Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chilean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chilean Salad

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2008

      We have a ton of homegrown tomatoes so this was a nice one to try with them! I made it and served it right away. Doing that, I didn't feel like it had enough olive oil. There just was not much olive oil taste on the tomatoes. When it sat it got more flavorful. A good option, I'll just up the olive oil a bit next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Simplicity makes for perfection in this recipe. I will use this salad over and over with my summer tomatoes! Made for ZWT4. Thanks, Leslie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      What a pretty salad! I loved the fresh lemon juice over the tomatoes and onion - simple to make with simple summer-time flavors. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Well the first problem was, my family never got to taste this... Oh well...as they say, "their loss!" Darn it to blast-O, I used two large tomatoes, fresh red onion from the basement, pulled in from the garden recently, some really magnificent extra virgin olive oil, (that I had saved stashed in the back of the pantry so no one knows...hee hee), fresh lemon juice and fresh cilantro. Can we all see why the "fam" didn't get this? Could it be that my fork when wild, and devoured the whole lot up. You bet and I did. Darn proud of myself too. So when you get this recipe, I would hide it too. Shhh...Made for Aussie New Zealand swap Novembre 2009

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      SO good! I put the dressing into a shaker bottle so that each could add to their own preferences. This was great with fresh Ontario tomatoes. :) Thank you for sharing this. It certainly perked up steak night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Quick & easy! Very nice salad particularly with fresh summer tomatoes. I did sprinkle some feta cheese on top. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Simple, tasty salad. Te coriander and lemon compliment each other nicely. Thanks Leslie! Made for ZWT 4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Just for back from Santiago Chile. Had this salad at a nice resturant and had it with locals. What I didn't learn from nice resturant is that the salad is to be added to the food. Whether it's with the rice or in soup, it doesn't matter. They also spread it on their bread with just a dab of softened butter. Very tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      Perfect! I used vine-grown tomatoes and red onion and devoured this. So simple and so good. Thanks Leslie for another keeper. Made for ZWT7 for the Emerald City Shakers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      My husband loves salads & this was no exception. He especially enjoyed the olive oil drizzled over the tomatoes. Made for ZWT 7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Simple and delicious, and we quite enjoyed it for our cook-out, as suggested. Thanks for sharing! ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      I made this especially for DH as he loves fresh tomato salads. I really liked how simple it was to make and so few ingredients, which when put together, made my man one happy camper :) A new keeper for the summer menu. Made for ZWT7 - Central & South America, for the HOT PINK LADIES !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      I enjoyed this refreshing, simple salad very much Leslie. It was quick and easy to make and tasted great. I used freshly picked sweet vine ripened tomatoes, sweet red onions and lots of fresh, spicy coriander leaves. It was the perfect side dish. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      This is pretty good, but I did think it could use a dash more oomph. A lot depends on the tomatoes. This is a good side to serve with strongly flavored dishes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I had a salad similar to this when I was in Santiago, covering the FIDAE airshow back in '02, I think. It was at a very upscale restaurant there (expense accounts rock!) and came before a main course of sea bass, and it was fantastic. I made this today, just for myself, and gobbled it right up. I did add a little extra lemon juice, though, as I was dealing with a large plate and wanted to make sure it got spread around (just something others might want to keep in mind as they prepare this). Apart from that, however, this recipe is spot on! Tasted nearly exactly like what I was served in Chile. Thank you so much, Leslie! You really brought Chile back for me. I loved that trip to Santiago so much and would really like to go back again sometime, this time bringing my gf, who I'd just started dating when I got sent off for a week to cover that airshow. This time around, though, I'd definitely have to have her with me -- if for nothing else, just to try the food there (and to see the Andes and the beaches, too, of course!), maybe get a salad like this and some sea bass or scallops along with it. Mmmm...I think I've got a honeymoon destination when the time comes. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Tasty and a good use of fresh produce, but missing the wow factor. It is a quick and easy side. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Personally, I thought this was great. It was easy, fast, and fresh tasting. However, hubby didn't like it at all. He just left it on his plate. So... I guess it wasn't perfect. I did put a bit more cilantro on than the recipe called for, but hubby is OK with that herb. I think he just doesn't like tomatoes. Because of his reaction, I rated this one less star than I would have otherwise. If I had garden fresh tomatoes, maybe it would have been better?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Simply delicious. Very, very refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Refreshing salad that's light with bold flavors. Served along side #45720 Hottest grilled beef & steamed rice. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      oooh what a tasty yet light salad!! i wouldnt agree with the serving size... (between 3 of us we gobbled it all down and then wanted more!) thanks so much for a quick, easy, and delisious new salad recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chilean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.7
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    72%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites