32 Reviews

I doubled the amount of chilies, as other reviewers stated. Simply to make and very good. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riverboywa March 25, 2012

I loved this dish. I roasted about 11 anaheim peppers and used about a third of the cheese listed and it tasted great. I want to make it again tonight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitneyborup April 28, 2010

This was so easy to make. Both my boyfriend and myslef found this to be delicious. Thank you for posting. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smiles4u April 28, 2010

Huge hit with the entire family! We are surrounded in our town by authentic Mexican food and this recipe did not disappoint. I used fresh Poblanos which I roasted and seeded, 10 to be exact. I didn't change anything else. Served it with avocado salsa verde, a dollop of sour cream and a simple salad. This will become a staple meal for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbynum239 August 30, 2016

This is a delicious recipe, but in my opinion, it tasted more like a green chile quiche than it did chile rellenos. Would make an excellent brunch dish, but not quite like rellenos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirsten A. July 31, 2016

Great flavor. Hoping someone can tell me what I did wrong with the texture. It was almost the consistency of scrambled eggs. Any suggestions?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 28, 2015

This is delicious. I did add some onion flakes but otherwise made as written. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q & A's Mom May 19, 2015

Great recipe. I used a 27 oz can because I didn't think 8 oz would be enough. Can't wait to try it with my end of summer fresh roasted chiles!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachelle J. May 18, 2015

Used Hatch green chiles and tripled the amount called for in the recipe, added an extra egg to compensate for the increased amount of chiles. Used Fiesta Blend Mexican cheese with additional sharp cheddar on top. Also used a pinch of cumin and garlic powder in the batter mixture. Turned out pretty darn good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ray A. September 26, 2014

Boy this recipe is just what I've been looking for since my mom passed. This is just like hers. My only problem is with the amount of green chiles used. One 8 ounce can only had four chiles which only covered the bottom of the 11X7 pan I used. Luckily I had a can of chopped also on hand, although they don't layer well. the flavor is exactly what I remember as a kid. The only thing I will change is the amount of chiles from 8 oz to 27 oz. This should give me 3 layers. All in all a very tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mndwg1 August 04, 2014
Chile Relleno Casserole