Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chilean Pastel De Choclo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chilean Pastel De Choclo

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2009

      I made this for giggles just because I'm Chilean and I thought some of the other reviewers were harsh on you. I was pleasantly surprised. It was pretty good for a variation of a Traditional Chilean dish. I must admit that it did not taste like any Pastel de Choclo I've ever had but I enjoyed it and I gave you an extra star because I think it's fantastic that you posted a Chilean dish. Thank for sharing this recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      I made this tonight for a South American themed dinner and it was great! I read all the reviews about the authentic vs. not authentic, so I did some investigating. The "authentic" ones have a layer of raisins, olives and hard boiled eggs between the meat layer and the corn layer. I happened to have raisins and olives on hand (not a big hard boiled egg fan, weird, I know) so I put them in their place! It turned out fabulous!! My dinner partners were delighted and asked for the recipe and I couldn't have been more happy! Thank you Sharon 123 for a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      I agree with HeatherFeather. "Not concerned about how "authentic" this version may or may not be..the recipe is excellent on its on right." This recipe is fantastic! My guest loved it (including the Chilean one). They all left with copies of the recipe. Thanks Sharon, for posting another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      What a pleasant surprise this dish was! Absolutely delicious. Not concerned about how "authentic" this version may or may not be..the recipe is excellent on its on right. The basil in the corn topping is so delicious and the sugar does not overpower at all. The chicken is so moist and tender..everything combined was just wonderful. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I'll have to agree with Palacios, this is not authentic... in a true Pastel we use eggs, raisins, ground beef and its topped with sugar.. its a great cassarole... please review my recipe as I have posted one that mirrors the authentic one with a modern short cut twist. I am sure this is a great dish as it encompasses great ingredients, but its not Chilean

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      I'm Chilean and this recipe is NOT authentic.There is no red peppers, carrots, chicken broth or bay leaves in this recipe. Instead you use black olives, raisins, hard boiled eggs and you flavor with Comino and salt. You also make with ground beef as well as with chicken legs. That is the way Chileans eat this dish. If you want the real recipe, log on to:nuevoanden.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      This is an excellent dish with wonderful flavor. I took it to a party and got raves. Others now want the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This is very similar to a recipe from Cooking Light that I've tried before. It's wonderful - even my husband who is a "meat and potatoes" guy loves this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      Another winner. I used Splenda instead of sugar and omitted the salt. Otherwise followed the recipe as directed. While prepareing the dish, I was a little concerned that there was a lot of corn as compared to the dish underneath, but the two come together so nicely. About half the corn sort of melds in with the other forming a soft crust. The basil in the corn is inspired, but something I'm learning is common to South American dishes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chilean Pastel De Choclo

    Serving Size: 1 (407 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.3
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    13%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 35.9 mg
    11%
    Sodium 279.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites