121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Karen, your Green Chili Sauce with Pork creation was great! My DH who has been eating Mexican food his entire life really enjoyed it. Next time I will add even more green chili's (I underestimated the number of chili's I bought!) I actually made burrito's out of this. Just used a slotted spoon, spooned the mixture into the tortilla, rolled up and it was delicious. Thank you for sharing this with us.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoAnn March 05, 2002

my husband loved this!! it was a little too hot for me but has a good taste. was really easy to make, using the crockpot. would definetly make again but would probably only use 1 tsp jalapenos.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elliebelle March 08, 2002

Hey there Karen-My husband made this for his train crew and it was a "Monster Hit." They "loved it, gobbled it up, and screamed for more!" "Can you give the recipe 10 Stars" was the question! Di

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's March 16, 2002

Karen ... you my dear are a ROCKSTAR!!! I've am amazed at how wonderful this is, and you definately deserve a ribbon!!! I've been a chilehead my whole life, and, therefore, Mexican food has always been my favorite. Having said that, I am also a huge fan of Chile Verde, and have been making it for years (most times use my Uncle's wife's recipe, who is from Mexico, but also have tried many others). You're recipes are fab, so when I saw this I had to give it go ~ this is huge, as my aunt's is the bomb, and everyone loves it. The ingredients and amounts you listed are in perfect balance. The only things I did differently was to grill not only the chiles, but also the onions (quartered), garlic, and tomatillos, just because I am a grillin gal, and love the flavor grilling brings out in pretty much everything. Since I had already grilled the onions and garlic, I tossed the pork cubes in the flour, and quickly browned in bacon grease. Everything then went into the crock, and cooked on low for 10 hours (shorter time would have been fine ~ I was working around my schedule). Right before dinner, I transferred it to a large pot, brought it to a simmer, and added a slurry of water/cornstarch to thicken. It was served burrito style in flour tortillas ~ base of refried beans, yellow rice w/ saffron, cheese, and then the chili. It was then also topped with some of the gravy, Queso Fresco cheese, and green onion tops (for presentation). To anyone reading this, Karen's creation is a must make ~ it will not disappoint! Only recommendation I have is to add the jalapenos to taste ~ start with half the amount and check after it has cooked for a bit (I love it hot, but can tell you that it truly depends upon the source of the pepper in how much heat it will add). KILLER Karen, and thank you for sharing! P.S. I'm from Ft. Collins ;)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mom 007 September 07, 2009

Oh My Goodness!!!! I've been looking for the perfect Green Chili with Pork recipe for about 2 years. THIS one I could tell just from reading through the ingredients would be exactly what I was looking for! I used a 2.5 lb pork tenderloin, which I cooked the day ahead in my crockpot. I also used the broth from cooking this tenderloin instead of water or chicken broth. I was lucky to have some medium-heat fire-roasted green chilis in my freezer. These added plenty of heat (for my family) so I didn't use the jalapenos. I brought the mixture to a boil to thicken slightly, added the remaining ingredients (I used 2-3 teaspoons cumin and 2-3 teaspoons chili powder, to taste), then placed everything in my crockpot to simmer on low for the afternoon. We enjoyed this as a "soup" with sour cream and cheese. I froze the extra in serving size containers and also used to top chicken enchiladas and omelets. EXCELLENT - This is definitely a KEEPER!! Thanks Karen :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klperry October 15, 2010

Holy Smokes, this is AMAZING... This might be "non traditional"/Gringo green chili stew, but this might be the best green chili I've ever had; and certainly in the top 5 things I've ever made. (My grandmother's Green Chili stew was the real deal from the moutains of New Mexico, but sadly she passed away before I was interested in cooking and the recipe is lost..:-) Thank you! I did get a little creative with the presentation of it though... For the pork, I roasted a 2 1/2 lb pork roast in the oven @ 375 for 1hr 45 minutes in a cast iron dutch oven (no lid) seasoned generously with pepper, camino (cumin), and galic powder; I then cooked the onions, tomatillos, and garlic in the same pan (removing some of the grease...there was too much). I used 1 tub of frozen Bueno (Hot) Green Chili instead of the chilis and Jalepeno's listed in the recipe. I used 1 can of diced fire roasted tomatos (because it was all i had; and it was a GREAT choice). I also used 1/4 c of pre-minced garlic instead of mincing my own :-S. I put the entire operation in a crock pot between steps 9 and 10 and let it cook all day...(and didn't do very good at staying out of it). I (at least) doubled the camino; but I like camino a lot... Last night as I was getting ready for bed, the house smelled SO good... I had to get up and have a bowl just to settle the cravings. WOW... For Lunch today, I added diced potatos that I boiled quickly then simmered in some of the the stew that I moved to a sauce pan. YHUM. I also garnished with a small dollup of sour cream. For dinner, I scooped a bunch of the solids out the crock pot and then filled flour tortillas with it (adding some cilantro/lime rice inside the burito as well). I took 2 cups of the "stew liquid", put that in a skillet, brought that to a simmer and then added a flour/water mixture to thicken it into a gravy (adding a bit more salt and camino); I then poured that over the top of the burritos as a sauce. I also made a Green Chili/Tomatillo cream sauce (boiled tomatillos, added a cup of diced green chili, 3 cloves of garlic, tossed that in a food processor, then simmered that quickly with 1/4 cup of sour cream). The thickened sauce from the stew was better; my sauce was awsome, but it was way outclassed by the stew gravy. Unfortunately, there's only 2 more bowls of soup/stew left... Only regret is not using a bigger piece of pork. I want to try this with a shoulder next time...probably next weekend if I can find some more green chili... What an AWSOME recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook'n Johnny July 13, 2009

Wow! You have some harsh reviewers who clearly are a bit cranky and should relax a little. If you don't like it, don't make it, however, I am Karen's niece and along with this recipe and many others,I have tried many and she is an AMAZING cook and has helped the rest of our family along the way to attempt to even compare to cook like her. For those trying not to be rude as they keep stating, you should try harder cause that WAS quite rude. Cooking is an art and we all have our own tastes on what we prefer. Just appreciate those willing to share. For those who loved it...you have great taste! Love you Aunt Karen!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissakhalili December 10, 2011

Karen, this is an EXCELLENT recipe! The 'secret' ingredients to kick it up a notch: 1 cinnamon stick (decreases the sharp chile bite but not the flavor, enhances it, actually/adds subtle flavor, not overpowering cinnamon taste AT ALL, don't use powdered cinnamon because as it 'cures' powdered cinnamon increases in flavor!) & 12 oz. good beer when you combine all ingredients on stove top to finish, remove stick after 1 hour of cooking. I braised a large pork roast on the outdoor BBq, then cooked 10 hours on low crock pot. Separated meat from bone/fat, and continued with recipe (sans tomatoes!) Also braised the onion, green chile & tomatillos on the BBq, prepared the night before, while the meat crocked. Beer & cinnamon stick are secret ingredients to Chile Verde you rarely find in recipes unless you watch grandma make it :) Happy cooking!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamcablerep December 23, 2010

This is so easy and tastes so good. I added some instant potatoes to it to make it thicker for burritos was really great.I served it over top as a sause.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a1k April 27, 2003

My son has been on me for 2 years that my chile verde was not the real Colorado thing, I saw this on pinterest and jumped on making it tonight. I am not even joking when he said it was the best chili verde he ever had! :) This will be my go to recipe when we make green chili burritos. If I could rate it 20 stars it would be done.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie P. September 13, 2014
Chile Verde Con Cerdo (Green Chili With Pork)