Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chile Relleno Casserole

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2002

      Excellent texture. I spiced it up with garlic, cumin and chili powder in the milk mixture and it was more to my tast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      My family loved this casserole. I have made this several times already. Very easy to make. Taste just as good as my mom's chile rellano's with out all the hard work, and better yet "No Frying". I used two can's of chiles. I opened the chiles, took out any seeds, and dryed them with a paper towel to get rid of excess moisture. When casserole was done I topped each serving with my mom's chile rellano sauce and it was perfect. I miss my mom and this brought back wonderful memories of her. It has become a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      This was a big hit for the Cinco de Mayo festivities at our house. My grocery store didn't have the whole canned peppers, so we did the char/steam/scrape thing with about 4 fresh bell peppers, which worked fine. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This recipe is wonderful and it touched my life in a very special way. Recently I went to Chicago to visit my Uncle, who is ill with multiple myloma. At dinner one evening, we were discussing Mexican food, and I mentioned one of the foods I enjoy, but had not yet attempted to make, was Chili Relleno. My Uncle, who is from Mexico, mentioned he had eaten a chile relleno casserole at a pot luck at work once, and wondered if one could find the recipe on the internet. Well, I looked and found this recipe. Needless to say, I was nervous to make something for the first time for someone else. However, this recipe was easy to make, and delicious! However, the best part about it was I made my Uncle HAPPY and he ENJOYED it immensely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      This casserole recipe is the best I have ever used. I made this with fresh roasted poblano chiles and got 3 layers into a 9x9 dish. Of course, the peppers are the star of any chile relleno and the batter was mild enough to let the peppers sing to me. This dish goes into my tried and true book. Thank you so much for sharing this stunning dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Good recipe. I doubled the chiles which, in my opinion, was much needed. Though we enjoyed it the evening I made it, my husband and I found that the leftovers did not reheat well at all. That is my only criticism -- that we could not enjoy it more than one night!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This is so easy, and yummy! I take it to all my potlucks. I have also found that using the diced green chilies makes it easier to cut into small pieces, good for "finger foods".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      my family loved this casserole. i found that i needed far more than 8 oz of chiles however. i started with the 8 oz of whole green chiles, but that was only enough for the first layer. so i used 3 cans of diced green chiles that i had in the pantry. they loved the diced layer better then the whole layer, so i will probably used all diced the next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      This is great!!the only difference I made was..I used the larger can of whole green chile's(27 oz)because that is what I had on hand..Used avocado's the top at the table

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      I loved this dish. I roasted about 11 anaheim peppers and used about a third of the cheese listed and it tasted great. I want to make it again tonight!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This was so easy to make. Both my boyfriend and myslef found this to be delicious. Thank you for posting. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2014

      Used Hatch green chiles and tripled the amount called for in the recipe, added an extra egg to compensate for the increased amount of chiles. Used Fiesta Blend Mexican cheese with additional sharp cheddar on top. Also used a pinch of cumin and garlic powder in the batter mixture. Turned out pretty darn good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      I used a bigger can of green chilies and an extra egg, and this has become a recipe that my husband has asked to be placed on a monthly rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      Boy this recipe is just what I've been looking for since my mom passed. This is just like hers. My only problem is with the amount of green chiles used. One 8 ounce can only had four chiles which only covered the bottom of the 11X7 pan I used. Luckily I had a can of chopped also on hand, although they don't layer well. the flavor is exactly what I remember as a kid. The only thing I will change is the amount of chiles from 8 oz to 27 oz. This should give me 3 layers. All in all a very tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      love this recipe... added a lil green salsa over top with cilantro for effect, family did dishes since i worked so hard hahahaha! LOVE THIS RECIPE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      This is so easy and delicious. I doubled the recipe (quadrupled the chiles) and baked for 1 hour in a 9x13 dish. Great addition to potlucks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      Fantastic recipe! I substituted 14 fresh Anaheim peppers that I toasted under the broiler and peeled, So good! Also spiced it up by adding garlic, cayenne pepper, paprika and cumin. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      This was excellent! I scaled the recipe down for 3 servings using 1C 1/4 C mexican 4 cheese (the extra for the top), 1 XL egg, 5/8C milk, and 1/4 C flour, and changed the chiles to diced, (a 7 ounce can), using just 2 layers. I threw in about 1/2 tsp Trappey's hot sauce and a shake each of granulated garlic and onion into the egg mixture. I baked it in a small Corning casserole for 40 minutes and it came out perfectly except there was as a little wetness around the chiles, so next time I'll blot the excess moisture with a paper towel before layering, to remedy that. This was really simple to make and very tasty. I'm sure I'll be making it often! I served it with my green chile pork tenderloin and Spanish rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      I doubled the amount of chilies, as other reviewers stated. Simply to make and very good. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Absolutely DELICIOUS!! I'll definitely be making this again! I used 2 Poblano peppers that I seeded, quartered and blanched (because they were only $0.49/ lb). Other than that, I followed the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chile Relleno Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    55%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 112.5 mg
    37%
    Sodium 599.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites