Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chilean Empanadas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chilean Empanadas

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2011

      A few years back a sweet older Chilean man from my old job would bring in empanadas that his wife made to make some extra money. They were simply delicious! Since then I've been searching for an empanada recipe that was like his. I've found it in this one. To make it more like his, I added some chopped raisins. I adjusted some of the seasoning and added some Adobo all purpose seasoning (Goya makes it). Next time I will add some chopped hard boiled eggs to bring it closer to the empanadas that I miss so much. Instead of using the biscuits, I used empanada disks made by Goya (discos grandes para empanadas) to make it more authentic (they are found in most supermarkets, especially those located where a Spanish community lives). I too brought these to my current work place(for free though) and my co-workers loved them as well. Thank you Charmie777 for bringing a bit of nostalgia into my life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Buttermilk Biscuits? really? As someone who's wife is from Chile; and myself been their several times, that surely is not how you make Chilean empanadas. Traditional chilean empanadas contain; simply, 1lb ground beef, cumin, paprika, 2 cups diced onions (cook with garlic till soft an golden), 3 cloves garlic, raisins (which are optional), one or two black olives (whole), and half of a hard boiled egg. Do yourself a favor and take the hour to make the dough..mix 3 cups flour, 1 teaspoon salt / baking powder, add 1/3 cup melted crisco, 3/4 cup warm milk, and 1/4 cup warm water. mix well and knead till dough is soft but not sticky...let it rest for 30 min....roll away. i will add my own recipe page

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Good meat for empanadas I think next time we will cut down on the allspice for our preference

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      While I do not know if I have had empanadas, so I don't know how these compare to other empanada recipes, I found this meal delicious! It does take some time to make the meal, but I doubled it, used 1/2 that night, then froze 1/2 of the stuffing for another meal, which we had tonight. Tonight was easy: just defrost the stuffing and place into the flattened biscuit. Very yummy. Will make again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Awesome! I am so glad I made these!! They do take a little bit of time, but it isn't so bad (unless you have a demanding toddler at your feet). Totally worth it, however. I had 1.5 lbs of ground beef and doubled everything except the vinegar and allspice and the spices were perfect! I did add 1/3 cup of water during the thickening stage which worked great. The grocery had packages of 8 jumbo buttermilk biscuits on sale, so I bought two of those and am glad I did - the jumbo biscuits give you enough dough to make nice pasty-size empanadas. I ended up making 8 empanadas and refrigerating the rest. The adjustments didn't make any extra filling and I think it's because I put 3-4 Tbs of filling in each empanada. This is such a great recipe, thank you so much for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Awesome! Used chicken and added peas and sauteed onion. We also used empanada rounds from target, instead of biscuits. Just yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      These were terrific. I omited the green pepper and added cranberries instead of the rasins and they turned out great. The spices were perfect. Definietly a recipe I wil use again and again. Thanks for sharing. Sandy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Great recipe. I love the spices. There are so many Empanada styles I dont know which I love the most. Love them all. Thank you sandy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I wasn't sure if these were "too much trouble" or that my little kids were being "too much trouble" while I was trying to make them! But then I tried one. These are really great and worth the little bit of effort. I made half the batch with ground turkey and half with no meat. I had to add a little water along with the spice mixture because the (veggie) pan was dry and the spices were burning my eyes! lol. I left out the cilantro. Delicious recipe! I served it with Orange and Peanut Salad and they went together nicely. Reviewed for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Wow, these were great, and so easy to make! Instead of ground beef, I used the leftovers from Lime-Soaked, Cumin-Crusted Skirt Steak. Finely chopped the meat and added to the onion/pepper (used poblano peppers) mixture. Other than that followed the recipe. Reduced the recipe by half and used one can of giant refrigerated biscuits and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      These were delicious! I've never had empanadas before, and these were very easy to make too. Thanks for a great meal. Made this for ZWT4 for the Chic Chefs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Fantastic! These have to be the easiest empanadas I have ever made! This all went together very fast and made a great little 'pocket' meal that dh can take along in his lunch box or I can pop in the freezer for a quick bite. Thanks for a great recipe! *Made for ZWT4*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I'd give these 7 stars if I could. I made them on a whim for Sunday morning brunch after getting my taste buds whipped by a chef who made some on Iron Chef America on Saturday evening. I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, but they came out SUPERB with what I had (didn't have cilantro and omitted raisins due to family preference). I have some of the meat left over, which I will use for appetizers for an upcoming dinner party. Thank you for a wonderful recipe and for satisfying my eager taste buds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Made these for a dinner party and they were well enjoyed. The recipe is true to its ingredients and no modifications were made. I love that pre-made biscuits worked so well. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Good! Added onion to the meat, used sun dried tomatoes instead of raisins, out of cumin so used taco seasoning. Instead of biscuits used refrigerated pastry crust. The kiddos did not like the olives but we did. Next time will double the meat and freeze half for another meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      I live with a South American, who assures me that the meat mixture that this recipe uses for the empanadas is very close to authentic, but that the use of biscuits is NOT. They were very tasty, and I'll make them again, but the puffy biscuit exterior overpowered the delicious filling. I made a small batch using egg roll wrappers, and they turned out very crispy, and more delicious than those made with frozen biscuit dough. I know that I can find empanada wrappers in specialty grocers, so that's what I'll use next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      The flavor in these was great! I made my own biscuits, and used dried cilantro, other than that, I stuck to it. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the fact that they were a little dry. I need to come up with a dipping sauce, and then then I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      These are great! The flavors work together very well for a spicy and flavorful but not-too-hot appetizer. I felt like I was cheating by using the refrigerated biscuit dough, but I got over it - I had enough cooking to do and it eliminated a step and was delicious. Next time, maybe I'll use the filling in a homemade crust. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      We loved these, Charmie!! I did decrease the spices a bit to suit us. I am not sure what I did wrong but in step 4 there was nothing to thicken in with the meat. I used extra lean ground beef so that may have made a diff. I did use peas instead of raisins as I have a raisin hater here! I ended up adding in nearly a 1/2 cup of water to make it a bit juicy. It didn't seem to hurt the flavour. They went together very quickly after I got the hang of it. We will be fighting over the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I made these for ZWT4. Thanks for sharing another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I used the filling with some variations - put some grated celery root in it because i had to use it up and I put dried cranberries in it instead of the raisins and seasoned it with cinnamon instead of allspice- and it was grea! I put the filling between two sheets of pastry dough and cut it afterwards into small squares. It was the appetizer at our big family christmas meal. It went down really well with the wine from my sisters own vineyard. The square empanadas were also well recieved by the youngsters (2-10 years)! Thankls, charmie - I love it! Perl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chilean Empanadas

    Serving Size: 1 (1252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.9
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    44%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 22.0 mg
    7%
    Sodium 382.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pimento stuffed olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites