Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chile Verde Con Cerdo (Green Chili With Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chile Verde Con Cerdo (Green Chili With Pork)

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2002

      Karen, your Green Chili Sauce with Pork creation was great! My DH who has been eating Mexican food his entire life really enjoyed it. Next time I will add even more green chili's (I underestimated the number of chili's I bought!) I actually made burrito's out of this. Just used a slotted spoon, spooned the mixture into the tortilla, rolled up and it was delicious. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      my husband loved this!! it was a little too hot for me but has a good taste. was really easy to make, using the crockpot. would definetly make again but would probably only use 1 tsp jalapenos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2002

      Hey there Karen-My husband made this for his train crew and it was a "Monster Hit." They "loved it, gobbled it up, and screamed for more!" "Can you give the recipe 10 Stars" was the question! Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Karen ... you my dear are a ROCKSTAR!!! I've am amazed at how wonderful this is, and you definately deserve a ribbon!!! I've been a chilehead my whole life, and, therefore, Mexican food has always been my favorite. Having said that, I am also a huge fan of Chile Verde, and have been making it for years (most times use my Uncle's wife's recipe, who is from Mexico, but also have tried many others). You're recipes are fab, so when I saw this I had to give it go ~ this is huge, as my aunt's is the bomb, and everyone loves it. The ingredients and amounts you listed are in perfect balance. The only things I did differently was to grill not only the chiles, but also the onions (quartered), garlic, and tomatillos, just because I am a grillin gal, and love the flavor grilling brings out in pretty much everything. Since I had already grilled the onions and garlic, I tossed the pork cubes in the flour, and quickly browned in bacon grease. Everything then went into the crock, and cooked on low for 10 hours (shorter time would have been fine ~ I was working around my schedule). Right before dinner, I transferred it to a large pot, brought it to a simmer, and added a slurry of water/cornstarch to thicken. It was served burrito style in flour tortillas ~ base of refried beans, yellow rice w/ saffron, cheese, and then the chili. It was then also topped with some of the gravy, Queso Fresco cheese, and green onion tops (for presentation). To anyone reading this, Karen's creation is a must make ~ it will not disappoint! Only recommendation I have is to add the jalapenos to taste ~ start with half the amount and check after it has cooked for a bit (I love it hot, but can tell you that it truly depends upon the source of the pepper in how much heat it will add). KILLER Karen, and thank you for sharing! P.S. I'm from Ft. Collins ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Oh My Goodness!!!! I've been looking for the perfect Green Chili with Pork recipe for about 2 years. THIS one I could tell just from reading through the ingredients would be exactly what I was looking for! I used a 2.5 lb pork tenderloin, which I cooked the day ahead in my crockpot. I also used the broth from cooking this tenderloin instead of water or chicken broth. I was lucky to have some medium-heat fire-roasted green chilis in my freezer. These added plenty of heat (for my family) so I didn't use the jalapenos. I brought the mixture to a boil to thicken slightly, added the remaining ingredients (I used 2-3 teaspoons cumin and 2-3 teaspoons chili powder, to taste), then placed everything in my crockpot to simmer on low for the afternoon. We enjoyed this as a "soup" with sour cream and cheese. I froze the extra in serving size containers and also used to top chicken enchiladas and omelets. EXCELLENT - This is definitely a KEEPER!! Thanks Karen :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Holy Smokes, this is AMAZING... This might be "non traditional"/Gringo green chili stew, but this might be the best green chili I've ever had; and certainly in the top 5 things I've ever made. (My grandmother's Green Chili stew was the real deal from the moutains of New Mexico, but sadly she passed away before I was interested in cooking and the recipe is lost..:-) Thank you! I did get a little creative with the presentation of it though... For the pork, I roasted a 2 1/2 lb pork roast in the oven @ 375 for 1hr 45 minutes in a cast iron dutch oven (no lid) seasoned generously with pepper, camino (cumin), and galic powder; I then cooked the onions, tomatillos, and garlic in the same pan (removing some of the grease...there was too much). I used 1 tub of frozen Bueno (Hot) Green Chili instead of the chilis and Jalepeno's listed in the recipe. I used 1 can of diced fire roasted tomatos (because it was all i had; and it was a GREAT choice). I also used 1/4 c of pre-minced garlic instead of mincing my own :-S. I put the entire operation in a crock pot between steps 9 and 10 and let it cook all day...(and didn't do very good at staying out of it). I (at least) doubled the camino; but I like camino a lot... Last night as I was getting ready for bed, the house smelled SO good... I had to get up and have a bowl just to settle the cravings. WOW... For Lunch today, I added diced potatos that I boiled quickly then simmered in some of the the stew that I moved to a sauce pan. YHUM. I also garnished with a small dollup of sour cream. For dinner, I scooped a bunch of the solids out the crock pot and then filled flour tortillas with it (adding some cilantro/lime rice inside the burito as well). I took 2 cups of the "stew liquid", put that in a skillet, brought that to a simmer and then added a flour/water mixture to thicken it into a gravy (adding a bit more salt and camino); I then poured that over the top of the burritos as a sauce. I also made a Green Chili/Tomatillo cream sauce (boiled tomatillos, added a cup of diced green chili, 3 cloves of garlic, tossed that in a food processor, then simmered that quickly with 1/4 cup of sour cream). The thickened sauce from the stew was better; my sauce was awsome, but it was way outclassed by the stew gravy. Unfortunately, there's only 2 more bowls of soup/stew left... Only regret is not using a bigger piece of pork. I want to try this with a shoulder next time...probably next weekend if I can find some more green chili... What an AWSOME recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      Wow! You have some harsh reviewers who clearly are a bit cranky and should relax a little. If you don't like it, don't make it, however, I am Karen's niece and along with this recipe and many others,I have tried many and she is an AMAZING cook and has helped the rest of our family along the way to attempt to even compare to cook like her. For those trying not to be rude as they keep stating, you should try harder cause that WAS quite rude. Cooking is an art and we all have our own tastes on what we prefer. Just appreciate those willing to share. For those who loved it...you have great taste! Love you Aunt Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Karen, this is an EXCELLENT recipe! The 'secret' ingredients to kick it up a notch: 1 cinnamon stick (decreases the sharp chile bite but not the flavor, enhances it, actually/adds subtle flavor, not overpowering cinnamon taste AT ALL, don't use powdered cinnamon because as it 'cures' powdered cinnamon increases in flavor!) & 12 oz. good beer when you combine all ingredients on stove top to finish, remove stick after 1 hour of cooking. I braised a large pork roast on the outdoor BBq, then cooked 10 hours on low crock pot. Separated meat from bone/fat, and continued with recipe (sans tomatoes!) Also braised the onion, green chile & tomatillos on the BBq, prepared the night before, while the meat crocked. Beer & cinnamon stick are secret ingredients to Chile Verde you rarely find in recipes unless you watch grandma make it :) Happy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      This is so easy and tastes so good. I added some instant potatoes to it to make it thicker for burritos was really great.I served it over top as a sause.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      My son has been on me for 2 years that my chile verde was not the real Colorado thing, I saw this on pinterest and jumped on making it tonight. I am not even joking when he said it was the best chili verde he ever had! :) This will be my go to recipe when we make green chili burritos. If I could rate it 20 stars it would be done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      Love this recipe! One thing that I would change, however, is that I would add the liquid gradually until it reaches the consistency that I like. You may not need to add the full 5 cups. Other than that, it was fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      8/25/11

      Karen - is there NOTHING YOU CAN'T MAKE??? lol

      Excellent! Thank you so much! I cut out the oil and use some pork fat and didn't add the flour so I could pressure can for Winter use!

      AwESOME!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Made this tonight by starting with a 1.12 lb pork loin roast, cubed. Dusted the pork in 2 tbl flour and then cooked the pork, onions, and jalepeno till the veggies were soft and the pork was browned. Added 4 C chicken stock, 3 chopped green chiles, tomitillos, 1 can tomatoes (with more green chiles), 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp chili powder, s&p. I simmered on the stove for about 4 hours. I then further broke down the pork with a fork and served over long grain white rice. Husband and I enjoyed it a lot. Thanks for posting. (i detailed the cooking as I was a bit confused how to start if you had a smaller raw roast....and weren't using a crock pot....)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Mmmmmmmmm.......This is some of the tastiest green chile I've ever had. Not to take away from my wife's green chile which is very good, your recipe will be at the top of the stack. I've let it simmer all night in the crockpot and will soon enjoy some slathered over some eggs and tortillas.
      My wife got up in the middle of the night for someting spicy and couldn't resist eating some. She said that is some great chile. Thanks Karen for this Awesome recipe. Ken in Broomfield, Co

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Well since the stars didn't work the first time.
      I reviewed the recipe and it was great!
      5 stars

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Good lord this was good. I used a few tsp of chicken boullon rather than plain water or full chicken stock. We slow cooked yesterday during the football game, had a bit and saved the rest for tonights dinner. I love that this is also low carb. I switched out the white flour for whole wheat flour, but other than slow cooking and the flour I followed it exactly. FABULOUS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      DELICIOUS! I do have my own green chile stew recipe that I am pretty sure I will never use again! This recipe turned out so fantatic! I made a few small changes; I roasted the onion, garlic, jalapeno (1) and tomatillos in the oven at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes then threw them in the food processor with my Big Jim Chiles (roasted by our local veggie stand) and pulsed them up until they were coarsely chopped. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly (used Fire Roasted Tomatoes). My 7-year old grandson helped me make it and he was SO proud of the results he wanted to eat it every night! Thanks for another wonderful recipe Karen!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Ok, I have to tell you that I am now a hero to my husband. I have been looking for the perfect chile verde recipe for years. After tasting it last night, my husband said "that's it, you did, award winner possibly". I roasted whole pasilla peppers (3) and roasted the tomatillos, I did throw an extra can of chilies in as well, and a roasted jalepeno. I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepeno. I deep fried my pork (saw it on tv once). I cooked this on my stovetop for about 4 or so hours, the smell that permeated my house was incredible. I LOVE THIS RECIPE, next time I will either double or triple it to have some on hand in the freezer. The colors were really nice, the red from the tomato, the dark green from the pasilla pepper, the creamy green from blending the peppers, I wish I had taken a picture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      This was very good. I only used 1 1/2 cups of green chilies and about 1 teaspoon jalapenoes which was just perfect for us. I also liked finishing this up in the crockpot (I put in the crockpot on low for 8 hours and it was just right.) Karen, your recipe was my fourth attempt at making green chili with meat and by far the best and the one I will be sticking with. Thanks for sharing. By the way I didn't know that garlic helped prevent heartburn -- sure appreciate that little tidbit of information.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2014

      Awesome !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chile Verde Con Cerdo (Green Chili With Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.1
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    32%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 41.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 408.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes