30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent texture. I spiced it up with garlic, cumin and chili powder in the milk mixture and it was more to my tast.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diane-young May 06, 2002

My family loved this casserole. I have made this several times already. Very easy to make. Taste just as good as my mom's chile rellano's with out all the hard work, and better yet "No Frying". I used two can's of chiles. I opened the chiles, took out any seeds, and dryed them with a paper towel to get rid of excess moisture. When casserole was done I topped each serving with my mom's chile rellano sauce and it was perfect. I miss my mom and this brought back wonderful memories of her. It has become a family favorite.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1specialmom August 24, 2009

This recipe is wonderful and it touched my life in a very special way. Recently I went to Chicago to visit my Uncle, who is ill with multiple myloma. At dinner one evening, we were discussing Mexican food, and I mentioned one of the foods I enjoy, but had not yet attempted to make, was Chili Relleno. My Uncle, who is from Mexico, mentioned he had eaten a chile relleno casserole at a pot luck at work once, and wondered if one could find the recipe on the internet. Well, I looked and found this recipe. Needless to say, I was nervous to make something for the first time for someone else. However, this recipe was easy to make, and delicious! However, the best part about it was I made my Uncle HAPPY and he ENJOYED it immensely!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amateur Chef C September 29, 2008

This was a big hit for the Cinco de Mayo festivities at our house. My grocery store didn't have the whole canned peppers, so we did the char/steam/scrape thing with about 4 fresh bell peppers, which worked fine. Thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Titanium Chef May 06, 2002

This casserole recipe is the best I have ever used. I made this with fresh roasted poblano chiles and got 3 layers into a 9x9 dish. Of course, the peppers are the star of any chile relleno and the batter was mild enough to let the peppers sing to me. This dish goes into my tried and true book. Thank you so much for sharing this stunning dish.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie July 02, 2011

Good recipe. I doubled the chiles which, in my opinion, was much needed. Though we enjoyed it the evening I made it, my husband and I found that the leftovers did not reheat well at all. That is my only criticism -- that we could not enjoy it more than one night!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbpatton June 28, 2011

This is so easy, and yummy! I take it to all my potlucks. I have also found that using the diced green chilies makes it easier to cut into small pieces, good for "finger foods".

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfauset February 24, 2010

my family loved this casserole. i found that i needed far more than 8 oz of chiles however. i started with the 8 oz of whole green chiles, but that was only enough for the first layer. so i used 3 cans of diced green chiles that i had in the pantry. they loved the diced layer better then the whole layer, so i will probably used all diced the next time

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual November 16, 2009

I used a bigger can of green chilies and an extra egg, and this has become a recipe that my husband has asked to be placed on a monthly rotation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracytrebilcox September 02, 2014

This is great!!the only difference I made was..I used the larger can of whole green chile's(27 oz)because that is what I had on hand..Used avocado's the top at the table

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elad42 May 16, 2013
Chile Relleno Casserole