever had. I've lost track of the number of times I've made this in the last year. I've changed it only slightly to suit my taste. I use 2 Jalapenos and 1 Serrano chili and fresh, well crushed Mexican Oregano. I live in the heart of the Walla Walla Onion country so I raid my sister's garden for these wonderful treats, as well as her vine rippened Tomatoes. I have her permission of course. During the winter I buy the sweet's flown up from South America. They're pricier I don't need all that many and this salsa is worth it. I make it at least early in the morning or better the night before to give the flavors time to meld as it chills in the fridge. If any one wants to know why I enjoy cooking they should make this salsa it is lightyears better than anything you can buy and in addition it's fun to make. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chilean Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (1100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 374.3
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    67%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1771.9 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 15.5 g
    62%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes