9 Reviews

I made this for giggles just because I'm Chilean and I thought some of the other reviewers were harsh on you. I was pleasantly surprised. It was pretty good for a variation of a Traditional Chilean dish. I must admit that it did not taste like any Pastel de Choclo I've ever had but I enjoyed it and I gave you an extra star because I think it's fantastic that you posted a Chilean dish. Thank for sharing this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
West Coast Girl December 07, 2009

I made this tonight for a South American themed dinner and it was great! I read all the reviews about the authentic vs. not authentic, so I did some investigating. The "authentic" ones have a layer of raisins, olives and hard boiled eggs between the meat layer and the corn layer. I happened to have raisins and olives on hand (not a big hard boiled egg fan, weird, I know) so I put them in their place! It turned out fabulous!! My dinner partners were delighted and asked for the recipe and I couldn't have been more happy! Thank you Sharon 123 for a great dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B May 01, 2009

I agree with HeatherFeather. "Not concerned about how "authentic" this version may or may not be..the recipe is excellent on its on right." This recipe is fantastic! My guest loved it (including the Chilean one). They all left with copies of the recipe. Thanks Sharon, for posting another wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia August 28, 2008

What a pleasant surprise this dish was! Absolutely delicious. Not concerned about how "authentic" this version may or may not be..the recipe is excellent on its on right. The basil in the corn topping is so delicious and the sugar does not overpower at all. The chicken is so moist and tender..everything combined was just wonderful. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 07, 2007

I'll have to agree with Palacios, this is not authentic... in a true Pastel we use eggs, raisins, ground beef and its topped with sugar.. its a great cassarole... please review my recipe as I have posted one that mirrors the authentic one with a modern short cut twist. I am sure this is a great dish as it encompasses great ingredients, but its not Chilean

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celly January 05, 2007

I'm Chilean and this recipe is NOT authentic.There is no red peppers, carrots, chicken broth or bay leaves in this recipe. Instead you use black olives, raisins, hard boiled eggs and you flavor with Comino and salt. You also make with ground beef as well as with chicken legs. That is the way Chileans eat this dish. If you want the real recipe, log on to:nuevoanden.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Palacios June 11, 2006

This is an excellent dish with wonderful flavor. I took it to a party and got raves. Others now want the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori1558 May 17, 2006

This is very similar to a recipe from Cooking Light that I've tried before. It's wonderful - even my husband who is a "meat and potatoes" guy loves this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedBird1 March 16, 2006

Another winner. I used Splenda instead of sugar and omitted the salt. Otherwise followed the recipe as directed. While prepareing the dish, I was a little concerned that there was a lot of corn as compared to the dish underneath, but the two come together so nicely. About half the corn sort of melds in with the other forming a soft crust. The basil in the corn is inspired, but something I'm learning is common to South American dishes. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni November 13, 2005
Chilean Pastel De Choclo