10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these but put them in phyllo shells in mini muffin pan. This made them very easy to eat and they were a big hit! The recipie makes 48 phyllo mini muff bites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lozy September 22, 2003

Yummy! I prepared as directed by the recipe, except I added some monterey jack cheese along with the cheddar. Delicious! This will definitely be repeated and next time I would like to try fresh peppers and roast them myself. I think that would be extra delicious. Thanks for a keeper Miss Diggy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail July 06, 2011

I love chile rellenos, but the traditional whole chile, deep-fried method is pretty labor-intensive, not to mention not very healthy. These were great. I also used the Mexican blend cheese and added a third 4-ounce can of chopped chiles so as to cover the entire bottom of my pan. I was trying to give this 4-1/2 stars, but I couldn't see how to do that. I'm new here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
good_life February 16, 2009

this is five star recipe with one difference a mexican blend cheeses. like the kraft preshredded cheese. it gets rid of slimyness other reviewers have talked about and really gives a much better flavor. i have also made this with half cheddar half montery jack cheese but i like the mexican blend kraft the best for this. perfect side dish for tacos! and tacos are hard to find a side dish to go with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICook4danny&Puddin May 04, 2008

As opposed to making the "real" chile rellenos, I'll do this anytime! The flavor was pretty good (much like chile rellenos), but my DH said they were "slimy" on the bottom. I will also say that you need to cool these almost to room temperature before moving them, or they fall apart. I think I will try these again, only putting down a layer of breadcrumbs or cracker crumbs to help soak up some of the chile "slime" and stabilize the squares. Thank you for a good recipe, and a great inspiration! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout July 18, 2007

I added monterey jack and baked until eggs were set and top was lightly browned. I had to make it again the next day becuase I couldn't get the taste out of my mind. I'd have made it again today but I'm out of chilis. I used my toaster oven and it worked just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GraceVision November 13, 2006

This is good! It seems to be lacking something flavorwise though. I am not sure what just yet. When I make this again I will add something to give it a little more favor. When I do I'll post another review and let you know.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof September 02, 2003

Made this for the office Thanksgiving spread. Everyone loved it. I thought it was good but it was a bit messy to handle. I probably did something wrong. When I make it next time I am going to add a chopped pepper or two for a little kick. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff November 27, 2002

These were very easy to make, and quite good! I wasn't expecting them to be so fluffy, but they were indeed! It was almost like a chili cheese omelette. I think I will make these for breakfast some morning with some fresh salsa and sour cream. Thanks for a new idea, Diggy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl November 17, 2002

Diggy, this was indeed very quick. Also very easy and tasty. I'll be keeping the ingredients for this one handy. My husband just ate half the pan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess October 16, 2002
Chile Rellenos Squares